We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with Big 5!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Route Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Garden Route Game Lodge to your Saves list
Garden Route Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Rate - R 3790/nt
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place with Big 5!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is situated near Mossel Bay on the Garden Route and is a very beautiful place. If you go on a game drive, you will be able to see many animals including the Big 5(Game drives are usually twice a day, and it is spectacular!) We stayed in a family lodge room for our stay and it is very nice and cosy, with some DSTV channels, a microwave and a fridge, not to mention an aircon. The bathrooms in all the rooms are extremely nicely decorated and look very beautiful. The staff and all the tourguides are very nice and helpful. I enjoyed my stay and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    135
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
145
211
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 'room' was a little hut on the outskirts of the lodge. There is nothing like waking up to the sound of zebra and wildebeest. Safaris were early morning and evening and you were free to do all or none. The big cats and elephants were rescue animals. There were also cheetahs, antelope and rhinos (mum and baby) and giraffe. The food was awesome. The meat was cooked fresh on a brai (bbq) and there was a good selection of wine. During the day you could sunbathe, there was a conservation tour of cheetahs, a reptile house and down the hill was an observation hut. Well worth the money although the stories of how they aquired some of the animals are quite sad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This lodge was a big disappointment. The rooms tiny but more importantly are old and uncomfortable. The staff was probably the most unfriendly I have come across during my travels in South Africa and the food was terrible. The views are beautiful and the drives were alright but the lodge feels more catered for mass tourism than the individual. Will not be going back there again. With all the choices that there are in this country the Garden Route Lodge really has to step up and clean up their act.

Room Tip: We had rooms in both areas, the individual huts are tiny and uncomfortable but have beautiful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good place, excellent game guides, food good, service a bit slow at times but always friendly.
Lots to do and see. The game drives were good and ost informative, the reptile centre is worthwhile seeing as is the Cheetah conservancy. highlights for the children were holding the snake and feeding the elephants
would go again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night en route back to Cape Town and wished we had stayed an extra night.

The service is brilliant. From the second you enter the gate it is visable everywhere.

Great food, excellent wine list. Lovely quiet rooms. I think a mini-fridge and ine glasses ould have made them perfect!

I would like to go again - but for longer! Great for birds!!! The lodge area has little trails and you can walk all over which I loved.

My only "gripe" was the Lions. Being and avid Kruger goer I was very disapointed in the lion "enclosure". They are kept separate to the other animals and are fed (they do not hunt). They were VERY VERY overweight and bored. The male lion actually attempted to charge the landrover which the guide said was indeed boredom. The guide, Cornie, managed the situation very well and all the guests were at ease. We were not in any danger.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids book a chalet. The other rooms are very close to the play area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our next stop after leaving Montague was 3 days at the Garden Route Game Lodge. Having never stayed at a game lodge before did not know what to expect. We were blown away........ the service was excellent the cabins or lodges, not sure what to call them were small but more than adequate for the two of us. The buffet meals breakfast and dinner 5 star, could not be better, Hazel is a vegetarian and had no problem with food, they even had free range eggs which pleased her. We took two morning drives and two evening drives, I think we got to see more animals with the evening drive.......... maybe I was still asleep in the morning. My highlight of the stay was to walk with the cheeta. Will we be back...... we were so impressed with all of SA planning our next trip started before this one ended.
Next stop - Gango Caves!!!

Room Tip: All the mini-lodges have a small patio and offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge from 24 June to 26 June 2013. A wonderful family experience. The kids where given there free gifts on arrival. The service was prompt, professional and all our needs where attended to. The fact that the whole family was able to enjoy the games was amazing. My 4 year old son didn't complain once about getting up early at 6.30am for a drive or the the fact that the drive was 2 hours long. Our ranger Tracey was also exceptional and catered for our every need. The rangers knowledge was also a bargin which kept the kids entertained. The sherry and hot fires after the drives was a wonderful touch. Even though the lights went off during dinner time, my son just mentioned that the lodge had used to much electricity for the day. But the lights where promptly restored and we continued on. I would definitely recommend the Game Lodge to families with kids. Well done Garden Route Game Lodge. Trichelle Green-Thompson (Cape Town)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Route Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.