We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weekender VIlla Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Weekender VIlla Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   146/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Lamai Beach
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

thankyou to tony and staff for making our stay such a great one ..a real pleasure ..will be back for sure. clean. friendly.local knowledge .great food thankyou all.beautifull beach right on the doorstep close to all the night life of lamai centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
68
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I came to Koh Samui purely because my other half Steve wanted to come. Iv not really been fussed about going east before, but my god was i pleasantly surprised!!!

The island itself was AMAZING!!! The people are the friendliest iv met, and the food was incredible but what made our holiday even better was the villa's and staff!

Tony, Brad and Sak were always there when you needed a hand or even just a chat at the bar over Tony's missus amazing cooking! The Panang curry, best curry ever tasted!

Down to earth friendliest people iv met and i cant wait to go back! I cried so much when we left, this is by far the best holiday iv been on, and it couldn't have been better :D

The villa's were perfect, best nights sleep iv ever had and the air con was much needed!!

I haven't one bad word to say! Thank you so much guys for the time of my life and we'll be back soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Although the hotel has a lot of very good reviews, I place a lot of emphasis on the quality of the room, when writing a hotel review, & Im afraid the room didn't impress me much at all. The room actually felt flimsy, ( the sagging plywood floor & thin walls), room lighting was poor, very poor sound insulation, & no wifi, despite wifi being advertised as available.. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, A/C was good as was the bathroom, but beware the bathroom door lintle if you're not Thai height :).

The hotel is next to the very busy Lamai-Chaweng Rd, so traffic noise is always audible, although you're more likely to be woken up by the guests on motorbikes returning in the early hours of the morning, or taxi's picking up leaving guests.

The staff are friendly & approachable, & the bar/restaurant, and pool area are very nice & quiet with immediate access onto a very small beach. Theres a Family Mart a few mins walk along the road. Its possible to walk along the beach to Lamai only at very low tide really, otherwise its about a 20-25 min walk along the busy road instead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tony, Brad, and Sak were very helpful and friendly. They answered all of our questions. The entire staff was pleasant. There is no need to leave the Weekender to eat. The kitchen is excellent and quick. The Weekendeer is rated as a 2.5 star hotel. The facilities are being updated and repaired. The service is excellent. We had everything we needed. It is an easy walk to town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice and friendly staff who does a lot to make you at home and accommodate you in every way they can. And do eat there they have the best food and the sweetest cook.
The beach in front of hotel not the best but you just need to walk about 50-100 m in either direction and you will have no trouble finding a nice spot.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the beach as possible. Less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Defiantly a place of two halves. The accommodation is tired. To the point of lazy. If you ask for it then they will do it but don't it will stay as is. Grey depressing chalet rooms without mozzy nets and plenty of mozzy is not a great start. Furniture that is wonky and damaged doesn't get you off to a feel good start. Gaffer tape is not a repair to a window it is a bodge. However go through to the rear and you think you have walked into a different place. Beautiful view , nice pool and sun beds Big sweeping bar with restaurant area. All very very nice. Communication is lacking as the breakfast starts and finished at whenever they wanted. Dinner finished at 8 without any notice. Overall I think to rooms are overpriced at 1300 b. This is excessive. The other review saying 900b is about right. If you are backpacking I would find somewhere cheaper to sleep and come and use the facility's during the day . If you are staying here then you have been warned. Defiantly a place of two halves

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua K, Public Relations Manager at Weekender VIlla Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your opinion is appreciated and we will take all of these points on board, however it is not usually one shared by our other guests.
I would like to firstly point out that the resort is not a 5 star resort, and is not listed as a 5 star resort, even on Tripadvisor. It is a 2.5 star resort, which is why we do our best to provide the best service on the island.

We have a number of friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff who are willing to assist you with any matters that you have during your stay. If there was any issues we would of happily addressed them and believe that we in-fact did bug spray your room a number of times, twice within an hour to eliminate the issue you were having with mosquitos.
Due to the resort being located in a tropical climate, mosquitos are a commonplace. All resorts in our area also have mosquitos - as do most resorts in a tropical climate. However, we are more than willing to take care of them with some spray at any time to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

As soon as we saw your review we went into search mode searching for the 'Gaffer tape' and 'Wonky and damaged' furniture that you were referring to. I'm sorry to say that we are unaware and couldn't find any of it. It's certainly not something that we would allow to remain permanently in the resort. We would welcome an email from you with your feedback so that we could address these issues for future guests. If there is Gaffer tape holding together our furniture we would certainly like to know about it!

Also, we do have a backpackers room available at 900BHT in the high season, and only 500BHT in the low season for all future guests. We have researched the area and believe that our rooms are quite well priced in comparison to neighbouring resorts. Future guests can email info@weekendervillas.com for more information.

In regards to the restaurant. Most nights our restaurant is open late and we try to accomodate all of our guests needs. However, on the night before you stayed at the resort one of our staff was in a pretty horrific accident on his scooter. We thought that we had notified all of our guests that we would be short staffed as the manager was going to see him after his surgery to make sure that he was recovering okay. We sincerely apologise about this, it was quite scary time for the staff of the resort - being the managers nephew and the owners son. But please be assured that usually the restaurant does not close early.

Lastly, thankyou for your kind words about the front of the resort. We agree whole-heartedly and are quite proud of the pool and bar area that we can provide to our guests. We hope that your stay was somewhat enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the weekender villa beach for one week over the busy Christmas / New Years . After some brief confusion on our part (there is another weekender resort in the heart of Lamai ) We were warmly welcomed by Tony and his staff. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and modern with AC TV and a safe. There is a great bar restaurant area with good WIFI and pool that looks out over the sea. You will need scooter to come and go to the centre of Lamai and Tony will arrange this, alternatively its easy to get one of the many bat buses that pass by the weekender day & night. I would highly recommend this resort as good alternative to the noisy chaos of downtown Lamai.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weekender VIlla Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weekender VIlla Beach Resort

Address: 146/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weekender VIlla Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Weekender VIlla Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weekender VIlla Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.