We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montra Hotel to your Saves list
Montra Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142/33-42 Moo 4 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84312, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 321 Reviews
Bournemouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our sixth visit in four years and every time is more enjoyable.The staff are all so helpful and friendly.We never feel as though we are crowded out as the pool has so many parts that you can be almost on your own.We are now beginning to feel part of the Montra family as that seems how they treat you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear TimhuttonBournemouth,

The Montra team is very pleased to read the positive review of one of our loyal guests. The team really enjoyed your company during your recent stay and we look forward to you next visit. On behalf of the Montra team we thank you for the positive review and the kind comments. As you mention and many of our gusts agree, the Montra pool really adds to our visitor’s experience since it weaves in and around the villas and gardens providing all guests with a peaceful time. We hope you can return to Montra again soon for your 7th visit, which will be ensure is even better!

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    37
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
217
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Located up a hill in Lamai, it is just beautiful and so tranquil. Sathit, Su and all the lovely staff could not be more accommodating, hospitable and attentive to guests. The en-suite rooms are perfect with a relaxing lounge area and the bedrooms are just perfect. The menu is excellent and the chef is willing to try anything, which is unusual to find in a 5-star hotel environment. Oh and the swimming pool is one of the best you could find for fitness or just relaxing. A short walk into Lamai will bring you to pure Thai shops and restaurants and the Montra staff will assist you in finding all you could wish for in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Brendan K,

The Montra team greatly appreciates your positive and supportive comments. Your comments will be informative to our future guests who use TripAdvisor to assist with decision making. Sathit, Su and the entire Montra team work hard to continuously improve the level of service provided to guests. Apart from the exercise benefits of a short walk into town we also provide guests with the option of a shuttle service. It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel and amazing room. The service is outstanding yet at the same time feels that you sometimes have to ask to get it, can't they read my mind?Just kidding. No really, maybe this hotel not #1 in the world just yet but it is an extraordinary place. We actually stayed only 2 nights and we would do it again in a heartbeat! It was one of the best vacations we have ever had! Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Kevinart,

The Montra team thanks you for the positive review and recommendation. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you found our service to be of a high standard and look forward to your next visit.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this small resort. Very cozy place, nice pool, friendly and helpful staff. Recommended for people who enjoy the tranquility. Even it's not close to the beach but there's shuttle service to take the guests down to the beach. We enjoyed our stay at Montra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Suri S,

Thank you for the positive comments and review. It is very pleasing for the Montra team to read your feedback on our service. The team strives to provide our guests with an outstanding level of service. We hope you can stay with us again soon.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lativa Riga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the closest to a 5-star resort as we can get. It was a marvelous time that we had here! My favorite was our dinner by the beach, walking on the sand at sunset and finding our delicious and healthy meals on our reserved table. It was a romantic getaway for me and my boyfriend. We stayed here for 4 days, and we enjoyed every moment of it. Their food was amazing, not just on that dinner, but even during breakfast. We love the pool and how it is connected right from our room. It was like a private place. I also enjoyed their garden which was very well-maintained. Their restaurant was very cozy, small yet private. It was such a great experience with the private chef for our barbeque and all the personalized service that they provided. All worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Renee E,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Montra. Our team members always do their best to make reservations for high quality outings, in your case to the beach close by Montra. Your kind comments regarding the pool design as well as Hue Restaurant and garden are greatly appreciated. The optional BBQ we feel makes the stay even more special for guests we believe. Thank you once again for the extremely positive review and we hope you can stay with us again soon.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for one week in January 2013. My suite was large and well equiped. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. All staff were very pleasant and accomodating. This was a wonderful peaceful place to come home too after a day of adventure or an exciting evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Eric B,

Thank you for the positive review and supportive comments. The team appreciates your feedback on our grounds, villas, peaceful setting as well as service. We strive to continuously improve the level of customer service we provide so these supportive comments are great motivation to us. I am sure that your positive review will also be of interest to our future guests too. We hope you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just far enough away and a short stroll to the mayhem of Lamai Beach, Montra is a very special hotel. Secure and secluded, with a tropical bushland setting with the pool meandering through the individual unit complex. No kids going wild..... peace, relaxation and with well appointed room/ bathroom facilities. The restaurant was ideal for breakfast or dinner with both Thai and western choices. Bar service available during the day. Staff were attentive and always smiling. The ambience of Montra is very special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montra-Director, Owner at Montra Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Graham S.,

The Montra team thanks you for the positive review and kind words of support. We appreciate your comments, especially those highlighting our restaurant and bar service. Montra offers an excellent opportunity for guests to relax in a peaceful setting yet remain close to the bustling beach life. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.

Regards, Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel

Address: 142/33-42 Moo 4 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84312, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra is a small independent hotel located in Lamai. To enter you have to duck through a pair of solid old wooden gates and, as the gates clunk closed behind you, you find yourself in a magical peaceful garden, you feel yourself relaxing and you have the feeling you are somewhere special. Our quiet hillside location, one kilometre from Lamai Beach, allows us to give you holiday lodgings in a beautiful villa for a price better than the tiny room at the beach. Being a nine villa property means Montra is able to offer a more personal touch with staff knowing you by name and learning your preferences whilst still respecting your privacy. Our nine luxurious villas are situated in lush tropical gardens dominated by an elegant swimming pool. All villas are 63 square meters and offer a master bedroom with a high ceiling, top quality bed and linens; the living room comes equipped with all the modern amenities; the 14 square meters bathroom offers both an open shower with a bathtub designed for two with twin headrests and double sinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montra Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.