We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Route Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Route Game Lodge to your Saves list
Garden Route Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Rate - R 3790/nt
cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Three night break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good place, excellent game guides, food good, service a bit slow at times but always friendly.
Lots to do and see. The game drives were good and ost informative, the reptile centre is worthwhile seeing as is the Cheetah conservancy. highlights for the children were holding the snake and feeding the elephants
would go again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    141
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
150
221
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night en route back to Cape Town and wished we had stayed an extra night.

The service is brilliant. From the second you enter the gate it is visable everywhere.

Great food, excellent wine list. Lovely quiet rooms. I think a mini-fridge and ine glasses ould have made them perfect!

I would like to go again - but for longer! Great for birds!!! The lodge area has little trails and you can walk all over which I loved.

My only "gripe" was the Lions. Being and avid Kruger goer I was very disapointed in the lion "enclosure". They are kept separate to the other animals and are fed (they do not hunt). They were VERY VERY overweight and bored. The male lion actually attempted to charge the landrover which the guide said was indeed boredom. The guide, Cornie, managed the situation very well and all the guests were at ease. We were not in any danger.

Room Tip: If you don't have kids book a chalet. The other rooms are very close to the play area and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our next stop after leaving Montague was 3 days at the Garden Route Game Lodge. Having never stayed at a game lodge before did not know what to expect. We were blown away........ the service was excellent the cabins or lodges, not sure what to call them were small but more than adequate for the two of us. The buffet meals breakfast and dinner 5 star, could not be better, Hazel is a vegetarian and had no problem with food, they even had free range eggs which pleased her. We took two morning drives and two evening drives, I think we got to see more animals with the evening drive.......... maybe I was still asleep in the morning. My highlight of the stay was to walk with the cheeta. Will we be back...... we were so impressed with all of SA planning our next trip started before this one ended.
Next stop - Gango Caves!!!

Room Tip: All the mini-lodges have a small patio and offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge from 24 June to 26 June 2013. A wonderful family experience. The kids where given there free gifts on arrival. The service was prompt, professional and all our needs where attended to. The fact that the whole family was able to enjoy the games was amazing. My 4 year old son didn't complain once about getting up early at 6.30am for a drive or the the fact that the drive was 2 hours long. Our ranger Tracey was also exceptional and catered for our every need. The rangers knowledge was also a bargin which kept the kids entertained. The sherry and hot fires after the drives was a wonderful touch. Even though the lights went off during dinner time, my son just mentioned that the lodge had used to much electricity for the day. But the lights where promptly restored and we continued on. I would definitely recommend the Game Lodge to families with kids. Well done Garden Route Game Lodge. Trichelle Green-Thompson (Cape Town)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great place to get away for a week-end. Thanks to the chef for keeping my oxtail as I couldnt eat anymore on the first night, the food is delish espcially for a buffet. There is more than enough for kids to keep themselves busy and our game ranger Bryon had all the patience in the world with ours and the others on the vehicle. Nice that they keep families together and those that are not on seperate vehicles so you dont need to worry about moaners. Tops on the wine list (selection & price) aswell as the bar. We stayed in a chalet which although smaller than the lodge rooms was worth it for view. If you have the time make use of the spa for a 2 hour pamper session. My son is already asking when we can go back, my only suggestion would be to have a small selction of the continental breakfast available from 6am as to go on a drive with kids that are hungry means you whining kids half the way.

Room Tip: the vegatation is growning high so the waterhole view is not what you will expect try to get a chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very Nice Experience Safari resort.
In they Way to Cape Town if you plan to go there.

They have many kind of room we stayed in the luxurious one a "Honeymoon Chalet".
Very nice wooden Chalet with all facilities you need with balcony overview of the lagoon & the Safari!
The Chalet including breakfast & Dinner with tow safari Games.
Amazing Dinner in romantic weather with including (Soup, Appetizer, Salad, Choice of 3 Main Dishes & Dessert).
Breakfast including cold Buffet & Hot Breakfast to order !
Free WIFI in the lounge in The Restaurant & the Lobby.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Chalet!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night during our Garden Route tour. This lodge is hard to rate accurately because it excels in one department but disappoints in another. In terms of accommodation the lodge is superb. You stay in individual chalets/rondavels which really are beautiful with high ceilings, thatched roofing, great AC, authentic furnishings and a lovely decked area outside overlooking ‘the bush’. The main buildings (2) housing the bar, lounge and restaurant are also beautifully presented as is the main outdoor area featuring the pool, hot tub and gardens. Truly the quality of the buildings and chalets themselves are excellent.

The food both breakfast and dinner were buffet style but of a high quality and we were impressed with the variety and standard of cuisine on offer.

As you can see, if I was reviewing the lodge as a stand alone hotel then it would score highly. However, it is not simply a stand alone hotel and instead markets itself as a ‘safari experience’. Having done true safaris both in Sabi and the Timbavati in the past, this experience is nothing more than a well orchestrated zoo or safari park.

There is nothing wrong with this fundamentally and clearly it must suit some people’s criteria as it is doing very well. Perhaps like us, you simply need an overnight stop along the garden route and fancy a change from the usual guest house experience. Or perhaps you don’t have time to venture to Kruger or it’s surrounds. Or if you have no prior safari experience to compare it to and are on a limited budget then it may be of interest you. However please be aware before booking that this is far from the real deal in terms of what a true African safari adventure is all about. If you are going to go all the way to Africa I suggest you think seriously before booking this to tick the safari element box... I will concede it has certain similarities with a true safari: The guides are knowledable, you do 2 games drives per day (early morning and late afternoon) you do so in an open top vehicle and yes you will see animals.

However the park is fenced and in terms of the lions/elephants in particular, I believe ‘caged’ is more appropriate terminology. The lions (2) are kept separate from the game and ‘fed’ by the rangers. The elephants (2) are also kept separate from the rest of the animals. Trust me when I say, if any ranger ever utters the words to you ‘ok now we will go and see the lions’ or ‘ok now we will go and watch the elephants’ then it’s a million miles from the feeling or magical experience of stumbling across these wonderful creatures randomly in their true natural environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Route Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.