We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with an awesome personnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rummana Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Rummana Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 hotels in Lamai Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice place with an awesome personnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

All the resort employees are very kind and always ready to help. They were just awesome. The restaurant Is great as well as cocktails. Definitely a place to recommend. I didn't give it 5 stars because the beach is great but not awesome, the swimming pool would need some renovation and towels weren't always completely clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me and my wife were on a Vacation on this resot from 15.7.12 till 19.7.12 I can say that we enjoed very much. The servis was exelant the stuf was very good and kind the restarunt was very good also every thing was cleen and perfact. The money I paid was ok.
The Pool area and Pool was cleen.

We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The room was in the midel of the resort, and it was quiet and plesent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my husbant just returned from Rummana hotel, we went on honeymoon and were expecting real 4 star luxury and chic hotel (as they say in the broshiure). But were very much upset and dissapointed from first minute we entered the room. Its ok, but it is not a 4 star at all, and definitely not worth high price we paid, for 150 euro per night you would expect some level of comfort. There was no even hand wash soap, no body lotion and whole bathroom is complete disaster. No separate shower, bathtube is old and not very clean, no tiles on the wall, so water is splashing all around, floor is concrite with holes in there and stones, everything is wet and lookes unpleasant. You cant walk with slippers in there. The whole place is terrible old, probably last 20 years without any touch. Furniture is more like in 2 star hotel, smth just painted with dark brown paint. Breakfast is ok, but tea and coffee they serving from big kettler is some kind of brown liquid, terrible. Occasionally I find out that its possible to ask for a green tea bag and personal pot with hot water, so do it. Swimming pool is very small, I cant even call it a pool, its more of a size of a bathtube in our garden. You cant swim there. If you like swimming in the pool, dont be fooled by the picture they have on website, its really small. On the beach there are about 10 beds, many stones under water, so better to go a bit left side from the hotel. And be aware of dogs running along the beach, its easy to step on poo, and many broken glass, really must watch where you put your foot. Nobody cleaning hotel beach, plenty of plastic and sigaretts. Personell in the hotel is very polite and service minded, as everywhere in Thailand. Hotels garden is very calm and relaxing, with small waterfalls. But that is only positive I can say. Inspite of dissapointment with hotel itself we had a nice time. We like the location and can come back to this hotel, but only if they will renovate bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After far too much investigation, into hotels in Koh Samui, we finally settled on this gem.

Cons:
1. We had to wait, at the airport, for our hotel transfer for an hour (we have 3 children aged 16, 9 and 4 so it was slightly inconvenient). Apparently the mini van, destined to collect us, had an accident so I suppose this is a fair excuse.
2. The are no adjoining villas for families - in hindsight not a bad thing ;-)
3. Babysitting is expensive - TBH 300 per hour. Our 16 year old son helped us out one night so we didn't need this service.
4. The sea is quite rocky. This is only a problem if the sea is "rough" because you cannot see the rocks beneath you.
5. No English pork sausages for breakfast. We are expats living in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia is a Muslim country) so I was a bit disappointed. Loads of bacon though so it didn't cause any stress.
6. Asian Mosquitos! Repellent machines and mats are provided but (we follow this protocol in our home in KL too) I strongly suggest aerosol mosquito spray, which is freely available, to be sprayed in your villa at least once before bed time (stay out of the room for a about 20 minutes after spraying) and keep doors and windows closed.
7. Pillows. You are provided with two pillows per person. One which feels like a brick and one which feels like a softer brick. Softer pillows are needed. Having said this, we did not request softer pillows so perhaps these are available.

Pros:
1. When our airport transfer arrived we were met with smiles, apologies, beautiful fresh orchid garlands, ice cold bottled water and wonderfully refreshing, and intricately folded, COLD and wet towels.
2. Our check in was swift and friendly.
3. On realising that adjoining rooms were not available, we were allocated new villas, which faced each other, in a quiet little cul de sac accessed via a wooden deck bridge over koi ponds, very close to the pool, beach and restaurant -within the maze of villas. We stayed in villa 303 and 304.
4. A wonderfully comfortable extra (single bed) was provided in our children's villa to accommodate 3 people. After a small argument about who got the "comfy" single bed....my 9 year old daughter won.
5. Hotel staff moved our belongings (and the extra bed) whilst we went to the beach for a long swim, beach walk and lovely dinner at the hotel bar overlooking the beach.
6. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. There are wonderful little burners in the bathrooms, which contain camphor oil, so the room always smells fresh.
7. A well stocked mini bar.
8. The hotel pool and surrounds were very clean and I actually saw a staff member cleaning the mosaics, all the way around the swimming pool, with a hand held little brush.
9. A short walk, along the beautiful Lamai beach, to numerous restaurants and bars.
10. Scooters are available, for rental, right outside the hotel or a few meters further on the main road. This is a MUST! We all really enjoyed exploring the island on our "steeds" and travelling to Lamai Town in the evening for the vibe and market.
11. The hotel restaurant is really good. Though there is no "kids menu" the staff are happy to serve the lunch menu in the evening and my two younger children thoroughly enjoyed the fish and chips.
The Thai curries are heavenly and bar service is excellent.
12. My husband surprised me with an intimate dinner (at our hotel) for two - on the beach with the waves lapping 2m away from our table. The atmosphere was peaceful and romantic, the staff were attentive, the decor at our table (complete with storm lantern and fresh orchids everywhere including our ice bucket!) was beautiful beyond words, and the food was delicious.
13. Towards the end of our dinner for two, a hawker came past with sky lanterns. My husband hailed our children and we sent 2 sky lanterns into the clear sky. One for love and luck for my husband and myself and one for Mommy's love with my children.
14. Seamless check out and return transfer to Samui International Airport.

All in all a wonderful stay. My 4 year old son cried when we were checking out, and I felt like a petulant child who didn't want to leave the party.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: If you need 2 villas choose villas 303 and 304. Very quiet and private. Close to restaurant, swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A Perfect spot, situated on the Right place on Lamai beach. If you have the oppotunity to stay at the bungalows (they've Got 2) do that !!! They are perfectly located by the pool, and overlooking the beach. The staff is extremely friendly, and it is close by the shopping at Lamai. Only reason for not giving 5 stars are the pool which needs to be rapaired to solve the problem with loose tiles

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Rummana was perfect in every way and just what we needed. On arrival, we were served welcome drinks and a scented towel which was the perfect remedy for our fuzzy travel heads. The staff go out of their way to help and are really lovely. The rooms are beautiful, with oil burners lit and kept very clean.

The beach is stunning, great water to swim in (althought if you have children there is a steep drop!) with some beautiful fish and literally steps away from the restaurant/pool. Breakfast buffet tasty and huge selection, all in all I couldn't really fault this resort. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a great time at the Rummana Resort. Its right next to the Beach. Lamai Beach is a great location, its very quiet. The Resort is very lovely, staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, lots to chose from, we went there once for dinner and had a Thai Set - lots of delicious food, it was great! Family Mart and 7 Eleven right around the corner. To Lamai its a 10 minute walk, which was great. In Lamai there are lots of Restaurants, Bars and Shops. Its nice to spend the evening there. Also try food from the sellers on the street, its delicious.

We also went snorkeling to Koh Tao, which was great. But rather book a more expensive tour at your travel guide from your travel agency than at a cheaper store in Lamai, the boats are crowded, we saw one boat it looked bad. We had a great snorkeling tour.

The only thing we would recommend to the Manager is that the pool needs a renovation. Some tiles are broken and I guess they should be replaced because once we cut ourselves a little bit. But the hotel is a great choice, we would definetly come back!!!

Room Tip: We had a room closer to the beach/pool which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rummana Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.