We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montra Hotel to your Saves list
Montra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142/33-42 Moo 4 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84312, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The main lady and her staff were all very friendly to us. We had a great experience there. I did a cooking course and they were very helpful. Pool was nice, food was nice. Was a little out of town (30 minute walk) which was the only downside. We saw a few bugs in our room but nothing to put us off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Rohan G,

Firstly, I wish to apologise for the bugs in the room. If you advised the team during your stay, I trust timely and appropriate action was taken by the team members to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. Many guests take the cooking class and enjoy the experience. For months after guests have returned home we still receive emails requesting recipe help. It is a great fun activity. Hopefully you will be able to stay with us again. Thank you for the honest and helpful review.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    39
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
223
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Sherman, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Beautiful property near Lamai Beach but away for the hectic town and beach scene. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and food service is wonderful. They are willing to book tours or dinner reservations as well as have their driver available to shuttle you around. The rooms or cottages are very roomy with a huge bedroom, bathroom with soaking tub and huge sitting area. A true oasis near the beach!
Linda G

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjacent to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Linda G,

We appreciate the positive review and recommendation. The team was excited to know that you enjoyed the stay. We focus on providing high quality service and continuously look to improve to our service. Hopefully you will stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

First of all: The center of Lamai Beach is very touristic, too crowded in my opinion with its small street and almost too many restaurants and shops, and the beach wasn't pretty at least during our stay in February. But: We had the luck to stay in this fantastic hotel situated a kilometer away from the hubbub. The garden is just wonderful, the pool winds around the villas, fits in perfectly, it's an oasis! I forgot all my work stuff in a minute at the pool! The bungalows are big (high ceiling!), especially the bathroom and they have a good infrastructure. Only downside is that they could have been a bit cleaner: sand underneath the carpet, chalk spots on the tap. The food in the restaurant was fine too, but more expensive then in the village. Same with the massage. But I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Silvan S,

Thank you for the review and recommendation. The team was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding the pool and villa were well received and we suspect future Tripadvisor guests will also appreciate your comments. The GM has noted the comments about cleanliness and will address this issue moving forward. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It is first of all nice small hotel with very friendly staff and environment. You can check in other reviews what is good - I can recommend it. But it has problems and I hope owners will find a budget to fix those things. In that case it would be great for those who don't need to be on the beach or in crowd place.

All technical equipment done wrong: a/c is industrial and on lowest speed it's insanely loud. It's loudest a/c unit than any I saw before in ~100 hotels I've been. You can feel yourself inside a machine when you turn it on. Impossible to sleep without it even at winter.

No phone in room to call reception, water is barely warm - can't make bath - it's cold, water flow is super low - takes too much time to take shower, water overflow from basin goes to floor, half lamps are not working, night lamp is super shiny to your eyes, if you quit - a/c stops and you come back to hot room, wifi - not working at most places and sometime nowhere at all, shower nozzles are all clogged and it's barely working.

Beds are super hard to my taste.

Drain cap for bath is a joke - it doesn't fit and you practically can't fill this huge bath tub.

Breakfast is very simplified. Need to order (I assume - no space for buffet). Lunch is quite expensive and also simple.

Location is far from anything, really - half an hour drive to any entertainment. Not close to any reasonable beach also.

Pool requires proper filtering - covered with floating dust all the time.

Key is huge - doesn't fit in a pocket.

No TV in bedroom - only small CRT in the hall (may be it's ok - less TV is better).

Room Tip: Some rooms at the entrance have hidden bedroom conditioner, which is MUCH quieter. Plan to have car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear MaxKosenko,

Thank you for the honest review of your recent stay at Montra. Your comments have been brought to the attention of the General Manager. It is our goal to resolve these highlighted issues and ensure a level of guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Montra was a wonderful experience. Well equipped villas in the shades of palm trees and lots of green. The pool going between the villas is truly a must to experience.

The greatest moment is on the villa balcony in the evening with some candles and dinner delivered. Room service prices are the same as in the restaurant so just make the order and enjoy.

The restaurant was good but not as good as it could be. Sometimes it takes a long time to get the food ordered. The good side is if you don't find the dish you desire, the kitchen tries to make the dish as wished so different variations are not a problem.

What comes to the villas, they are very nicely decorated and well equipped. Water pressure could be better, as you can't shower at the same time somebody else in the room uses warm water. This is just a small minus since we had a wonderful stay. If you are looking for a fast and strong wi-fi connection, it's not the best one but worked well during our stay. During our stay there wasn't so many other quests so strengthening up the network might be a good idea for crowded seasons.

Location may be a little setback for some people, but for us it was perfect. It's so peaceful and quiet, but still only a 10min walk from the beach. I wouldn't stay in any of the resorts by the beach because of the noise and traffic. If you are looking for Samui exploration and a peaceful stay, Montra is a perfect choice.

If staying in Samui again, I would stay at Montra again. Thank you for a peaceful stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear denvine,

We appreciate your detailed review of Montra and the positive recommendation. The team is pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the water pressure, wifi and food quality are being discussed in our department meetings with the intention to improve our level of service. Hopefully you can stay with us again soon. Thanks again for the detailed review.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stunning - the villas are surround by lush greenery and a pool that weaves it's way around the villas - the resort is probably sunniest in the morning & is prone to shade in the afternoon - however don't let thus out you off as it's s quite retreat from lamai beach which is a short 10 minute walk to the various bars and restaurants
The hotel ran a cookery course which was great my husband took the challenge and it was fantastic we were made to feel special it was amazing the food delicious
The hotel couldn't do enough for us out if 10 it's a 10
Lovely holiday really lovely holiday

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Cm2209,

The Montra Team thanks you for this very kind review and recommendation. We are extremely pleased to read your comments especially those of the Thai cooking class. Our team strives to provide each guest with a very high level of individual customer service. It is nice to read that your experience aligned with out intended practice. We hope you can stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Montra is a great place if you want to relax and stay away from the noise and rush and still be able to quickly reach the attractions. There villas are very well designed and kept. The hotel is located rather far from the beach, but still within a walking distance; if you don't want to walk, you can always ask the reception staff for a drive to the beach. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, really trying to make you feel as comfortable as possible. The hotel has a very nice pool which is a very good option to relax if you don't feel like going to the beach. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good - apart from decent breakfast we had dinner there several times and it was really good. Overall the place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at Bagnan Suite and liked it a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Yury N,

Thank you very much for writing this review of Montra. The team greatly appreciates that you enjoyed your stay and was pleased with the service. Your “highly recommended” is very kind and sure to be helpful to our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon to Montra. Thank you once again for the review.

Regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel

Address: 142/33-42 Moo 4 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84312, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra is a small independent hotel located in Lamai. To enter you have to duck through a pair of solid old wooden gates and, as the gates clunk closed behind you, you find yourself in a magical peaceful garden, you feel yourself relaxing and you have the feeling you are somewhere special. Our quiet hillside location, one kilometre from Lamai Beach, allows us to give you holiday lodgings in a beautiful villa for a price better than the tiny room at the beach. Being a nine villa property means Montra is able to offer a more personal touch with staff knowing you by name and learning your preferences whilst still respecting your privacy. Our nine luxurious villas are situated in lush tropical gardens dominated by an elegant swimming pool. All villas are 63 square meters and offer a master bedroom with a high ceiling, top quality bed and linens; the living room comes equipped with all the modern amenities; the 14 square meters bathroom offers both an open shower with a bathtub designed for two with twin headrests and double sinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Montra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montra Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.