We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting with superb hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Route Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Route Game Lodge to your Saves list
Garden Route Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting with superb hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

The words "Service", "Accommodating", "Friendliness" and "Amazing" describe my visit to Garden Route Game Lodge the best. Conveniently located right next to the N2 and easy accessible by standard car, makes Garden Route Game Lodge a perfect stop in the Garden Route.

The game drive was amazing and we saw a lot of animals. The guides had good knowledge and answered all the questions pointed at them in style.

Great dining at the local restaurant. Buffet style with a very big variety. The food was excellent and the service was quick and at the highest standards.

If you are looking for comfort, a relaxing atmosphere, great game viewing, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    169
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
170
271
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

By carefully surfing the Internet (at home in the Netherlands) we arranged our own fly-drive vacation trip along part of the beautiful Garden Route in South Africa. About 300 km east of Cape Town we selected to stay 3 nights at the Garden Route Game Lodge that has direct access from the N2 for a normal car (i.e. no long bumpy access road). It provides a fantastic opportunity for game viewing and a relaxed stay in a very friendly and comfortable environment. The rangers expressed a thorough knowledge of the game and commitment to their job.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

What a fantastic experience! I arrived at 4 in the afternoon after a fun filled drive from Cape Town. We loved our room (three of us shared a lodge room). After cooling off in the pool we headed out for our park drive. The driver was very knowledgeble and the ride unforgetable. The animals and plants were truely - well - African, and I took pictures galore. After all that excitement we ate a marvelous meal that was so delicious I didn't have room for desert (tho I got a bite from one of my friends). I had wine with dinner - a rose - and it was just as described by the waitress and very reasonabley priced. After a great nights sleep we got up early for the second game drive and it was even better than the night before. Even breakfast was as great as dinner had been. We skipped the reptile house but went out to the cheatah breeding program and that too was special. With great reluctance we left but my many photos will keep the experience fresh! I truely can't think of anything I did not like!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
787 helpful votes 787 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The animals are certainly out there and the rangers are excellently informed. However, the service on arrival was poor (nobody offered to help with luggage to the rooms with difficult access). The pool area is small and very tatty. The bungalows are very small and although we paid more for the “Watering hole view” it was so far away you couldn’t even make out if it was an Elephant or a Buffalo drinking water. It is very expensive for what it is. There are much better ones out there. Have a look at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge in Oudshoorn. Excellent!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Given the mix of reviews on Tripadvisor- we were not sure what to expect when we arrived at the Garden Route Game Lodge, but it is fair to say we were pleasantly surprised.

We were checked-in in a matter of minutes and then shown to our cracking chalet by a ranger who explained the ins and outs of what we could expect for our two day stay.

The chalet itself felt very private and tranquil and had great views of the reserve and beyond.

We were lucky enough to stay 2 nights and therefore had four game drives with the lovely and super knowledgeable Hannes. Each game drive was completely different and we loved all the random facts!

The pool was amazing, looked like something out of a five star hotel- again it was completely chilled out and serene. The bar and restaurant areas were all decorated authentic yet tastefully.

The food was only area we had a slight niggle about (and this could be due to the 5 star qualities elsewhere). The breakfast was spectacular- with a great variety of food, all very fresh and of high quality. The one lunch we had was lovely. It was the evening meals that let it down slightly. I understand how difficult it must be to cater for everyone’s tastes but we just felt there could have been a little more variety and the serving dishes could have been replenished more often- especially if you arrive for dinner a little later (note to future guests- get there early! :-) )

Overall, this was the highlight of our two week holiday in the Western Cape and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were very excited about taking a safari in Africa since at Argentina, where we come from, we can only see wild animals like the Big 5 in zoos. Garden Route Game Lodge was even better to what we could have ever imagined. The staff was really kind at all times and everybody did his best to make us feel in Heaven. Thank you for such an ever lasting memory!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed in one of the private log cabins and it was gorgeous! We went on 2 game drives and pretty much saw all of the animals (we saw all of the big 5 and all of the ones we went to Africa to see) The food at dinner and breakfast was buffet style and of good quality. But if you want your complimentary drink before the first game drive you really have to push for it. Ranger Tracy was very knowledgeable about all of the animals and very helpful in answering any questions anyone had. The whole experience was truly unique, I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Route Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.