We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graze

Graze
11 Queen Victoria Street, Stanford, South Africa
+27 76 243 1930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 restaurants in Stanford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is really worth visiting. A farmer is your host, who provides the fresh produce for the meals. We were made to share a table with another couple (not much seating room), but it was all part of the experience! We really enjoyed it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review James, luckily we have more seating on the balcony in Summer ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    25
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Graze touched my heart. It is a tiny little country kitchen tucked away on the main road of Stanford. The absolutely divine food smells wafting through the door drew me in whilst browsing the antique stores.

Unfortunately, they were fully booked for the Friday evening, so we popped past for lunch on Saturday. My husband had the osso bucco which melted off the bone and in the mouth. He even commented on how delicious the veggies were (this coming from a meat & potato man). I had an asian style duck egg salad with homemade ciabatta to mop up the dressing. Mulberry & apple crumble with homemade custard and an almond tart for dessert with real clotted cream finished off our meal.

Whilst we were lounging in our seats on the patio, a local popped past to offer Tabby whey, Tabby took pig fat next door for the lady to make soaps and another local offered to drop off food waste for pig food. This is country living, slow food and community caring in the true sense of the word. We will go back to Stanford specifically to eat at Graze.

The divine smells, combined with the fresh ethically sourced food, combined with the visible love of cooking, combined with Tabby & Alex's beautiful personalities make for an unforgettable experience. Thank you all so much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks Alison, in your short stay at Graze you managed to capture the vibe and camaraderie of Stanford! Love it when our customers just get what we do without too much explanation! See you soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small Restuarant, Big Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Run by a great team, Alex and Tabby, this restaurant is only open Friday evenings, Saturday for breakfast and lunch as well as Wednesdays for selling fresh produce. There were only four tables inside with about five more on the stoep facing Queen Victoria Street. However, what it lacked in size it made up in taste. The menu and wine list covered a chalk board on one of the walls, and as you can imagine with the limited hours everything was freshly prepared. The latecomers had to settle for what was left. Fortunately, we were early enough for Saturday lunch and enjoyed a superb meal followed by a unique chili chocolate creme brulee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for the review, so glad you enjoyed the brulee (it was the first time on the menu) and hope we see you all again very soon! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Discovered Graze on Wednesday morning on our way to Gansbaai. We had delicious mushrooms on toasted ciabatta as well as a great omelet for breakfast. Promptly booked for Friday night dinner. Were not disappointed, from starters to coffee was yummy! Seasonal food tasting great!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Love it when people discover us by chance and so glad you enjoyed your stay in this part of the country. Hope you have a safe trip back to Pretoria, and spread the word ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic flavours, friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Local produce cooked well with outstanding flavours. A small restaurant with a relaxed, informal atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the review, hope we see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Graze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.