We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakers Arms

The Bakers Arms
4 Hinton Road, Fulbourn, Cambridge CB21 5DZ, England
01223 880606
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Fulbourn
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we have been here on five or six occasions and never had a bad meal,staff are friendly,food always good and reasonably priced.
the bakers arms beats our local hungry horse pub hands down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Impromptu lunch visit today, we found the menu offered a good range of food at a good price, but unfortunately our choice disappointing due to poor quality meat, which was very chewy.

When the friendly landlady enquired if we'd enjoyed our lunch, we had to express our disappointment. She was very apologetic and offered deserts FOC.
Unfortunately the food does have a "microwave" feel about it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice decor but food awful.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had the roast beef. It was two thin hard slices with burnt edges. The whole dinner was just warm. Horrible watery gravy with a sweet taste. Roast potatoes were more like normal boiled potatoes and the veg was the basic carrots n peas with a hard Yorkshire. The menu was good and with a wide choose and cheap. But you get what you pay for. I would not eat here again, but would have a drink in the very nice garden with good facilities for children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This Pub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Terrible food...awful clientelle - real riff raff...I took my grandson aged 5 for a nice lunch..he went to play on the swings in the garden and was beaten by a child of the same age ...i had a word with the mother who promptly swore at me and threatened to beat me up !!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oh dear another Greene King Dining Disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

So, this used to be a great pub with a nice little restaurant attached, I have eaten there plenty of times but popped in the other day for a meal and boy oh boy what a shame my stomach is still working on that burger. The food was edible but of poor quality. The coffee on offer was "Instant" and was almost undrinkable I needed the caffeine to restart my heart after I saw how much they charged for a cup of the stuff. Seems like a nice guy running the place but seems to have his hands tied with what he can do in the kitchen. If you fancy a quick drink of something other than real ale and you like large screen TV's then the place is fine but otherwise... Drive on.. and dont stop at the Next Greene King pub / diner (Robin Hood) thats only marginally better. Come on Greene King get it sorted out..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakers Arms also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Bakers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.