We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Country Inn

Save Saved
You added White Hart Country Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Country Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Hart Country Inn
1 Balsham Road, Fulbourn, Cambridge CB21 5BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Fulbourn B&B and Inns
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Had a great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Three of us visited on Monday evening for a meal. The surroundings are comfortable, warm and inviting. After a drink at the bar we were shown to a table by the fire, and had mains and desserts and a bottle of red. The lamb shank, chicken ham and leek pie, and the fish were all very tasty, with good portion sizes and side dishes. Crème brulee with wild berries and banoffee pie were also great. Staff were friendly and helpful. We’ll be happy to return on our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have just had a very disappointing Christmas lunch at a pub that many friends have recommended. This might be because I opted for vegetarian food, but that is not really an excuse. I had watery and tasteless parsnip soup, a mushroom risotto that was made with under cooked leak, courgette, and dried mushrooms that had not reconstituted properly and were frankly tough and still hard and starchy rice, followed by a chocolate brownie that contained hazelnuts with an odd chemical taste. All in all the food was very disappointing.
The staff were very friendly and efficient which did in part make up for the lackluster meal.

Room Tip: Avoid if you are vegetarian
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The White Hart is by far one of the best restaurants and pubs in Cambridge, the food is fantastic as is the service. Warm and friendly environment with several alternative eating areas to suite anyone's style.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice clean comfortable room and a nice ambience in the restaurant. Food quality was great and the service was friendly and quick. Good place to stay for Cambridge. I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed the evening before at the Menzies Cambridge ( separate review ) and due to unforeseen circumstances following check out we had to stay in the Cambridge area for another night. Rather than go back to the Menzies we decided to try some where different in hope of a better evening meal. We called the White Hart just after 09.00 and we secured the last room a " small double" . The owner was very accommodating inviting us to come over and leave our luggage, so it would be in the room when we returned later in the day. We received a very warm welcome that morning and on our return when a member of staff checked us in the same afternoon. The room was very small but comfy. The bathroom was also very small but we enjoyed the powerful shower. All in all it was OK for our one night stay. We ate outside as it was a balmy evening. The food was nice and wholesome, however, the service was VERY slow. The waitress was apologetic and it was no big deal to us other than when the main course arrived we had both gone a bit passed it and it was rather a waste of money. Following a good night’s sleep we enjoyed a lovely well cooked to order breakfast. Would I stay again, most certainly for the warm welcome and the very friendly owners and staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have eaten here loads of times but never for sunday roast. Rang to book a table at the last minute,said they we may have to wait, we arrived were shown to our table straight away, service was excellent and the Sunday roast was amazing, we struggled to finish the massive portion that they gave us, everything was cooked and presented to perfection.
We are massive Sunday roast fans and very hard to please, will be taking all our friends and family here to sample this amazing feast. 10/10

Room Tip: We only ate here as locals living in the centre of cambridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here in a twin room during Cambridge Folk Festival. The room was small, but comfortable, with a powerful shower. The breakfasts were excellent and the admin and service were all fine. We arrived back late each evening, so can't comment about early evening noise, but it was certainly all quiet for a good night's rest from midnight. There was no trouble finding spaces in the White Hart car park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Hart Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Country Inn

Address: 1 Balsham Road, Fulbourn, Cambridge CB21 5BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Fulbourn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fulbourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Inn is a traditional coaching inn, situated in the quiet and picturesque village of Fulbourn, just 3 miles from Cambridge City Centre. It's extremely well presented and enjoys a prominent location in the village, with easy access to and from Cambridge and it's surrounding areas. Newmarket & Duxford are both just a short drive away. The Inn has a traditional and relaxed atmosphere throughout in which to simply enjoy a drink at the bar, or a delicious meal in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Country Hotel Fulbourn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.