We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddy, good stay, some things can better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Koh Samui to your Saves list
Manathai Koh Samui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173/41 Moo 4, Rob Koh Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Buddy Oriental Samui Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Haastrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Buddy, good stay, some things can better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We ( Dutch coupple, + 65) staying for three weeks at the Buddy Oriental in Koh Samui. Good hotel, nice room with poolview, friendly staff, even at the reception as in the restaurant. Nice surrounding and good service. 4 stars classification is ok! Some things can better; the cleaning , specially in the bathroom, can better . Needs a check of the managment!
When you are staying for a longer time in the hotel, as we do, there must be more variety in the breakfastbuffet. Youghurt in plastic cups is for children; so is the jam and marmelade. The cups are small and hard to open! Also more choise in fruit and cheese and meat. For the same budget there must be more possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Gerard W,

Thank you for staying at our hotel for a three week vacation and for posting a review of your experiences on the popular travel site Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know you were satisfied with the room, two swimming pools, our friendly staff and the surrounding area.

Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms has been passed to our Housekeeping Manager, who will provide additional training for our maids, as well as more spot checks to ensure each room meets our high level of cleanliness.

We have also shared your views regarding the breakfast buffet to our Food and Beverage Manager who will look at the choice and variety of dishes we provide each day and see what we can do to improve the service offered.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay here and hope you will consider returning again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    145
    42
    17
    6
See reviews for
40
147
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stay here! You'll experience a great stay and satisfying vacation. We love the cleanliness and the ambiance of the hotel. The staff are super friendly especially Mr Knock.(Mr Knock...hope you can still remember us who take picture with ur satff and u at reception counter...keep up your good work) Thank you so much for your great hospitality. What else should i say???Experience it yourself. You won't regret.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear TravelManiac247,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Oriental in Koh Samui.

We are delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay here and felt our team provided excellent hospitality.

It is wonderful to read positive comments such as yours as they are an ringing endorsement for all the hard work and care shown by our team, led by Mr. Knock our Assistant Manager.

We will make sure the whole Buddy family are shown your generous words, which we are certain will serve as added inspiration as part of our on-going dedication toward serving our guests.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at our resort.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I and my husband had a one week holiday at lamai beach from February 21-27. We chose buddy on lamai beach as we wanted a quiet beach to relax. We were slightly worried as hotel reviews on tripadvisor were quite average. But overall we had a great experience. First the positives

This hotel is quite new and has great amenities such as two swimming pools, one in the hotel and one near the beach, exercise room which we never used, many restaurants including a coffee shop, Italian, Thai, Irish pub, burger place, etc. It also boasts a fine massage and spa as well as several boutique shops. Basically you do not need to leave the hotel for anything if you don't want to. We had several meals at the Thai restaurant and the Italian restaurant. Thai restaurant is excellent and is located next to the beach. Italian restaurant is awesome and we had memorable dinners there. One time we had pizza verdure and it was out of this world. Prices for both the restaurants are quite reasonable. We did not try any other restaurants. We were once introduced to the executive chef, ms. Gina and we were very impressed by her management of the restaurants. Asst. General Manager, Mr Knock, also took good care of us. I also want to mention front desk clerk, Pim, for her efficiency and demeanor. Now the negatives

Although, the rooms are of good size, lighting in the rooms is not sufficient. There is an access to the beach across the street, but the beach is not so good. You have to walk one KM to the good part of the beach. Other than Pim, rest of the front desk staff and maid service was average. We expected excellent breakfast based on our experience with the restaurants, but it was not that great. This is not a complaint at all. We probably set a very high standard for food.

A few more tips, there is a small restaurant named Ninja Crepes about ten minute walk from the hotel. Excellent Thai food, Crepes and young coconut at very reasonable prices. Next to Ninja, we used Rey's massage everyday. My husband had a stiff neck and pinched nerve in the shoulder. Rey, the owner fixed it with one hour massage for only 500 baht. We found Rey's massage from previous tripadvisor reviews. I want to thank that person as my husband was in pain for the last three weeks.

Overall, it was an excellent trip and really enjoyed it after my husbands shoulder pain was relieved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear BSP7979,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your recent holiday on Trip Advisor.

All our team have been shown your message and everyone was delighted to read you had such a relaxing and great vacation here. Thank you for your compliments in particular to our staff members Khun Gina, Khun Knock and Khun Pim.

We were also pleased you had a memorable evening at Pazzo, our Italian Restaurant and were impressed with the quality of the food served there.

We are sorry if our Breakfast Buffet did not quite live up to your expectations. We have asked our Food and Beverage Manager to review the breakfast items we currently offer and see if we can make any improvements in this area.

We hope you will be able to return to the Buddy Oriental again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been in the Buddy oriental samui beach resort for a short week end and I really appreciated to stay there....
Everyone from the hotel was very nice.... rooms are clean.... breakfast is also good.
I will probably stay in an other Buddy hotel in Bangkok -)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear GuillameR,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Buddy Oriental on Koh Samui.

All our staff are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay here and found our rooms to be nice and clean.

We look forward to your next visit here and hope you will stay with us at the Buddy Lodge on Khaosan Road.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were moved to this hotel after an electrical issue at our resort in Bophut. The rooms were lovely and very spacious. The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive. The buffet breakfast was a great way to start the day!

The only cons we had with the hotel, was the pool areas were old and lacking TLC. Plus the location of the hotel was not desirable for us - Lamai is quite a seedy area and about a 30 minute walk from Buddy Oriental, with no lighting or footpath along the island's ring road!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear g to the bo,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review of your recent stay at the Buddy Oriental on Koh Samui.

We are very pleased to read you found our team to be extremely welcoming and attentive. We would also like to express our gratitude to you for your kind words regarding our rooms and our breakfast buffet.

We are planning in the near future to review our two swimming pool areas and provide the Tender Loving Care you mention in your review.

Our hotel is just on the outskirts of the centre of Lamai and although it is not too far to walk, sometimes it can be easier to get into town by catching one of the Red Taxi’s which pass by the main entrance to the hotel at regular intervals.

We are glad overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope you might consider returning to stay at our hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

REVIEW OF BUDDY RESORT:
Rooms were spotless, roomy and very cozy. Pools were very nice and Lamai beach was lovely. The breakfast was also delicious. The staff at Buddy Oriental were so friendly and helpful. They always polite and eager to help me book excursions that were of interest to me. When I was injured coming back from a ziplining excursion, the staff so very thoughtfully and courteously sent a basket of fruits to my room. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

TO NOTE:
The only notes I would make would be that if you are looking for something along the main strip, where you can go shopping or out to restaurants at night you might be better located at Chaweng beach. Lamai is a much quieter option if you prefer having activity-filled days or lounging by pool/beach and then spending your nights in at the resort (good option for families). There is also a gym facility with showers at Buddy, along with coffee shop and restaurants right on site.

Note that beach-front access is across a busy street however, although there is a traffic officer on duty at all times to help with crossing the road. No access to beach-front chairs like you would see in Chaweng, but there is a lovely pool with chairs and sunbeds overlooking the ocean. Ocean view from Buddy property is not superb, with a long dock and some rubbish on piled up on the right side. But with a 5 minute walk down the beach, you can find a perfect spot all to yourself.

BEACHES:
In terms of beaches, I would note that both Chaweng and Lamai beaches were dirtier than I would have expected. Some trash and glass littered on the beach - watch out for that. Chaweng is a much busier beach than Lamai, however the sand at Chaweng is softer, and views a little nicer. Chaweng also has better access to shopping and better restaurant options.

For a solo female traveler, Buddy met all my needs. I felt safe and well-taken care of. Overall a great place and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second level or higher so you get a lovely balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sassyb1,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Oriental and for taking the time to write such a wonderful online review.

Our whole team were delighted to read your message and I am sure it will provide us with additional motivation to continue to reach the high service standards we set ourselves.

We hope you are feeling much better after the zip line experience and it is good to know you liked the fruit basket we sent to your room.

Thank you for your very kind recommendation and we hope you will be able to return to see us again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a great find! We booked this through zuji.com as a quick 5 day holiday before returning to Hong Kong for Chinese New Year. I tried to upgrade the room through the hotel, but sadly couldn't as we'd booked through an agent. In the end this wasn't a problem as the room was great!

We'd arranged a transfer from the airport for 600 baht. Is made life easier. A cool drink is offered on arrival, and we checked in at 12pm with no problems! The room was 324 and overlooked the pool. This was great as the room got the sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon. The roo. Was a standard room and plenty big enough. Lovely colonial feel, massive bed, high ceilings, free wifi in the room, room safe, big shower!

Breakfast was ok, always something to eat. And we could order poached eggs each morning. There are 2 pools. The one in the main part of the hotel wasn't busy, and benefitted from the shade of the surrounding building. The other pool is across a busy road, although there are people to help you across! This pool over looks a small beach, has plenty of loungers, and the beach bar. Chom lay restaurant is over this side, the bar does 2-4-1 happy hour drinks between 4 and 7. So 180baht for 2 monitors during this time!

Chom lay restaurant was good for the first night. Although the 250baht for the king prawn dish is PER prawn.. But the food was reasonably good. However, DEFINATELY go for a walk to lamai. Imchai Thai restaurant is a 2 minute walk to the right, and I cannot praise it highly enough for the price and quality of the food! We also tried ta's further down, which was excellent. And somewhere in lamai called the king. It's was also stood, fantastic chicken satay!

Honestly, there may be better hotels in koh samui. Near more nightlife, or offering 5 star luxury. But twinning the great Bangkok airlines with the buddy samui resort was a fantastic combination. It was affordable, relaxing, and quirky! I'd DEFINATELY recommend it to anyone needing a relaxing break!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool were pretty quiet! There's no need to upgrade as the smaller rooms are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Manathai Koh Samui, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Russell Aitken,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Oriental Resort and for taking the time to post a review of your holiday on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your airport transfer went smoothly and you were warmly greeted by our staff with a delicious welcome drink. As you mention our Standard Rooms come equipped with everything you might need during your stay and we are glad you also liked the view of the pool from your 3rd floor room.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast buffet and our Chom Lay Restaurant across the road, by the swimming pool.

We look forward to your next holiday.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Koh Samui

Address: 173/41 Moo 4, Rob Koh Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Buddy Oriental Samui Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manathai Samui creates the ambiance of cultured elegance and dreamy nostalgia as it welcomes guests. It combines the truly unique concept of both Colonial style luxury and tropical seaside resort. Revive images of living by the sea in olden times, when life is slow and peaceful and dwellings are airy against the backdrop of quiet sea. A stay at this residence is such a happy combination of the old and new as one comes to experience the joys of the beach in the world today and the sentimental yearning for a return to the past as craved by many. Distinctively the best of both worlds can only happen at Manathai Samui, on the beautiful beach of Lamai, Koh Samui. **NB this resort is undfer renovation now until December 2014** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Manathai Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Samui Boutique Koh
Manathai Koh Samui Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.