We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most AMAZING hotel that we've stayed at!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silavadee Pool Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Silavadee Pool Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 66 Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Lamai Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The most AMAZING hotel that we've stayed at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My partner and I just came back from our trip in Thailand and I must say... Staying at Silavadee was the highlight of the trip! Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived. I originally booked the deluxe jacuzzi room but upon checking in, we were given a free upgrade to the ocean view jacuzzi deluxe. We couldn't have asked for anything more! The view from our room was breathtaking, especially during sunrise!

The resort was like paradise. The plants, trees and landscape around the resort were well kept. The resort also had a beautiful infinity pool overlooking their private beach. We spent most of our days at the resort lazing on the sun beds at the beach and then going for a swim in both the beach and pool. The beach was quite pebbly but the hotel provides swimming shoes that can be worn if you choose to swim in the beach. They also provided us beach/pool side service! Drinking pina coladas on the beach was just the icing on top!

The buffet breakfast was delicious! It included a variety of fruits, pastries, bread, cold meats, juices and asian dishes. We were also given a choice to order freshly made eggs or pancakes!

The hotel staff were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The little biscuits that were left on our bed for us each night was a nice treat. Every minute we spent here was unforgettable! I highly recommend this resort to anyone that is looking for a relaxing and romantic holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    116
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
44
334
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Silavadee back in March 2012. After much time spent online we found Silvadee to be the perfect combination of luxury, affordability, and ameneties. Upon arrival after a long overnight trip through Bangkok, and a rough flight from Bangkok to Koh Samui, we were welcomed with an amazing cup of tea. We followed that with an amazing breakfast overlooking the water. Upon arrival, and the staff learning we were on our honeymoon, our deluxe jacuzzi room was upgraded to a private villa with pool. The staff had also left a rose petal shaped heart on our bed. BEAUTIFUL.

That same night a monsoon hit basically killing all of our plans for the following week. No more excursions, trips to other islands, etc, however the staff was amazing. We booked some last minute massages that have been by far the best we have ever had. We took a private cooking class with staff from the restaurants kitchen and they were all great people. We also did a city tour with a private driver that we'd recommend skipping. We later realized it was easier to rent a car and just drive ourselves. What surprised us was the staff kept apologizing for the bad weather and went out of there way to allow us to enjoy the trip.

Based on the luxury we experienced at Silavadee, the amazing staff, killer massages, and great food, we would have no problem returning or recommending it if planning on visiting Koh Samui.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a private villa, and if possible, try to stay in one, even if it's for a nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend a little extra and go somewhere amazing for our honeymoon, and silavadee was absolutely perfect!

Our room was amazing. We walked in with a roses on our bed, complimentary champagne with a honeymoon cake, which was so yummy!

We got a room with a pool we only used it a few times. The hotel had an amazing pool overlooking the ocean, we spent everyday there!

The staff were caring and so friendly. The spa treatment was worth every cent!

When we go back to Koh Samui we will be going back to Silavadee and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I must say, when we arrived in Koh Samui and took a taxi to the Silavadee Resort, I was really taken aback by the feel of the Island; construction everywhere mixed in with what could only be described as dirty shanty towns, made for a very unappealing scape. I do wonder what the Thai people are trying to turn the island into but I don't think 'tropical paradise' will fit the bill at this point.

On arrival at Silvadee, the first impression of this resort is very positive. The resort is beautifully landscaped with an impressive collection of tropical plants in various states of flower and the low rise resort and its 10 or so villas fit well around both the gardens and the oceanfront setting.

At reception we were offered a refreshing fruit drink and check-in was smooth if a little on the long side. (about 20 mins) I had booked a suite on the top floor (3rd) of the resort's only building.

It took nearly one hour before the bags were sent to the room which was a little disconcerting. You could tell that these rooms were once very beautiful (think Thai style with lots of wood and bamboo features) but regretfully over time things have started to look quiet warn down. Chipped sinks, stained furniture and scratches and scuff marks everywhere will give you a general impression.

Now it is important to note at this point that Silvadee is not promoting itself as a 3 or 4 star resort. No, no, no...it promotes itself as 5 STAR with prices to match. As such it has to be reviewed according to 5 star standards.

One of things you really shouldn't have to do in a 5 star resort is waste your precious holiday time on the phone to guest services because things in your room don't work. We had a lovely spa on the balcony but the jets wouldn't work despite numerous visits from the hotel maintenance team. Dreams of romantic evenings in the spa quickly turned into encounters of a very unromantic kind with disgruntled and grubby tradesman discussing ways to make bubbles appear in the bath.

Having completely lost our first night to this nonsense we were offered a chance to stay in one of the villas with a private pool...but the upgrade wasn't free it was going to cost an extra $200 per night on what I had already paid. I must say that normally upgrades are offered as a sign of goodwill for unsatisfactory service but not at Silvadee. Of course, I was assured the price I was paying was a big discount...but I just don't think the reception staff got it.

Anyhow, after a bit of negotiating we agreed on a price and took the villa for the remaining 3 nights. After this we had a delightful breakfast in the restaurant which offers a selection of buffet foods and an a la carte menu from which you can order your main breakfast meal. The presentation, food and service for breakfast was the Resorts ONE saving grace. The hotel also offers lunch and dinner in the same restaurant but it is pricey and not as much fun as getting out and trying some of the islands excellent cuisine.

The villa was essentially in the same condition as the suite. So much unfulfilled potential because if they actually spent some money refurbishing these rooms and villas the place would look top class. The same can be said about the resort's beach facilities.

On a final note, there is a lot to be said about a resort from the behaviour of its management. (Note if you want to read my review about good management check out my review of Bangkok's Plaza Athenee Hotel)

Unfortunately the manager of Silvadee, an Irish fellow, certainly did not make a good impression. I will give you just one example of what I mean. The Silvadee has a nice bar area where guests can go for a romantic cocktail in intimate surrounds while they listen to a local musician serenade guests. On the night we went there the manager arrived with his wife and two young children and started to drink wine in front of the other guests. The children were restless and at times loud and it ruined the ambience of the venue.
A manager drinking alcohol in front of guests whist his noisy kids run amok.
God Lord... he should be sent packing back to the emerald isle!

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a seaview pool villa, which is well worth the money. These villa have bags full of privacy, and louging on the terrace with the occasional dip in your own pool is heavenly! Some of them are in need of a bit of TLC but ours was of a very good standard. Not luxurious in a 'polished' way, but very organic and natural. All the required amenities are there. Service is extremely friendly, from chambermaids to the breakfast team, to the helpfull reception team.

A small problem with the room in the beginning (they are extensing the hotel and we had a villa right next to the works) was swiftly resolved by Connor, the GM, and we were moved to another villa.

Breakfast is of the standard of a 5* hotel, and sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea does the rest to make you happy early morning...

The restaurant is quite good as well. We mainly ate of the Thai menu when eating in the hotel. Service in the restaurant can slack off a bit towards the end of the evening, rather a contrast with the super personal service in the morning.

The 'secluded' location of the hotel, mentioned by other reviewers was a big plus for us as we were looking to relax. If you want to explore the island rent one of the hotel scooters (300 bht/£6/$ a day) and you have all the freedom to roam around. But prepared for some shock-horror! when visiting Lamai or Chaweng; the worst examples of mass tourism gone wrong. Smelly, cheap, dirty, noisy bars and restaurants with the unavoidable lady bars. Luckily there are also still untouched parts of the island, well worth a visit.

In all, the hotel is very nice and the staff makes the difference. Perfect spot for relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved absolutely everything from start to finish, the 'height' restaurant, the staff (especially Lift), the pool and the photo opportunities in it, the room - we had a top floor sea view with jacuzzi - being in the jacuzzi at night in tropical rain whilst lighting flashes light up the view, unforgettable! It's a quiet place but exactly what we wanted after hustle and bustle of Bangkok. Real attention to detail and that's what makes the big difference. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My [now] wife and I had our wedding at Silavadee around New Years and just returned home. Let me tell you, I certainly wouldn't mind being back at Silavadee.

Now, I'm a wedding photographer with a few resorts and destination weddings under my belt. I could be biased, but this location and resort was truly the best. We had a friend who recommended this location because she herself got married there, but only after visiting *every* resort on Koh Samui. She raved about Silavadee, and so, given that we didn't have the luxury of visiting Koh Samui ourselves, we went with it.

Boy, was it a great decision.

First off, the location is absolutely stellar. The resort has a small private beach (mind the occasional topless Russian woman) nestled within rocks, but close enough to drive to local attractions or towns if desired. We had pristine ocean views from the villas, infinity pools, as well as the 3rd floor of the deluxe/jacuzi rooms. The rooms and grounds were tastefully designed - modern, peaceful, simple, natural, secluded. My wife is very picky about design and presentation and she was very pleased.

Secondly, service was wonderful. It wasn't perfect... make sure to speak slowly and clearly in the evenings. There was the occasional misunderstanding, but nothing major. When there was a misunderstanding, the staff worked hard to make it right as soon as they could. They were courteous and professional, and the front desk really does work hard to take care of your requests. They helped us plan multiple day trips and visits into the town, and coordinated payments and trips for all of our guests as well. Everyone was very sweet and helpful. One of the drivers, upon hearing that I liked durian, offered to go pick one up for me on his next drive out to town! The kind servers at the restaurant and breakfast remembered our coffee preferences, and another driver helped us find the perfect photoshoot location we were looking for. So many people worked to make the wedding and dinner beautiful, we are so grateful!

Third, the food was spot on. Both of us have very high standards for food, and I have had a lot of "resort food"... stuff that tries to be fancy, is kinda acceptable but ultimately misses the mark, pretty but tasteless. At Silavadee, I can't say we had that problem. The breakfasts were fantastic and shouldn't be missed. There was a diverse breakfast buffet and really well executed made-to-order items (eggs benedict.) The room service was quick and delicious, and the meals we had with our wedding, memorable. Multiple courses, relatively good plating timing, and quality ingredients and presentation. Everyone is still raving about the food (wagu beef in truffled wine sauce anyone?)

Lastly, for those who are considering a wedding here, the wedding coordinator, Naphat, did a wonderful job. Again, as a wedding photographer who has seen a lot of weddings and is intimately aware of the stressful process in planning a wedding, I'm convinced that things were a lot less stressful for us because of khun Naphat. She was very prompt with emails, helpful and patient with us when we couldn't make up our minds, very organized, knew exactly what to ask, went out of the way to help us with some unique details we requested, and was altogether a very helpful presence through the entire process. She understood our vision and did everything she could do make them come true. General Manager, if you're reading this, she should get a raise and an assistant!

Were there a few loose ends here and there? Sure, but it's to be expected when trying to plan a wedding from overseas. However, khun Naphat and the resort's professionalism and generosity in being helpful definitely made up for any minor issues here and there.

We had 20+ guests there, everyone of them give glowing reviews of their experience at Silavadee, the spa and our wedding. Many say that it was the best wedding they've ever been to. For ourselves, we had a wonderful time and it was exactly what we wanted in every way.

Needless to say, we certainly hope for opportunities to return again in the future, and highly recommend Silavadee for weddings, honeymoons, anything! Everyone should have the pleasure of a Silavadee holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silavadee Pool Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silavadee Pool Spa Resort

Address: 208 / 66 Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silavadee Pool Spa Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort is destined to be the most exclusive luxury hideaway resort on Koh Samui. Our name Silavadee means “beautiful rock” in Thai, as it is located on the secret Laem Nan Beach, perched atop beautiful granite boulders, between Chaweng and Lamai Beach. Comprising 19 pool villas and 36 deluxe rooms, Silavadee Pool Spa Resort has its own unique style with a ‘back to nature’ concept. Elevate your senses at 'the Height' restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Silavadee Pool Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silavadee Pool Hotel Lamai Beach
Silavadee Pool Resort
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silavadee Pool Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.