We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weekender VIlla Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Weekender VIlla Beach Resort to your Saves list
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   146/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great little resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and had a fantastic, relaxing stay. Very small resort with just 11 bungalows but they were spacious, clean, comfy beds, along with TV, fridge and great A/C. There were also loads of DVDs to borrow at reception for free for the odd rainy day/evening.

Resort had a small swimming pool which was a lifesaver in the heat and nice lounge/dining area and comfy sun loungers by the pool. We ate there regularly and couldn't fault the food - tasty and very reasonably priced. The Pina Coladas made by Sak are to die for - we had multiple every day!

The beach in front of the resort isn't sparkling clear and the sand is quite full of rocks, but there's nothing much the staff can do about this. In terms of location, it's about a 15 minute walk into central Lamai either along the road or the beach, and there are plenty of restaurants/hotels/shops nearby if you need anything - we are multiple times at Imchai, a small restaurant on the road about 5 minutes walk (turn left out of the hotel) - delicious fruit shakes for just 30 baht - bargain.

The staff were great - Sak and Tony (the owner) catered to our every needs with a smile.

Only downside was the pressure in the shower - the water was lovely and warm but the shower was a mere dribble making washing your hair quite a lengthy process!! They did offer massages on site but were about 50-100baht more expensive than elsewhere so we opted for walking down the road for the cheaper option....

Overall loved every minute of it, absolutely gorgeous little resort which I'd happily return to/recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    58
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
81
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here in august of 2012 based on trup advisor reviews. Had wanted to tkae a break from Patong and stayed a couple of days. heard Koh Samui had better beaches in the low season. Weekender is pretty basic but appears the new owners are slowly upgrading. On the upside is it was quite inexpensive. I stayed in the beachfront bungalow for two nights and another cabin closer to the road for one night. there really is no beach to speak of, and was somewhat disappointed by that. But they did have a nice (small) pool that was clean and well maintained. Weekender is quite isolated. You would need a mtorobike to get most places and walking along the busy beach road can be dicey at best, although that is a Thai thing and no fault of the hotel. it does have a restaurant and the prices are quite reasonable, and at least during my stay, you could probably order something not on the menu and get it if they had it or you could explain to them what it was that you wanted. They have Wifi but the signal becomes precipitously weak the furhter you move aways from the bar/sala. And I am ambivalent about this as part of me wonder if I really want to be THAT connected when I am on vacation.

Bottom line: a good budget choice, staff are kind and helpful, onsite restaurant is quality without being a rip off.

Room Tip: There is a FamilyMart down the road if you want to stock up on snacks/beverages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casuarina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and totally enjoyed it. Tony and the staff can't do enough for you. Great location, a little bit away from the main action but only a short trip in transport or you can walk it. Rooms are basic, but great value for money. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road. Traffic is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane , Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The bungalows are very clean and well presented and well worth the money.Tony and his staff were more then happy to assist in booking our day trip to Angthong Marine Park as we do not speak the local language.The food was great and worth the money.A short walk down the road or at low tide down the beach you will find other places to eat at if u wish and convenience shop's are close by.Easy to get a cab as they pass by the resort on the main road regularly.There is a great selection of dvd's to choose from and the overall service from Tony and his staff was fantastic.All in all a great place to stay and would come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Weekender Villa for a week. We paid 700B a night and got aircon, tv, fridge and hot water. The room was cleaned every day and we were given complimentary bottles of water each day. There is a great selection of DVDs to watch on a rainy day. The beach isn't great right outside, you have to walk along to find nice sand, but the resort has a small pool if you want to cool off quickly. Overall - a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice Beach Resort in Lamai Beach at Koh Samui. Close enough to walk into town, but a bit calmer than the resorts in the city center. Reasonable prices for what is offered. Only tried the breakfast, which was good.

+ Friendly stuff
+ Clean
- No Wifi in the rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We've been at the Weekender Villa at the end of our Thailand trip in August 2012. It was just great. The owner, Tony, is a very friendly and chilled out guy. The room was one of the cheapest we've got on our trip and it was the one that was worth the money the most. It's no luxury resort but you get a nice room for not much money. There was no breakfast included but you can get food at the Restaurant/Bar for cheap and the food quality was excellent. WiFi is free! All other Hotels you had to pay extra. The Room was clean and you got towles, water and the room is made up every day. Staff was very friendly and everybody is speaking english. You definetly get more for you money than you expect for that price! The location is a little bit off, but thats no problem. Pool is small but clean and water was nice and cool. Unfortunately the beach is not good for taking a swim but a fews minutes walk and you got a superbeach. Thanks Tony! It was a pleasure to stay at the Weekender Villa. I can hightly recommend it! Very good atmosphere!

Room Tip: We've had the Bungalow 9. Was great! Worth every penny and even more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Weekender VIlla Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weekender VIlla Beach Resort

Address: 146/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weekender VIlla Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Weekender VIlla Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weekender VIlla Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weekender VIlla Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.