We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a crown of Jewels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Loutro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Porto Loutro to your Saves list
Hotel Porto Loutro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 73011, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loutro
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem in a crown of Jewels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Loutro is a beautiful place to relax and soak up the sun. the porto loutro Hotel has 2 parts - 1 up on the hill with a fantastic view over the bay. the other in the middle of the bay right on the beach.
The English born operator, Alison, is helpful and runs a good hotel. Clean and comfortable with everything that you need.

Room Tip: If you intend to spend a lot of time relaxing on a sun lounge and do not like steps then stay at Por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    23
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loutro is a wonderful pearl on the Crete south coast and Hotel Porto is a premier choice. Not only because it is the very first spot you find after you step off the ferry but also because it is probably the most atmospheric and tasteful place in this little car free village.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here as part of a two centre package with Sunville with this as our second week.

The start could have been a disaster with bad weather preventing our ferry transfer but Sunville got us to the nearest port by road and Allison, the hotel's owner fixed, the rest with taxi boat to get our luggage to the hotel (too rough for normal mortals but our cases didn't mind) and jeep plus a short hike in (Allison sent a party over to make sure we found our way) to get us there! We were welcomed heartily and the friendly nature of the experience just got better from there. All the staff looked after us and the place's atmosphere means all the guests seemed sociable too - there were some many time returners here and we can understand why!

Allison has done a great job with the hotel rooms - they're simple, Greek style but comfortable, all very clean and well fitted out with white walls and marble floors. Our room (#8) was on the top floor and looked out over the bay with the mountains on either side. We're not beach fiends - preferring the sunny balcony - but sunbeds, umbrellas and beach towels are available. Rooms face east (the whole village does!) so you won't get afternoon sun or a sunset but its beautiful enough even without that. There's no pool but with the sea 5 metres from the front door, who needs one? The included breakfast (on B&B rates) is simple and we thought it was good value although there aren't any cooked options which some might regret. Still with the restaurants and cafes around going hungry isn't going to be your problem. Some reviews have pointed out that the hotel charges for Internet (although there bars and tavernas where its free) but on the other hand use of the safe and aircon is included in the room rate -something we've been charged for in plenty of places.

Room Tip: We think the rooms on the upper floor have the (slightly) better view. #8 was just beside the bar wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Budleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Louro is the place for a quiet relaxing holiday - nothing to do except walk, eat, swim and wind down and the Hotel Porto Loutro is just the place to stay. The place is laid back and homely, no rush, no bother and the view from the balcony is wonderful. Everyone is helful and welcoming and all they want is for you to enjoy their gem as much as they do..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerani, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Decided on a girlie few days away from the humdrum of everyday life and ended up in Porto Loutro with two friends. Loutro has no cars....it's just a scenic bay of beach and sea.... lined with tavernas and hotels ....the waters edge was all but a few metres from our Porto Loutro front door! What more can a girl ask for? Hotel was perfect in every way ... Great staff, full of information...clean and quiet ....thoroughly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a laid back retreat in a tranquil jaw dropping setting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sophia and Manolis and not forgetting Harry(the Labrador)make this the best Hotel in Loutro.
Views,Restaurant and staff are some of the best that we have come across having been traveling to all corners of the world.
Rooms are large and airy with small balconies,air conditioning,refrigerators flat screen tv together with wifi.
If you want peace without cars and loads of people and funfairs you must come to Hotel Porto Loutro On The Hill Anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We tried to stay here twice during a 3-month trip to Crete. The first time I e-mailed inquiring about several different dates in mid-September that we could come, it took 3-4 days to get a reply from the owner saying none of the possible dates were available. I tried e-mailing again about possible availability during October, but the owner never responded at all. So beware if you're trying to plan a trip to Loutro. There are lots of other places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porto Loutro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Loutro

Address: Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 73011, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porto Loutro 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Porto Loutro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Loutro Hotel
Porto Loutro Crete
Hotel Porto Loutro Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Loutro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.