We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and pricey.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arxontiko Kimis

Save Saved
You added Arxontiko Kimis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arxontiko Kimis
14 Athinwn street, Kymi 34003, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Kymi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude and pricey.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stop by to inquire about room availability. Dealt with Mrs Chalkidi, the owner. She was unpolite and unwilling to help in any way.

There was a room available and we were willing to book it, planning to check in the next day, even though we were not allowed to see it since the hotel was full. Mrs Chalkidis asked us for one day's deposit paid in cash, even though the hotel accepts credit cards and the cc mashine was right next to her. She said she did not know how to use it! We asked her if she wanted to try, she refused and told us that only cash would be available.

We left and booked elsewhere. Found her behaviour unacceptable and the hotel pricy (45 E for a double with street view, where a hotel by the sea, with see view and infinity pool at Kimi harbour charges only 70E).

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We visited the traditional mansion (Arxontiko Kimis) a month ago. We had only few days available and Kymi is an ideal place, very close to Athens (150 km from Athens) that combines sea and mountain both and is very well-known about the fresh fish.

Our stay in Arxontiko Kimis was excellent as we were staying in a room with sea view. So we had the chance to relax, even if you do not visit sea for swimming, as the breathtaking view was travelling you away.

Every day Mrs Maria Chalkidi and her husband were serving the breakfast in our room. The very strong breakfast that they serve, keeps you full until 3p.m.!!!!! The menu contains bread, butter, honey, milk, coffee, orange juice, toast with bio-burger and sauce or salmon and tomato(taste it, you will remember me!), cakes, small cheese-pies.

Kymi has small beaches and also gives you the opportunity to pass across with a boat to Skiros Island.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view (Amfithea, Kimothoi) and enjoy the quiet and your evening coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in August 2010 (I chose 2011 as TA does not allow earlier entries) and had a beautiful overall experience. I don't remember our room's name but it was opposite the reception & breakfast area. The room was elegantly decorated and had a wonderful view of the area and the sea in the background. The bathroom was spacious.
It is a family managed hotel with polite and friendly personnel although their efforts to help us were a bit overwhelming. Directly outside our room was the small breakfast area and it was a bit uncomfortable to open the door and find the other guests starring at us. A room divider just outside the entrance would do miracles! Special attention was payed in breakfast with local fresh materials and different choices every morning. Overall I would recommend this hotel, it is obvious that the owners have worked consistently in an effort to create and run it always respecting the finest of local architecture and tastes!
Kymi is a beautiful place to spend a relaxing weekend!

Room Tip: Having a front room with a view is definitely worth it especially during the summer time when one ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arxontiko Kimis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arxontiko Kimis

Address: 14 Athinwn street, Kymi 34003, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Kymi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kymi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Arxontiko Kimis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arxontiko Kimis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.