We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samaya Bura

Save Saved
You added Samaya Bura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samaya Bura
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Samaya Bura Hotel for our honeymoon and it was amazing! The interior is of top quality and the staff was extremely friendly from the day of our arrival. We felt very welcome during our entire stay. We had a stunning view from our room on the top floor. We enjoyed great cocktails at the bar and good food at the hotel's restaurant. The pool area and garden is amazingly beautiful. We can recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    97
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
12
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights and were very happy with everything. The customer service was great, the breakfast was really good, and the whole place is very beautiful. The only down side is that is not within walking distance of some of the bigger cities but we rented motor bikes or took taxis and it was no big deal. All in all, a great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As soon as we booked our room for Samaya, we had an issue with their reservation system (we did not receive a confirmation email, though payment was made) and tried several times to reach out to their front desk without any success. Not to mention the fact that none of their staff speaks english, we decided to deal with that problem once we land in Koh Samui.
We arrived at the reception to explain our situation, and the staff was of utterly unpleasant, not comprehensive, and consistently under delivering.
The room's amenities were fine, however, their AC turned out to be a big mess. I don't know if it's been ages without maintenance, but we really suffered from the odor and had a massive headache. Obviously we didn't explaining to the staff as none of them understands english.
I would only say that the location of the hotel is convenient, and the view at the beach is amazing. We were also content with the pool.
Overall i wouldn't recommend it unless a dramatic change in the quality of the staff service is improved. I would give the 2 rating for the location and view.

Room Tip: make sure the rooms are facing the beach to enjoy a nice view. the opposite side is facing a noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in Samaya Bura for 4 nights in August 2013. On check-in I was given the wrong form to fill in (someone elses) and they charged my card for one night of accommodation. This was quickly resolved and after another charge to the card for the remaining three nights we were all set.

We stayed in a Sea view room, which was spacious for the baggage and overall pretty good. The biggest let down we found was the bathroom, especially the shower as it wasn't a fixed shower it kept swiveling around to face the shower curtain (it could be taken off the hook so you can hold in your hand), meaning that most times I had to shower with one hand so i could hold the water outlet with the other.

The breakfast was average but good enough. it seemed as though some items (i.e the cheese) was reused over a few days (there weren't many people at breakfast most days). Apart from that they had the usual assortment of items, a limited selection of fruit, some dairy, basic hot meals and some cereal.

If you use the pool you have to go to reception to get a towel, unfortunately we didn't realise this until we got into the pool, luckily it was sunny so we could dry off with out them, but a weird system nonetheless.

The staff were friendly and always welcoming. Note that it is about a 10 minute walk to Lamai center from this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, otherwise it will be noisy as you will be on the street side The "spa&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The pool is awesome and nice views from the rooms.
Staff is helpful and even gave us a free upgrade to a seaview room which was a nice touch.
Would highly reecommend it.
each room has a nice balcony too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedehusene, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel on the north side of the Lamai Beach. Rooms with seawiev is nice and quiet don't go for the rooms pointing at hillside the road outside those rooms are very noisy. Staff are friendly as normal all over Thailand. The hotel restaurant is poor as is the food, for a hotel of this standard you would expect more, not something to recommend go eat somewhere else the Beach in front of the hotel is poor you have to walk for 15 min on the beach to get a good spot. Stayed at the hotel for 14 days and will use it again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and liked it.

On check-in we were made to wait about 10-15 minutes because there had been a complication with our booking. Staff did not explain what was going on, just told us to wait, and this was a bit distressing, having travelled far to get there.

We were given a free upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite because the room we booked wasn't available. This room is NOT advertised on the website. It's better than a standard room, and has a little back garden with a jacuzzi. It faced the sea, but as it was on first floor, you couldn't see much of the view. However, this was good for us as it was more than we expected for the money we paid.

The garden and jacuzzi weren't clean or maintained at all well, I wondered whether this was because they hadn't expected guests to be staying in this room. The jacuzzi wasn't working. We called reception and they sent someone to sort it out immediately.

The room itself was very large, very clean, modern looking and comfortable. The rest of the hotel is the same. It feels contemporary and this has been carried out to a reasonable standard, with some finer details being a bit slack.

Generally the hotel staff are OK but I felt they seemed stressed out and for the standard of the rest of the hotel they perhaps should have been friendlier, the odd smile wouldn't have gone a-miss!

Breakfast was OK - go early for the best selection. There was a good choice of fruit, salad, hot food and an egg chef. We found that the hot food was all a bit past it by 9.30am and that the egg chef was not always in attendance.

Samaya Bura is right on the main road round Samui, and was very easy to locate. Also near lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the road at the front of the hotel is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaya Bura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.