We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearest to a safari experience down near the Cape” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Route Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Route Game Lodge to your Saves list
Garden Route Game Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nearest to a safari experience down near the Cape”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Stayed at a lodge room with a friend for one night (don't think about staying any longer... how many game drives can you endure?). It was well-furnished with a TV, en-suite bathroom and some old wooden furniture. All the lodge rooms face out on to a wooden porch/walkway which connects to the main lodge, and the view isn't outstanding but it is overlooking the rest of the resort. Parking is of course free. The evening drive leaves at 5pm in a Land Rover jeep holding 10 people, and the morning one leaves at 7:15am. Since this is really a safari in a big enclosure, you will see the animals you paid to see. They have a few zebras, 2 giraffes, 2 rhinos, 5 lions, etc so you have an idea of numbers here. Dinner is a buffet-style feast with some game and soups, salads, dessert. Local schoolkids are also brought in to 'entertain' us with dances in return for a donation to their school. In the evening, the bar is open, otherwise you can use the spa, swimming pool, or selection of board games. They also have a reptile house, with a few poisonous snakes and an alligator. At 11am there is a cheetah walk-in enclosure trip but we didn't stay for that due to time constraints. All in all, it was a new experience, but only if you can't do a true safari at the other end of the country.

  • Liked — Does what it says - shows you wild animals
  • Disliked — Artificial, not the best service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    169
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
170
271
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We drove from cape town, all suffering from hangovers, but it was a nice drive, wonderful scenery
We arrived at 4pm, were greeted by one of the rangers who gave us a tour and showed us to our chalet.
The chalet was lovely, although it got really cold later that night.
We were dissappointed by the lack of animals, BUT we had a really good guide, Jonathon who had a twinkle in his eye and assured us of his Irish roots from generations back when we got a bit nervous from the closeness of the rhinos to our Jeep!
We all felt sorry for the solitary elephant who was enclosed on his own.
It was a nice stay but would like to definatly go to a proper game reserve next time.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

We visited the garden route game lodge because we felt we couldn't visit South Africa without seeing some of it's wildlife.

As another reviewer did mention, this was not authentic as the Eastern Cape is not natural safari territory, however you did get to see the "Big Five" and a range of other animals close up in a reasonably natural environment and with knowledgeable and friendly guides.

The lodge is spacious and comfortable, and the facilities are fairly good for 3* accomodation.

My only objection was the "traditional african feast" that was billed as the evening meal. Having eaten in other "authentic" outlets, I believe this was far from African. The meal started with carrot soup and pasta and apart from the surroundings, I would have felt I was back in Europe.

  • Liked — The fact it was in a game reserve
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

they call this a game lodge well 1 elephant 2 rhino 2 giraffe antelope zebra and the elusive lions yes we saw them from a hide with binoculars it was a shame as the manager is a true gentleman the accomodation was fine and the food good but i went to see animals and this place does not deliver

  • Liked — good sized rooms
  • Disliked — not as advertised
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed at this hotel on our way back from Knysa. Very impressive website and when you pull up to the place it lives up to it dream. The hotel offers a choice of room. We had the main hotel room which was very large with a massive bed. It was very dark and i was unsure with it being next to the bar just how noisy it would be, room 8, neither bothered us.

The game drive is done by really nice people, ours was so so cold it was unreal. We were out for a least two hours and we saw everthing. David the manager, had laid on Sherry by the open fire when we got back.

Dinner is to die for, hot and locally cooked. We got there at lunch time and saw the ladies cooking all afternoon and when you see it all laid out at night time you can understand why they spent all after noon cooking it. As an English group David sits you pritty much with people that you can chat with over dinner, which i thought was a nice touch. They sponsor a local school which did some African dancing mid dinner and we gave 50rand which was a small price to pay as to see the children dancing with such welcoming smiles was worth it.

Morning game drive, take the hot water bottle out of your room!!! Go and get a coffee before you start off. Then back for breakfast, again excellent.

Its says no private drinks to be taken into the game lodge, we thought that this was so you brought there very over priced wines. Not the case at all. David has put together an excellent wine list and its cheap compared to uk prices. A bottle of red infront of the open fire eating our lunch was the start there for us.

Its not as grand as the other big places, but its personnal and food is excellent and its left me wanting to go back.

Well done guys.

  • Liked — The game drive
  • Disliked — Cold
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

A magical spot on the Garden Route. Stayed one night on route along the garden route and was amazed by the wildlife....an opportunity to see Africa's wonderful game without having to travelling far to the private game reserves. Knowledgeable game rangers, friendly and hospitable environment with lovely, clean accomodation. Well worth a visit!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Have stayed at the lodge on a number of occassions and will keep going back, its within striking distance of Outshoorn (Ostrich riding) - the staff are friendly, the prices reasonable and the huge feast of a dinner and the individual thatched rondawel/chalets are good value!

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Route Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.