We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel - looking at going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial

Save Saved
You added Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique B.P. 257, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Houmt Souk
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel - looking at going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Where so I start:

Staff
They are wonderful! So welcoming and happy to help with any issues. Once you get to know a few waiters and bar staff you won't be without a drink

Room
We had an issue with our bungalow not being available - no fault of the hotel. Sorted the next day. The executive bungalow was well worth the extra £56.

Food and drink
Food was fantastic. So much better than any all inclusives I have been to before. A wide selection and a 2 week rolling evening theme schedule. The Tunisian restaurant was lovely.

Excursions
We book quad biking and desert discovery. The quad Biking was excellent. Desert discovery was great. Well worth the early start. Just be aware of people trying to sell you thing and charge you for rides in the dessert.

Local area
The local area is great. Felt very comfortable waking around in the evening. Don't buy from the shop in the hotel - go to a local shop. A bag was 50 dina more expensive in the hotel complex.

Weather
Weather was great but we had a few cloudy days. Next time I would go a few weeks earlier than mid October.

Overall a fantastic holiday in a great hotel. Would definitely return to the same hotel. It is less than 4 hours on a plane from London which means less time travelling and more time to soak up the sun. One last thing - Sandra the Thomson rep was lovely and a great help. She is a credit to Thomson.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    140
    49
    13
    12
See reviews for
229
207
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went on holiday end of September to 11 October 2012. First experience of all inclusive. Really enjoyed it. Very good variety of food. Lots going on but not really aware of the activities, as much or as little you wish to partake in. Not much to do out and about but then our holiday was for complete relaxation, perfect. Not sure how this would be in school holidays if you do not have children ! Jamil - our room attendant was brilliant and enjoyed doing artwork !
The gardner left me little possies every morning which were appreciated.
The spa and massages were brilliant and not overpriced.

Room Tip: Try and get a bunaglow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just got back from magic life Penlope Beach Imperial, Where do i start hotel , staff, beach, food, was absolutly amazing the weather was good for a three hour flight its like being in carribean my only complaint is we can not go back there till May as no flights go from Gatwick till then. hope that changes soon as did most people we spoke to, all said they would go back, so well done all at Penelope for making us feel special. must not forget Sandra Thomson rep she is excelent met lots of nice people also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We came back 2 weeks ago from djerba booked through Thomson. I have to admit I was quite negative about family hotel as I traveled with my girlfriend but I'm impressed the way the hotel has got diffident sections of the hotel for different activities and people so children don't bother you at all as they have their own pool on the other side of the complex and even if music is too loud you can choose hidden pool next to spa center for peace a quiet. There are lots and lots of activities to choose from, every hour something different is taking place from archery to beach ball.
Beach is ok but overcrowded so we did stick to the swimming pool. We've booked 3 excursions but 2 of them provided by Thomson were quite disappointing. Quad biking is a must!
Overall we have had a very good holiday and this is a lovely hotel with good food (especially deserts) and decent size rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here from the 20/09/2012 for 2weeks. We thought rhe hotel room was average with minimum facilities. Excellent that our safe was free. The beach was fantastic. We went on 3 trips which were excellent value for money. The desert discovery trip was a glorified coach trip the highlight was camel riding in the sahara (my camel was the best one of course). Croc park n pirate ship were good. We enjoyed the jet skis several times and had a tradition tunisian treatment in t spa together, pedicure is not recommended. The food was varied and desserts spectacular! The vodka is v unrefined there was a bar in t hotel selling european drinks but they only had 1 bottle of beer, we wanted another but were told they had no more and ni smirnoff vodka either. The service in the resturant was poor on most nights, the al a carte thai place was v good food wise and service. Loungers included on the beach was a plus point. The beach bar serves great toasted sandwiches. The hotel photographers take great pics in n around t hotel but they are expensive if u want a few @£4.00 each, everything else was good value. We loved Djerba and wld return! Beware you will prob b offered a tortoise! It wont survive here i yhave researched it and it is illegal to import (smuggle) it. I was despro for i to make our friends Squiral n Mindy have tort envy, Kurt said no way! So i wasnt allowed. I had even named one Matilda! Kurt and Dinah

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family (2 adults plus kids aged 8 and 3) stayed at Magic Life for a week in early October. The weather was perfect, 29-32 degrees and sunny almost every day. Water temperature also good at 27.

Rooms - we booked a famiy apartment, it was spacious and well laid out. Modern & tastefully decorated, plenty of storage, fridge, 3 TV's. Bathroom was good but the shower leaked, AC was a bit variable. For our family it was great - the kids had a room with 2 singles and we had a huge double bed. Housekeeping was top notch, nice extras like drinks on first day plus flowers on bed.

Check in/reception - had to wait about 30 mins but as we arrived very early in the morning this was no problem; kept well informed and offered welcome drinks. They change money and we booked a car for 100 Euros/day. Exchange rates are fixed.

Beach/pools - excellent, plenty of space, lots of loungers; beach nice sand, good water sports, nice to see camels & horses and few people selling stuff were no hassle. Beach is great for kids, and there's the water slides for older kids and 2 good baby pools for the little ones.

Kids club - we are bilingual (Swiss/English family) but if you don't speak German, the kids club could be tough as it's by far the dominant language. The kids are split into 3-6 years old, 7-11 and teens. The little ones don't seem to have a great programme, spent a lot of time indoors which seems a waste. The programme for the 7-11 year olds was good, with tennis, archery, banana boat, picnics, pizza making etc etc. Our 8 year old loved it, but we couldn't convince our 3 year old to join the little ones, and the adults taking care of the kids didn't do much to interest her in what they were doing. What was great was the evening programme - eat together, film and disco from 6.30-9pm every evening except Monday (no kids club on that day). All the kids are together, so it gives the adults chance to have dinner in peace. The film is in German though.... The people running the kids club are very energetic and friendly.

Entertainment - played volley ball which was fun, there is tons of stuff to do for free but chose to relax.... The magic radio does get on your nerves but can be escaped by going to the pool by the waterslides or on the beach.

Food - found the main restaurant to be rather souless as so big - for the kids it's a bit daunting. Not great for vegetarians, although always salad and good desserts. The alacarte restaurants are part of the all-inclusive deal, but can only be booked between 10-12 at a special booking table in reception, the day before. My husband was there at 10am and already most of the restaurants were booked out - presumably by tour groups. We tried the Tunisian and found it very friendly with a lovely roof top location, a pleasant change from the hectic atmosphere of the main restaurant, and with authentic food (great starters). For lunch, we loved the 'snack around the world' buffet by the waterslides - big choice, available from 12 noon onwards (main restaurant only from 1230) and no dress code, so can go in beach wear.

Island/outings - we booked independently, and if you're not attached to a tour group it's not that obvious what trips are available. We hired a car and visited the crocodile park/heritage village - crocodiles were worth a visit, the heritage village is a bit neglected but still worth a visit, with a good museum attached. We enjoyed a drive round the island and Houmt Souk was good for a late afternoon wander around the covered souk. We also took a taxi on Thursday afternoon (market day) to Midoun, the taxi fare is very cheap (3 dinars) and easy to get a taxi back.

Wellness - had a massage which was good and well priced.

Tipping - we tipped a bit but it didn't seem to make much difference to service; as always if service is good it's nice to spread some money around. Generally, service was in any case friendly and efficient, although not very personal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I returned from this hotel last week. We stayed for 14 nights, and this was definitely not enough time to do everything this hotel has to offer. There were so many activities that you could be active from early in the morning until late at night.

Rooms
We stayed in a standard room which was quite small, but more than adequate for the time we spent in it which was hardly anytime at all, apart from sleeping. The beds are hard, but we got used to it. The air conditioning is not the best, but okay, during our stay it was turned off centrally from 9.00am - 2.00pm.
There are bungalows and suites which are bigger, these can be booked for a small supplement, but we were happy with the location of our room as we had an end room with no one above us. I e-mailed the hotel before our holiday to request a quiet room on the top floor which we were allocated so I was happy.

Pools and beach
There are many pools at the hotel, one to suit everyone. Two activity pools, an aqua park pool with slides etc and a relax pool which, although, not adult only (it should be), did not have any children there during our visit. There was also an indoor pool adjacent to the relax pool. There are not many beds at the relax pool, and during our second week people were reserving them and then not returning for many hours, not Germans, English!!
We spent most of our days on the beach as it was beautiful, lovely sand stretching for miles and miles, and beautiful warm, blue sea. There are two sections of the beach, divided by the beach bar and water sports, the left side was quieter. Yes, there were horses and camels on the beach, but we did not think this was an issue, it was interesting watching them.
The water sports on offer are fantastic, all free, even the banana boat rides. We went para sailing whilst we were there which was not part of the hotel all inclusive, and this was great, only approximately £11 each person. It was well worth the price.

Food
We were very happy with the food in all of the restaurants, some people we spoke to had different opinions, but, everyone has different tastes, so of course, not everyone would like the same things to eat. Go and make your own minds up!!
We stayed at the Magic Life Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh last year, and do think the food was better there, but we still enjoyed the food at the Penelope Beach Hotel. We ate in all of the restaurants, and enjoyed the food in all of them.

Entertainment/ activities
There were many activities, all day long, but there was no pressure to join in with them if you didn't want to.
The evening entertainment was okay, shows and dancing at the amphitheatre every night. There was also a beach party night and a white party night which were good fun.
We spent many nights at the Wunder bar where there was always someone to have a drink and chat with. The bar staff were great there, always knowing what you were drinking before you ordered. We always gave a tip or two, which was appreciated, but not expected.

Excursions
We only went on one trip which was the desert experience. We met another couple who also wanted to do this trip so we went in a mini bus, just the four of us. We are so glad we did this as we did extra things to the bus trip, and there were only ever the four of us at each stop, including the Sahara camel ride, which was excellent. This only cost an extra £11 per couple so well worth it. People we spoke to who went on the bus trip were not as happy as us, and some complained to the rep. It is a long day, about 12 hours, so I can imagine on a bus with 20 - 30 others it could be difficult.

Spa
The treatments in the spa are definitely worth thinking about. I had two massages, which were great, and only £22 each. Many people had different treatments, and everyone we spoke to were pleased with the quality and the price.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday, the weather was fantastic with temperatures in the high 30s most days. The manager told us that usually the temperatures drop to the high 20s from about the 10th September, but, this year the temperatures and humidity were exceptional.
We met some lovely people, Simone and Graham, Rich and Jackie, Kirsty and Ryan, all the Kent crew and Brenda and Brian - Thanks to them for their great company.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, families, couples and friends. If you are a couple like us and don't want 100s of children around then I would suggest avoiding the months of July and August as I can imagine it is very popular with families because of the great activities.

For the money we paid to stay at this hotel for 14 nights it was fantastic value for money. Thank you Magic Life.

Room Tip: A top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial

Address: Zone Touristique B.P. 257, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 Family Hotel in Houmt Souk
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Houmt Souk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Houmt Souk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial Hotel Houmt Souk
Magic Life Hotel Djerba
Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Magic Life Penelope Beach Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.