We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, relaxing, perfect for a honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silavadee Pool Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silavadee Pool Spa Resort to your Saves list
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   208 / 66 Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Secluded, relaxing, perfect for a honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Silavadee has about 50 rooms/villas I think, which made it the perfect size for a relaxing honeymoon retreat, not so small it lacks facilities, but not so big it feels souless. We headed down to Bayan Tree one night for comparison and were very glad we hadn't stayed there - way too big, like a tropical centre parcs with electric buggys zipping everyone around!

Our panoramic ocean Villa was #11, which I think perhaps is the one in the brochure pictures, certainly everything was as described and we loved it. HUGE villa, with impressive super king four poster complete with mosquito net curtains, bathroom with shower for 2 and supersize circular bath. Pool bigger than expected, but on the downside the 'jacuzzi' feature on it is very simplistic (one 'bed' with 6 simple, non-adjustable nozzles) and quite noisy, we never used it, or the outdoor shower. The villa is entirely glass on 3 sides, so from the bed you have panoramic views, and it was all setup for a honeymoon arrival with petals on the bed, a pre-run bath with more petals, little towel elephants to welcome us and a bottle of bubbly chilled and laid out. It all feels very special.

Breakfast was excellent, best I've ever had, with dimsum, lots of fruits and excellent ham and salmon. Although if you hanker for bacon and eggs of a morning, then you will need to order from the al la carte menu (included in B&B rate).

Beach is great - bit of a walk down but very much as advertised, quiet, white sand, palm trees, relaxing surf. The sea bed is made up of (smooth-ish) rocks though so at anything except high tide you will need beach shoes if you want to swim or paddle but to lounge around at it was great, we went down almost every day - staff even wander around with free fruit from time to time to save you from having to move.

Location is fine - you can walk to the banyan/renaissance and beach republic if you want a change of scenery. Getting into town means a cab to lamai or chaweng - the hotel runs free shuttles, but in our experience you'll only get them one way, as they aren't very frequent.

Bar/Restaurant - great views and the best cocktails we had while on koh samui, neither beach republic nor banyan tree came close. Food good, rather than awesome - happy to eat there, but not so good I would visit it if I were staying in a another resort for instance. Service is friendly and competent.

Expeditions: We went to both lamai and chaweng for an evening - chaweng has the better beach side scene, lamai is quieter. Chaweng's Ark bar was the best for music, drinks and chilling out for the night - quick friendly service, plenty of entertainment and food better than you might expect. Lamai's Swing bar has _the_ best fire show ever seen, human catherine wheels - go see! I wouldn't recommend the 'town' side of either resort - same as any greek/spanish tourist party town, fine but not remotely must-see ;). Our only daytime exploration was to the Ang Thong national park, which was nice, really interesting scenery (undermined islands, look like they might tip over at any time) and good snorkelling.

Downsides? There were some - keeping it from an truthful 'excellent' rating (given the standards expected at this price point), but after a few hours onsite we found we were so chilled out we didn't care so much anymore, that said you might want to know about the following:

Construction on one side of the resort is relatively intrusive for a 'calming retreat' (although kudos to Kuoni our travel agent, who gave us nearly £200 of hotel credit to spend as an apology for the works which took the sting off it). On our week the site was regularly running a crane with a noisy chain maybe 8am->6pm but oddly we adjusted and it really didn't seem to big a deal after the first day. It looks like it has at least a couple more months to run (Jul 2012)

English wasn't massively strong for some staff - we didn't feel inclined to ask for advice on local trips etc as a lot of time I wasn't sure subtle points were really translating, same sometimes with ordering or asking about variations/flavours from the menu (ice cream flavours for instance).

Storage - if you pack a lot, and want to actually unpack, this may not be the resort for you :P We don't pack heavily, but still were stumped with where to put even half our things. In the end we dumped the coffee making onto the desk in the lobby and used the shelf it had been on for t-shirts etc, and left the undies in the cases!

More minor points include the beach closes too early imo (6pm), steep hill won't suit everyone (although it's less bad than some in the area) and our villa deck and some of the walkways were a very worn, time for more teak oil! Also note the main pool isn't large, not one for serious swimmers.

Despite these points we were very happy with the Silavadee. It is head and shoulders above anywhere else we have stayed in the past and exactly what we wanted. I would recommend it to anyone, especially for a special trip for a couple - we wanted calming, private and relaxing and that's exactly what we got. Go see for yourself :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    124
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
47
353
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a long journey from New York to Koh Samui, we were so relieved and happy to arrive at Silavadee. The welcome was perfect and relaxing- we sat down, were offered cold towels and fresh juice and were driven to our room. We requested an upgrade and were luckily upgraded to villa 12 which had a huge bathroom and tub and our own private infinity pool and deck! It was such a nice surprise and the room was amazing! We had a gorgeous canopy bed, delicious daily fresh fruit amenities, lovely welcome note, wonderful bath amenities. I can't rave enough about this resort and our room.

The staff was so genuinely helpful and friendly and always at our service- especially the breakfast staff (they were always happy and smiling). The food was wonderful, especially at breakfast (which is included in most rates). Sadly enough I found myself looking forward to breakfast every day because they had everything you could want: fresh squeezed juices, cold cuts, cereals, yogurts, pastries, eggs, thai food, etc. The restaurant and pool overlook the ocean and are wonderful to just spend the whole day at. they have a small rocky private beach which is fine if you want to go down there but I found myself spending most of my time at the pool. There's also a wine/cigar lounge and a small outdoor bar with amazing fresh drinks- bartender was great too and made fresh snacks for us to have with our cocktails.

The location is near Lamai Beach but not quite on it- so for those who want to explore Koh Samui, this may not be the best location for you but we found ourselves not wanting to leave the resort at all, and you really don't need to. The hotel has free shuttle buses several times a day to Lamai Beach and Chaweng Beach.

also if you walk down the street about 10 minutes there are a couple of small good restaurants and cheap (but clean) massage places.

Can't say enough positive things about this place and would go back anyday!

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a villa with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

we stayed 5 nights at a Jacuzzi Deluxe Seaview. the room feels big and the balcony is cosy with the jacuzzi. We didn't expect to use it every evening, but it was great for relaxing before starting the evening. the interior has an ecofriendly yet luxurious feel. The staff is very friendly and the grounds are very well maintained. You will have the real Zen-feeling just walking around the resort. we ate almost every night in The Heights, witch is not a common habit of us while traveling. Prices are correct and the quality of food and presentation is great! We loved the curries and fresh fish. The juices are also exquisit. Posted photos of the pool speak for itself. there was always space at the loungers by the pool or beach. The beach is peaceful and it was no problem going in just for a dip or snorkeling with the gear provided by the resort.
the only big downside for us was the noise at evening coming from the rooms next to us or even two rooms down. The ipod docking station and large lcd-tv with dvd is great, but we think the isolation doesn't cover the noise coming from it. We found it difficult to complain, because we think our neighbours didn't even put the sound up that loud, but you could hear every word... We adressed this problem to reception and they asked our neighbours to turn it down. but even then, for us, it was a problem for 2 nights in a row.
further more, we found that the staff on duty at dinner made a little too much mistakes: forgetting our order so we had to wait for 30 minutes while others after us had their food already, drink came after main course was finished one night, wrong bill,... They could use a more experienced maitre to Give an overview. Not such a big deal when you are on holiday and you have time... But little things that give it an extra if it's done right. breakfastcrew was always correct and ordering with a big smile :-)

Overall a great resort and good value for money!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from silavadee for a 6 day honeymoon stay. Overall it was lovely, and most of the hiccups were due to poor understanding of English by the staff.

We had a fantastic time at the spa but it is overpriced. We had a one hour free massage as part of our honeymoon which was lovely. We wanted to go back for the full honeymoon spa package but found it to be too expensive. Fortunately, on our last full day they came round offering 50% off anything at the spa so we went back for it and it was amazing 5 hours of pure bliss- would highly recommend if you've booked for honeymoon. Yes there are tons of massage place outside that are cheap but I felt them to be a bit seedy... Whereas silavadee was very professional and they were obviously well trained.

Food and drink is very overpriced (even compared to other 5* hotels in Thailand) but we didn't want to leave thR hotel so were happy to accepting this. The food is generally very good, especially the breakfast.


So the main problem is the service. The English skills of the staff is terrible and they understand very little. They do try with the service, but it's the language problem that leads to a number of hiccups we had.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This resort is in a beautiful location, with stunning panoramas of the ocean if you stay in one of the villas. The staff are friendly and efficient, and the private infinity pool is by far the highlight, with the bowl-shaped marble bathtub a close second. I could only find one issue: When I pulled aside the tables in the (yet unused) poolside room to do some Yoga, I found lots of dust and dead insects, which hinted to the fact that the room hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival. This is unacceptable for a 30000+ Baht per-night villa. Aside from that, everything was superb.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Silavadee for 5 nights end of June, and it was superb! Booked the hotel back in May and realized from tripadvisor that they have constructions happening next door, concerned, I wrote to the hotel right away. Sabine from Reservations and Marketing replied right away and reassured me that we will be put as far away from the constructions as possible. I ended up emailing her with countless questions regarding car hire, villa upgrades, to airport transfers, and I have to admit, I must have been quite annoying, but Sabine replied promptly each time, so I thank her for her patience and efficiency!
Now onto the hotel itself!
What a beautiful hotel! Upon arrival, we were told that we were upgraded to the Ocean Front Pool Suite (Back in May, I booked the Ocean View Villa and decided to pay more and upgrade to the Ocean Front Pool Suite, but was told that it was not available during my stay so I paid for an upgrade to Panoramic Ocean View Villa instead) So I was overjoyed! The Ocean Front Pool Suite is everything and more, the pool overlooking the ocean, the bedroom and the SUPER HUGE bathroom, everything was near perfect! (The one exception being the shower water pressure wasn't strong enough, but it was not a big problem) The villas are located on a hill, we were put in villa number 3 and it was next to the construction site, but honestly, we were not disturbed by it at all, there were a few pounding, but nothing annoying, we even stayed an entire day in the villa and we barely noticed the constructions. The hotel sends a golf buggy to collect you from your villa with a phone call, and the service is so prompt - they are nearly always there within minutes! Breakfast was excellent in my opinion, they have lots of fresh juices and have a buffet of bread, pastries, deli meat and cheese, as well as a menu that you can order - pancakes, eggs benedict, english breakfast that is included in the breakfast. All in all, I was very pleased with it. We ordered the in villa BBQ and because we were very picky eaters, we ended up changing a lot in the menu, and the staff were SUPER accommodating and the food was DELICIOUS!!!!
As for the location of the hotel, we rented a car so for us, going around the rest of the island was no trouble at all, it is located right between Lamai and Chewang Beach, so it was very convenient. We didn't explore the beach at the hotel nor the swimming pool as our own in villa pool was just amazing, there was no need!I DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to people as it was really a little piece of paradise on earth!

Room Tip: Rent a motorbike or car when staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just got back from my Honeymoon at this amazing place. People say Koh Samui is 'Heaven on Earth'
If that is true, then i must say, 'Silavadee' is the VIP section of Heaven.

Located at perhaps the best location in Samui, its a perfect nest for lovebirds and others alike to experience the serenity and beauty of Samui.

Rocket fast staff, beautiful pool villas, breathtaking view and a cute private beach...thats all it takes to bring a smile on our faces...The Room Service works like a Rapid Action Force. The staff so helpful and warm. The green resort nestled on a hill overlooking the ocean gives tourists the perfect combination of the fantastic hilltop view as well as unrestricted access to their private sand beach. Chaweng Beach (a street market oozing with touristy activity) is a meagre 15-20 mins ride/drive from the resort while Lamai beach is a hop away.

The Marine Park tour recommended by the resort is amazing (a must do, but do carry a change of clothes and a towel :D)
The resort rents motorbikes for a minimal amount. They have their chauffer driven vans too.

Thank you ALL at Silavadee for an amazing stay and the warmth and ever smiling faces to remember... Khanpun Khai :)

Room Tip: Ocean Pool Villas have a beautiful view of the ocean with trees and bamboo walls on both sides givin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silavadee Pool Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silavadee Pool Spa Resort

Address: 208 / 66 Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silavadee Pool Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort is destined to be the most exclusive luxury hideaway resort on Koh Samui. Our name Silavadee means “beautiful rock” in Thai, as it is located on the secret Laem Nan Beach, perched atop beautiful granite boulders, between Chaweng and Lamai Beach. Comprising 19 pool villas and 36 deluxe rooms, Silavadee Pool Spa Resort has its own unique style with a ‘back to nature’ concept. Elevate your senses at 'the Height' restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silavadee Pool Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silavadee Pool Hotel Lamai Beach
Silavadee Pool Resort
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silavadee Pool Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.