We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couscous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Haroun

Ristorante Haroun
Fishing ports La Marsa, Houmt Souk, Djerba Island 4.180, Tunisia
+ 216 75 650 488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Houmt Souk
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely couscous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate Couscous. The fish couscous was very good the couscous royale was less interesting.

The portions were very large: we ordered four dishes, one each, three would have been enough between four people (who normally eat a lot) maybe even two but as the prices were very reasonable so it didn't matter too much except for the waste. The wine was not very interesting.

It was after high season when we went so it was rather quiet but the atmosphere was good and the service friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overton, United Kingdom
1 review
“great location, mediocre cuisine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant has a great setting on the waters edge at the port of Houmt Souk, it's been here for the past 30 years or so and as far as the decor goes it gets better all the time BUT dont think you can get a gourmet meal here , it just isn't going to happen....even the wine waiter doesn't know what he has in his wine cellar.The food especially the seafood menu is a lot less tastier than the other local restaurants situated around the island. It is pricey compared to other places serving wine with the meal.Basic fare with little effort made, i had a "Coupe Haroun" for dessert which comprised of a fresh fruit salad and vanilla icecream....totally tasteless. The service was good and fast too bad about the fare.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“With claims”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I revues few restaurants this 8-day tour trough Tunisia since many of the restaurants were roadside, without history, or very bad.
The ratings are not in absolute value compared to restaurants in Europe for example, where I am more demanding, or even in Morocco, so close, where there are fabulous restaurants, but in relative value, to help those who want to go to Tunisia to find at least some nice places to eat.
I note that we didn´t manage to dine at any of the restaurants recommend in Tunis because we were there twice at Sunday and they were closed.

Within this principle this was the most beautiful place where we had dinner. A replica of the deck of a boat is a restaurant with pretensions to a higher quality. In service we already noticed more concern and professionalism, though it had faults (when the claim is greater we demand more). The food, Tunisian, ( we choose fish and seafood), was eatable ( what i liked more was the soup ), although the quality of the fish (which was fresh) and seafood was not fantastic. Portuguese is much better so we were disappointed.
Again Tunisian wine we drank with pleasure.
A pleasant evening with live music, although a bit expensive for Tunisian prices (65 euros for two).

And is better to reserve, the nigth we went there it was full.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood meal in lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We picked this restaurant after reading previous reviews on here and it was very good.

The food was very fresh and tasty, although seemed a little pricey by Tunisian standards. However the cost is probably a reflection of the location, which is beautiful. We managed to get a table on the edge next to the water and watched a beautiful sunset. When we ate it was very quiet, so there wasn't much of an atmosphere, but I imagine it's very lively when busy.

Service from the staff was good, and they were happy to call a taxi for us after the meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I'm veggie, so can't really speak to whether the food is really the best in Djerba (it's hard to mess up veggie couscous), but we did enjoy our dinner here sitting oustide along the water. The restaurant was pretty empty while we were there, so I was surprised how hard it was to get someone's attention to get our check (had to go hunt them down, stood in the middle of dining room at one point but I was ignored), hence the four stars.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Haroun also viewed

Houmt Souk, Djerba Island
Midoun, Djerba Island
 
Djerba Island, Medenine Governorate
 

Been to Ristorante Haroun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Haroun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.