We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Samaya Bura to your Saves list
Samaya Bura
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into the hotel through operators.as first hotel had not confirmed.5 days before due to leave UK.so when we were told it was going to be a superior room we thought great.unfortunately all superior rooms are roadside.which is a good view into hills but abit noisy.in mornings.tried to change room but not a chance.used excuse fully booked.but wasn't.apart from that the room nice and spacious.very clean.good tv service.mini bar free water.the hotel is lovely with small garden area and nice pool.not to big.a small beach with just couple if beds.its a shirt walk along the beach to Lamai beach which is full if great bars and food places.or a linger walk along the road.the only other downside to the hotel is breakfast.as its a bb hotel you would expect good but its not.no Bacon or beans.no muesli.over done eggs.and only warm.apart from that great place nice location.super friendly staff.sort the breakfasts out .would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
12
52
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights as couldnt change. The first week was over Xmas and New Years. That was a mistake as the hotel was too busy. After paying so much for a basic seaview room I was expecting much more than we got. There weren't enough sunbeds, pool was too small, staff service was poor and as the sea wasn't great for swimming it spoilt the first week. It was much much better after New Years as alot of guests checked out. Staff were more relaxed but still lacked atmosphere. Also drinks and food overpriced. Food was nice tho. The biggest plus is that the hotel is close to the best Thai food restaurant ever... Imchais. It doesn't look much and is cheap... But it has superb food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

the hotel appears to want to screw guests at every angle. They make you check out towels at the front desk for swimming (a 3 min walk in your bathing suit), and threaten you with a 25 USD "fine" if not returned. The towels in question disappeared from our room, taken during cleaning and we were challenged with the fine. Also they would not lend me wine glasses to drink wine in my room, insisting I buy their overpriced and limited selection wine. The hotel, as an independent one, appears to have no coherent guest policy and apparently do not care about repeat customers. Needless do not stay here if you want to be challenged for "extras" at every corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svelvik, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Popped in by coincidence to check availibility and price. Checked in the same day and stayed for 10 days, the best 10 days for me and my wife during my stay in Thailand. The staff in reception, restaurant and roomcleaning were very nice, helpful and serviceminded. Not only the staff is good, also the facilities, the garden, the pool, the view and surroundings deserve an extra star.The staff makes you feel at home, as they are able to communicate and share the happy moments, while they also are professionals when it comes to drawing the border between guest and staff. I can highly recommend this hotel, for singles, couples and families, young as aged. If visiting the bar and restaurant, Mr Sunny and his female assistant will surely look after you.

Room Tip: I wii come back if I go to Koh Samui
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good value, great rooms, on beach, nice pool. Breakfast and wifi included.
Get a sea view room as others back onto noisy road!
Spacious rooms with fridge and safe. 2 bottles of water daily. Great view on balcony if the sea and pool. Massages very overpriced. Go to The Healing House down the road for a great massage.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have just spent two weeks at the Samaya Bura and found it comfortable and very adequate. The room cleaners did an excellent job and the staff where as a while friendly without formality.

Although breakfast was a little ... basic, although I think I had made for me the best omelette I have ever eaten.

Oh, if you want a room which has quite a good view ask for 303.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and myself stayed at the Samaya Bura hotel and my younger brother had his own room as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - The Food and Beverage manager is named Sunny and can be found wandering around to make sure everything is alright. The staff went above and beyond to facilitate out stay and I will be returning in March/April to be staying here again.

A couple of nights the staff relaxed as well after about 11-12pm, and we all sat outside at the bar drinking. Sunny busted out a guitar, and some other locals grabbed various instruments - impromptu live music! Staff is friendly, knowledgeable and even drove me to numerous locations without charging (I tipped, of course, so I don't know if that was 'expected' or not.)

All in all: This is a great hotel to stay at if you're on a budget. Would not hesitate to stay here again. The only downside was that the water in my room was a little low on the pressure side, but after speaking to management this was fixed quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaya Bura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.