We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Akrogiali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loutro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taverna Akrogiali
Save
You added Taverna Akrogiali to your Saves list
Lykos-Loutro | Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 73011, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Loutro B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I hesitate to write this review, as by promoting this idylic place I'm likely to contribute to its expansion and possible alteration. Ho hum. Pavlos, Costas, their sister and parents provide travellers with a simple, relaxed taverna where you can really unwind. Everyone is anxious to ensure you are happy, and will help plan walks, taxi boats to neighbouring bays, and onward travel etc.

The rooms are simple - our 25 Euro/night version had a (usually) hot shower, loo, bed & balcony. An extra 10 Euro gets A/C and slightly newer decor. Views over the unspoilt bay from our balcony were great - occasional ferries, taxi boats and a few lights from the few other places in the bay.

The food was simple but good. We ate 'in' every evening as walking to neighbouring places would be a bit hairy over the rocky path to Loutro or the 'Old Phoenix' in the next door bay. The menu is pretty basic but its worth asking for other things as they can cook whatever you want given a few hours notice.

We stayed a week and managed to entertain ourselves with the occasional walk to Loutro and a bigger yomp on one day. Otherwise chilling on the rocky beach, reading under the shade of the Tamarisk trees and being smug that we weren't one of the many people walking the entire E4 trail kept us entertained. In early October we had 25-30C every day and the sea was like a bath. Heaven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stayed here one night during our holiday in crete walking the E4 trail. The location is beautiful, in a quiet isolated bay with tables shaded under grape vines right on the beach. The food and service was perfect; Pavlos woke up early to make our lovely breakfast as we wanted to start walking before it got too hot. Very friendly and personable. Would definitely stay here instead of in Loutro which resembled a SAGA holiday resort eager to grab our euros!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We returned here for Easter after our first stay 2 years ago and, if anything, enjoyed it even better. Pavlos and his family offer friendly hospitality, simple good value rooms in a stunning quiet car free location. It's a great base for exploring the local coastline (the E4 coastal footpath goes right past the taverna) mountains and gorges and there are great beaches and swimming spots nearby. The food is simple but delicious and much of it their own including milk, yoghurt, cheese and meat from their sheep and goats and honey from Pavlos's bees. Pavlos will collect you in his boat from the ferry at nearby Loutro (a 20 minute walk away over a headland) or from the bus at Anopoly if it's low season and the ferries aren't running or are infrequent. A real gem of a hideaway if you're looking for peace and quiet, fresh air and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The taverna is away from everything, a genuine place! Great location accessible only by foot or boat, simple comfort, with a/c, large bathroon and your own seaview terrace.

We stayed there for a couple of nights as part of a trekking week. We were welcomed by the 2 brothers in Loutro, who took our luggage by boat to their family taverna, whilst we walk for less than an hour to their family business.

Having stayed in some of the best hotels for work and leisure, eaten in Michelin star restaurants, the quality and simplicity of the welcome, of the food cooked by the mother and daughter from the local ingredients produced by their father was just great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We just got back from a week staying at this lovely taverna - the setting is very quiet (only two hotels on this beach) but it' just a half hour hike over to Loutro which has lots of restaurants. Brilliant service - clean room for 25 euros and then the evening meals and breakfasts are charged separately (reckon on about 12 euros for dinner and 7 for breakfast). Yoghurt and honey, bread and fresh orange juice for breakfast and Pavlos' (the oldest son) mother does a set menu for the evening meal. Day hikes, swimming, renting a canoe in Loutro are the main activities - and lazing around reading a book. Its idyllic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Pavlos will extend a genuinely warm welcome to this family run taverna in a stunning isolated location. We didnt stay here so can't rate the rooms but we ate most days his mother's excellent home cooking of their own local seasonal produce. Good swimming nearby and a great place to base yourselves for the fantastic coastal and mountain walks nearby. And no road! Blissful.

Ben and Neal

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Having kayaked from Loutro we stopped at this lovely taverna with rooms to enquire about staying later during our holiday. A few days later we were met in Loutro by brothers Kostos and Pavlos in their small boat and taken round the headland to Lykos. The taverna has a beautiful location directly by the sea with a terrace shaded by vines. It is a family run business and guests are made to feel warmly welcomed. The pace of life at Lykos is very slow and tranquil and suits those looking to escape the commercialism of many other parts of Crete.If you are looking for Cretan simplicity then this place will suit you. The 8 clean, basic rooms all have balconies facing the sea. We enjoyed long lazy meals with home produced yoghurt, cheese and honey. The walking and snorkelling in this area are wonderful with many paths, pebbly beaches, caves and coves to explore. Nothing is too much trouble and the family are justifiably very proud of their little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taverna Akrogiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taverna Akrogiali

Address: Lykos-Loutro | Sfakia, Loutro, Crete 73011, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Loutro
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Loutro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful location with direct access to sea. On E4 coastal path. All rooms have balcony with sea view. Home produced yoghurt, honey and cheese. Boat taxi service to and from Loutro and local beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Taverna Akrogiali Loutro, Crete, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Akrogiali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.