We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the heart of the wine lands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Gables Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Gables Country Inn
Save
You added Green Gables Country Inn to your Saves list
7 Smith Street, McGregor, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 McGregor B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of the wine lands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Green Gables is home from home, the rooms are neat and very rustic. The hospitality is great and we enjoyed a beautiful home cooker dinner which is serves on a Friday and Saturday evenings

If you enjoy a quiet farm style stay, look no further thar the Green Gables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arriving after 8 in the evening, we were immediately made to feel welcome by Jill and Tiger. Dinner was already on the go but we were assured that there was definitely room for 2 more in the dining room should we wish. We were ushered into the bar where some locals were sitting and both Jill and the locals made us feel very welcome. Drinks were offered and we were told to just keep a mental note of what we were having and could fix up the next morning! Dinner in the elegant dining room was an absolute delight! Tiger has an absolute flair for cooking and everything was delicious. The 'to die for' cheese cake with caramel topping, is worthy of a visit just on its own! Both our hosts joined everyone in the diningroom later where Tiger entertained us with showing us how their french poodle Denzil, can sing in different tones, on demand. Very entertaining character is Denzil! Breakfast was served on the terrace in front of the dining area, overlooking the valley. Attention to detail is amazing. This is a family run hotel and everyone was friendly, and interacted with every guest. Everything runs smoothly and we felt as if we had made new friends. What a wonderful weekend. We really felt at home. Thanks Jill, Tiger..... we will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The Barn was a delightful experience and we would request this if possible next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Brak River, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

For starters we got such a warm welcome from Gill, the inn was so elegant and pretty, the food was yummy, Lexi's garden fed the soul............ what a wonderful getaway. Highly recommended at this time (Sept) before it gets too hot.
The historical old water mill on the property was a bonus

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As always this warm and cosy B&B opens its arms in the middle of winter.
Green Gables was as usual very busy with local South Africans form Cape Town and many UK visitors.
We normally have a pre-dinner drinks is the small pub adjacent to the main lounge. This allows us to meet with visiting tourist and change ideas.
Breakfast is always after 9.am on weekends which suits us fine.

Room Tip: In winter make sure that your room has the new electric blank. Always confirm that you are having d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent a weekend at Green Gables Country Inn with our 8 year old twins, our 8 month old baby, and our dog.

Gill and Tiger, the owners of green Gables Country Inn provided such warm and welcoming hospitality. We felt completely at home, and the setting of the Inn was ideal for our needs. We had dinner and breakfasts at Green Gables; and the food was excellent.

We felt completely relaxed and at home at this B&B, and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in The barn, which was spacious and worked well for a family sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Best place I've stayed. Relaxing, beautiful, great food, great service and amazing accommodation. It's in an excellent position to walk into town and enjoy things like shops, restaurants and meditations at Temenos. The views while eating breakfast on the veranda are just breathtaking. The hosts are just lovely, friendly and down-to-earth people who make you feel like old friends. The singing dog also impressed young and old guests alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights in Tiger & Jill's Green Gables Country Inn and had a wonderful time. Great hosts, welcoming and helpful, authentic country-style rooms in former farmer's quarters, a perfect location in the beautiful McGregor wine area and close to Boesmanskloof for those who like a good hike. I would recommend this to anyone. Great value !

Jan van der Vlugt, Amsterdam

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Gables Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Country Inn

Address: 7 Smith Street, McGregor, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McGregor
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Standing the test of time in a village where time stands still"Green Gables Old Mill Country Inn is situated at the top of the McGregor village and offers the full country get away experience at affordable prices. Hosts Tiger & Jill have been at the forefront of providing high quality accommodation, meals and hospitality to McGregor visitors and locals for the past thirteen years. Green Gables has often been referred to as the gateway to the village. We are an inn, not a guest house. This means a professionally run full time hospitality business offering separate self catering, and B&B accommodation as well as a fully licensed restaurant and pub. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Gables Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.