We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really made to feel 'at home'.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zina

Save Saved
You added Dar Zina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zina
Quartier Taourit, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Houmt Souk B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really made to feel 'at home'.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Dar Zina is a beautiful home with 4 delightfully decorated rooms of a gorgeous white-washed courtyard. The hostess and her family are very welcoming. The home-cooking each morning is delicious with plenty of variety. The atmosphere is relaxed, but the hosts are very happy to talk about Tunisia, it's culture, it's history, and even take you around the town, pointing out the architecture and traditions. The hostess helpfully speaks numerous languages.
We would definately go back!

Can be difficult to find initially. We would recommend arranging with the hosts to be collected from airport/bus terminus, as only a few taxi drivers know where Dar Zina is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The first thing to say is that of your idea of holiday heaven is sitting on the beach at Djerba's tourist zone, lathered in oil and cooking like a lobster , then Hamt Souk and Dar Zina probably aren’t for you. If however you want to experience life in a nice little Tunisian seaside town, in a restored traditional home, then look no further.

Dar Zina is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town but isn’t easy to find. Make sure you get directions from Eric, the Belgian owner. We got to within 100 yards of the house with the directions he sent us but we then had to call him to come and find us. Some signs on the road would be useful to help with navigation.

You enter the house up a dusty backstreet.surrounded by locals houses and through a large wooden door. This takes you into the kitchen and then through to the peaceful, whitewashed courtyard which is where the 3 rooms are. All are traditionally and simply decorated with large wood framed beds and shuttered windows with good insect screens. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was hot and had good water pressure. Theres a nice roof terrace with a fruit tree providing shade to sit and relax at the end of a hot day. I can’t remember whether our room had A\C but we didn’t need it and we stayed in June when the daytime temperatures were in the high 30’s.

You really feel like you’re staying in a real Tunisian home staying at Dar Zina, and that’s because you are! Eric and his Tunisian partner Hamina made us welcome like old friends. They spent time advising us where to go and what to see, which roads to take etc. They also provided a delicious home made breakfast which they sat and ate with us each day. Expect to be joined by other members of their family - 2 dogs, a cat and a tortoise!

Eric and Hamina offered to cook dinner for us on an evening but we prefer to experience the local nightlife so went into Hamt Souk town. We found a nice restaurant near the Souk called L’isle and I can recommend the food, and wine!

In summary, if you want to visit Djerba but stay away from the tourist zone and stay in a comfortable,clean, traditional house then Dar Zina is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
thanks a lot for your comment on our house. Unfortunately it is not allowed to have sign on the road for a B&B but we will make it as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very nice house, quiet, well decorated, furnished with care and taste.
Warm and friendly hosts, very available and full of knowledge & good tips about the Tunisian experience.
More than anything, the food was the best in all Tunisia : delicate spicies, full of taste and character, a discovery of very different meals (the way Halima is preparing the tajine is superb).
If coming back to Tunisia, this will .be the first place to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darzina, Propriétaire at Dar Zina, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Sven,
Thanks a lot for this article on our house
Best regards

Eric & Halima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zina

Address: Quartier Taourit, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4180, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Houmt Souk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Houmt Souk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in Djerba in a typical house (riad) near of the city center and 500m far from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Zina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zina Djerba Island, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.