We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Am Samui Palace

Save Saved
You added Am Samui Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Am Samui Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 / 39 Moo 3 T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights and found it very good. The staff couldent do enough for you. Its only a 5 min walk to the beautiful beach. Nice pool within the grounds.The town in only 2 min in the other direction. Because this is near to the town at times you could hear the loud music from mthe bars even at 4 in the morning but its was not a majot problem.
Compared to other places we stayed at breakfast was a not that special and the coffee was almost undrinkable but I still like it here and would go back (If only)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    55
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
43
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our stay at Am Samui was quite enjoyable. Rooms are quiet, a nice size and very clean; beds very firm as they are all over Thailand. All rooms have a balcony with seating and a rack to hang wet items. Staff very friendly - they recognized us each time we returned and had our key ready and waiting to pick up, helped us rent scooters and made a phone call to confirm our ferry reservations. A two minute walk to the beach, close to restaurants, shops, spas. We were upgraded to a pool view room but had to move to a garden view room when we extended our stay two nights. Garden view is actually parking lot view, but not horrible. Power went out twice (when it rained), but the generator came on within about 15 minutes so no problem. Breakfast was predictable - coffee is Nescafe, not brewed, so not so good. Lunch menu reasonably priced and convenient when sitting by the pool. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Lamai beach is just a 5 minutes walk away, but mind you, there are no sea-view rooms (view is blocked by Lamai99 Inn). Night Bazaar is right in front of the hotel and there are many bars & restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helped us in renting a jeep too (even though the price was 100 Baht more expensive than originally promised). Breakfast was average; nothing too bad or good about it. All in all, we were happy with what we got and might consider staying in this hotel again during our next visits to Samui.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff.
Pros.
- Clean, nice rooms
- Close to shopping, restaurants
- Staff
- Pool area

Cons:
- You might be disturbed of the disco in the near at night
- Antz in the pool area
- The sharp edges of the tiles in the pool. Every family member got cut under our stay. NOT GOOD!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samui
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our second stay this year at Am Samui Resort. The staff are always friendly and great with kids. The room are a good price and are very clean, the breakfast is good and they have a great pool which is always clean. The beach is only a one minute walk away and directly across the road is all the markets and restaurants. We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed the facilities of this resort very much.
Great swimmingpool, 1 minute walk to the beach, the friendly staff! What more can you wish for?
It's in the middle of Lamai, so if you are looking for some rest, maybe this is not the resort for you (although it is fairly quit at night)
If you want bars, clubs and markets within less than 2 minutes walking, this is your place.
Rooms are quit sober, but absolutely complete en very clean.
I recommend to choose a poolview room, very nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARROGATE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for the 2nd week of our honeymoon. This hotel is in a great location, smack bang in the centre of Lamai, and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is more for family groups, especially if you're eastern European. I think we were the only English people there. And the other reviews are correct regarding the sun loungers, you need to get out there before 6.30am to secure a lounger, otherwise they are all taken. The hotel is also right behind a nightclub so beware if you're in a room near the reception, which we were. Breakfast was inedible, but i highly recommend Scoops across the road by Subway, the best breakfast and french toast ever!!

The staff were great, and our room was always clean, although they did take ages to clean and make the room up each morning. The shower was a bit crap though, constantly going hot and cold and you couldn't angle it so you could stand under it, it could only be pointed at the cubicule walls. Just as well Thailand is hot!!

Whilst there wasn't really anything wrong with this hotel, it wasn't what we expected, and not really a romantic resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Am Samui Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Palace

Address: 124 / 39 Moo 3 T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Samui Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Am Samui Palace is a tranquil family owned resort with the genuine feel of a Bed and Breakfast. It first opened its doors only 3 years ago, embracing the approach of providing warm and personal services to all their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Am Samui Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Am Samui Palace Koh
Am Samui Palace Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Am Samui Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.