We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houmt Souk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Zina
Save
You added Dar Zina to your Saves list
Quartier Taourit, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Houmt Souk B&B and Inns
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Many of the previous reviews capture the way we also felt. If you are looking for an alternative to the large, impersonal hotels with a high price located in the Tourist Zone along the beach, then give Dar Zina a try. For my wife and I, it was a great "local" stay with good food, a beautiful suite room (1st floor), and great hospitality. Our room was large with a beautiful bedroom area, a sitting area, and a large bathroom. Everything was very clean, plenty of hot water, good wifi connection, and a good mattress. For meals, you had the option to eat in the inner courtyard (with their pet turtle) or inside the house in the dining room. The breakfasts were excellent and were different each day. For dinner, you had the option to eat at the B&B or walk into town. The dinners we had at Dar Zina were well cooked and plentiful. And, for what you got, were reasonably priced.
If this wasn't enough, our stay included a "hostess" that made sure that we were taken care of each day. Her name is Meriem, and she made our stay extraordinary. She ate dinner with us the night we arrived and answered the many questions we had about the Island. Each morning she ate breakfast with us and gave us recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. We got to know her quite well and learned a lot from her about Tunisian life. She is upbeat, humorous, and well spoken in English and French. She accompanied us several times into Houmt Souk to see the fish auction or help my wife and I with buying souvenirs and jewelry at a reasonable rate.
The location of the B&B is about a 15 minute walk into town and is safe day and night. The walk gave us a pretty good perspective of local Djerban life. If you wanted to go to the beach for the day, a taxi ride costs 5 or 6 dinar each way and took about 5 to 10 minutes depending which hotel beach you were going to (some hotels allow you to use their beach and some don't/check before you go).
We were fortunate to have made the choice to stay in town and have a colorful and memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

200 characters is not enough to describe what a great time we had. We arrived late, feeling tired and a bit stressed but straight away we were invited into their home as long lost friends! It just got better and better from there; Eric and Halima were perfect hosts! After a delicious breakfast including pancakes Eric took us and their other 2 guests on a tour around the best of Houmt Souk including the fish auction!
We all had a great meal together that evening also!
Our next destination was Tozeur via an overnight in the desert (a tour which we had not yet booked). Failing our ability to find a suitable tour Eric kindly took us 180km to his friend's amazing underground desert homestay (Au Trait D'Union in Matmata). A truly unique place to stay! Eric also then had booked us a guide for our onward journey the next day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you want to experience the local Djerba culture rather than simply soak the sun on the beach, Dar Zina is a great option. The traditional Tunisian house turned into bed and breakfast is owned by Eric and Halima, a very friendly and helpful Tunisian/Belgian couple. They both went to great lengths to make us feel at home and they conveyed a genuine desire to showcase the attractions of the island and the local cuisine and culture. We were offered a delicious Tunisian meal in the whitewashed breezy patio (alcoholic beverages were available for an additional cost). Breakfast was abundant and included savory and sweet items together with the characteristic mint tea. Eric took us on a tour of the island in his own vehicle where we visited an interesting ethnographic museum, the famous historic synagogue, a Western beach off the beaten path, potteries, catacombs and an underground mosque. He also took us on a tour of the souk (free of charge) where he pointed out the best shops to buy crafts. He helped us book and arrange our return trip by helping us navigate the multiple travel options, taking us to the reservations agency and allowing us to use his phone. Overall you had the impression that our stay was not “business as usual” for him, but also an occasion to socialize with his guests and to share his passion for the island. The rooms were tastily decorated and comfortable and the neighborhood is very quiet. You only hear the muezzin and no street noises as Dar Zina is quite removed from the main road. Since we were traveling with 2 children they charged us an extra for one of the 2 children but also allowed us to spread onto two rooms at no extra cost. The bed and breakfast is walking distance to the downtown/Souk area (a safe 10 min walk). The couple knows a trusted taxi driver who drove us to the beautiful beach a 10 min drive away from Dar Zina. They also arrange trips to the main land. They own many cats and dogs and are, as a consequence, pet friendly when it comes to their customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

just come back from a weekend in Houmt Souk in Djerba, Tunisia. Enjoy staying with the super friendly hosts who really make you at home in their traditional guesthouse, together with whitewashed walls and the typical blue shutters. The bedrooms have been fitted out stylishly with terracotta floor tiles. Lovely breakfasts and home made evening meals made from local ingredients. Loved the stay. The location great for exploring the town and Eric the owner is very happy to show you the local artisans he has discovered whilst living in Djerba.

Room Tip: All rooms have air condition. One room on higher level with steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Dar Zina. The owners were so welcoming and hospitable, yet also left you at arm's length if that's what you preferred.
We lingered in the mornings enjoying the delicious and plentiful breakfasts and when we did have dinner there we felt very much at home and enjoyed the chat as well as the food.
The room was tastefully decorated, with plenty of cupboard space and bathroom amenities.
We spent some of our stay visiting places with one of the hosts who showed us the 'local' places away from the mass tourist sites. When we did go to places on our own, he was also a wealth of information with local tips.
I would highly recommend Dar Zina to travellers looking for a taste of the local culture and and traditional Djerban living.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks a lot Amanda.
Regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Dar Zina is a beautiful home with 4 delightfully decorated rooms of a gorgeous white-washed courtyard. The hostess and her family are very welcoming. The home-cooking each morning is delicious with plenty of variety. The atmosphere is relaxed, but the hosts are very happy to talk about Tunisia, it's culture, it's history, and even take you around the town, pointing out the architecture and traditions. The hostess helpfully speaks numerous languages.
We would definately go back!

Can be difficult to find initially. We would recommend arranging with the hosts to be collected from airport/bus terminus, as only a few taxi drivers know where Dar Zina is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The first thing to say is that of your idea of holiday heaven is sitting on the beach at Djerba's tourist zone, lathered in oil and cooking like a lobster , then Hamt Souk and Dar Zina probably aren’t for you. If however you want to experience life in a nice little Tunisian seaside town, in a restored traditional home, then look no further.

Dar Zina is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town but isn’t easy to find. Make sure you get directions from Eric, the Belgian owner. We got to within 100 yards of the house with the directions he sent us but we then had to call him to come and find us. Some signs on the road would be useful to help with navigation.

You enter the house up a dusty backstreet.surrounded by locals houses and through a large wooden door. This takes you into the kitchen and then through to the peaceful, whitewashed courtyard which is where the 3 rooms are. All are traditionally and simply decorated with large wood framed beds and shuttered windows with good insect screens. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was hot and had good water pressure. Theres a nice roof terrace with a fruit tree providing shade to sit and relax at the end of a hot day. I can’t remember whether our room had A\C but we didn’t need it and we stayed in June when the daytime temperatures were in the high 30’s.

You really feel like you’re staying in a real Tunisian home staying at Dar Zina, and that’s because you are! Eric and his Tunisian partner Hamina made us welcome like old friends. They spent time advising us where to go and what to see, which roads to take etc. They also provided a delicious home made breakfast which they sat and ate with us each day. Expect to be joined by other members of their family - 2 dogs, a cat and a tortoise!

Eric and Hamina offered to cook dinner for us on an evening but we prefer to experience the local nightlife so went into Hamt Souk town. We found a nice restaurant near the Souk called L’isle and I can recommend the food, and wine!

In summary, if you want to visit Djerba but stay away from the tourist zone and stay in a comfortable,clean, traditional house then Dar Zina is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
thanks a lot for your comment on our house. Unfortunately it is not allowed to have sign on the road for a B&B but we will make it as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zina

Address: Quartier Taourit, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Houmt Souk
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in Djerba in a typical house (riad) near of the city center and 500m far from the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Zina Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.