We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent staff and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Samaya Bura to your Saves list
Samaya Bura
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Svelvik, Norway
1 review
“Very pleasent staff and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Popped in by coincidence to check availibility and price. Checked in the same day and stayed for 10 days, the best 10 days for me and my wife during my stay in Thailand. The staff in reception, restaurant and roomcleaning were very nice, helpful and serviceminded. Not only the staff is good, also the facilities, the garden, the pool, the view and surroundings deserve an extra star.The staff makes you feel at home, as they are able to communicate and share the happy moments, while they also are professionals when it comes to drawing the border between guest and staff. I can highly recommend this hotel, for singles, couples and families, young as aged. If visiting the bar and restaurant, Mr Sunny and his female assistant will surely look after you.

Room Tip: I wii come back if I go to Koh Samui
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    28
    14
    10
See reviews for
12
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good value, great rooms, on beach, nice pool. Breakfast and wifi included.
Get a sea view room as others back onto noisy road!
Spacious rooms with fridge and safe. 2 bottles of water daily. Great view on balcony if the sea and pool. Massages very overpriced. Go to The Healing House down the road for a great massage.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have just spent two weeks at the Samaya Bura and found it comfortable and very adequate. The room cleaners did an excellent job and the staff where as a while friendly without formality.

Although breakfast was a little ... basic, although I think I had made for me the best omelette I have ever eaten.

Oh, if you want a room which has quite a good view ask for 303.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and myself stayed at the Samaya Bura hotel and my younger brother had his own room as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - The Food and Beverage manager is named Sunny and can be found wandering around to make sure everything is alright. The staff went above and beyond to facilitate out stay and I will be returning in March/April to be staying here again.

A couple of nights the staff relaxed as well after about 11-12pm, and we all sat outside at the bar drinking. Sunny busted out a guitar, and some other locals grabbed various instruments - impromptu live music! Staff is friendly, knowledgeable and even drove me to numerous locations without charging (I tipped, of course, so I don't know if that was 'expected' or not.)

All in all: This is a great hotel to stay at if you're on a budget. Would not hesitate to stay here again. The only downside was that the water in my room was a little low on the pressure side, but after speaking to management this was fixed quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely hotel, clean and modern, quiet part of town, the pools was nice, easy to get everywhere from here. Good breakfast had something for everyone, good food at dinner- great yellow curry, staff great and very help, would stay there again. good for everyone, families, couple even singles. It had a spa but we didnt use it, its cheaper outside.

Room Tip: beach view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago, 9 out of 10 then. Now below 4 - it hasn't aged well. there must have been a change in owner/management, last time the staff couldn't do enough to help, this time only a couple of the staff were helpful, the rest were useless!

Breakfast is poor, once the good runs out they dont refill!

We would strongly recommend new hut resturant 300yards away. Great service at great prices!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here originally as part of group tour then decided to stay on for four further nights after upgrading to ocean view room. Rooms are spacious, nice enough for $70 per night, few issues with design of bathroom and water overflow, gardens are lovely. Restaurant, bar and pool are on beachfront - food is good, plenty of choice, Happy Hour drinks, pool is clean and plenty of shade if needed. Breakfast is pretty ordinary and take care if you eat late as food has been sitting out in the heat for quite some time. Wifi only works in foyer areas which is a bit annoying. They have a good library and computers for use though. Walking distance to ATM, supermarket and other restaurants. Nice view out to fishermans boats etc and easy walk down beach to Beach Republic etc resorts. Staff are very helpful and nice. Looks like quite new. They provide a taxi service with nice aircon van 600B to airports. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samaya Bura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.