We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varvara Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Varvara Apartments to your Saves list
Varvara Apartments
Peroulades, Peroulades 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peroulades
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was on Corfu in August 2012. I booked another accomodation (Marianna appartments -> next door to Varvara). Marianna accomodation was terrible so we were trying to find another place to stay for 5 nights. Luckily, Varvara had one appartment free.
Varvara people were very nice and friendly.
The 4 people appartment had 2 big bedrooms, big kitchen and beautiful bathroom.
Every room has balcony (my room acctualy had two balconies :) ).
The pool is also very nice. And the greek coffee at the bar is excellent.
We were very happy with this accomodation and I would recommend this to anyone.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Went to the Varvara in August 2011 for one week. Lovely location nice and quiet, good sized pool, plenty of sun loungers. Bar served reasonably priced food that was really tasty.
We had a studio for the three of us, which was alright maybe a bit small teenagers take up a lot of room! but we had two balconies.
The owners we really friendly even stopped up till 1.45 to see us off.
Going back in August for two weeks this time in a two bedroom apartment, cait wait.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we first arrived we werent greeted at all by any of the apts staff. Our apt was not what i expected. It was very dirty. The kitchen was so basic and we couldnt really cook as everything was dirty. We even had to ask for out towels to be changed even though it said they were changed weekly. On the second last day the cleaner had a go at me after i handed my questionaire to the tour rep and he showed the apt staff. I was giving my opinion of the apts and the cleanliness overall. We will never be using Olympic Holidays again and would not reccomend these apts to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

When we first saw our apartment our 1st thought was how basic it was, however it was clean and spacious and had what we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stay more enjoyable. Sofia kept our apartment clean as well as changing the bedding and towels.The pool area was spotless and there were plenty of sun beds. Jasmine makes delicious homemade food at a reasonable price and even gave me a cooking lessson on a Greek speciality! It was a 5 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and about 20 minutes to get into Sidari where there is a lovely beach, plenty of shops, restaurants and bars to choose from. You can decide if you want a relaxing day by the pool or trips out. Overall a very enjoyable holiday and we are booking to stay at Varvara again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

POSITIVES: Decent pool especially for the ratio of guests. Quiet rural location. Family & couple centered apartments. Food in snack bar was good. Friendly staff. Raised balconies. Low level two story building.

NOT SO GOOD: The apartments had a basic rustic feel. Bedrooms and bed furniture were reasonable. However, the kitchen area was past its sell by date. Wore and tired units, with flaking surfaces. The cooker was only just usable, with a life of its own, one minute not working the next too hot. The fridge was a historical study in household appliance development, having been white gloss painted. Kettle which didn't quite boil. Altogether the kitchen resembled something from the 1980s. It was tired and dated. Lacking of other basic facilities such as a toaster. Not enough plates or cups plates. Most looked like an odd collection from a charity shop.
Distance from Sidari town 30 min walk = 1hour return + you might go into town twice a day, etc so the distance can have an impact over the duration of the holiday.

NOT GOOD: The 'comedy' shower was a real joke. This consisted of a piece of plastic piping connected to a mixer tap which left you juggling soap in one hand trying to hold the shower head in the other. Whilst avoiding getting stuck to the shower curtain which hung from what can only be described as an umbrella frame. At the same time as water went everywhere. Corfu is hot in August and you need a reasonable shower. Given the suggested 2.5* rating then it's unacceptable to pass this off as a shower. Again like the kitchen, it was also 1980s in appearance, tired and dated, avacado toilet with white seat!
Air conditioning. The temperature in August was mid 30s (40 on two days) its therefore still hot during the evening. As these apartments do not have the option of air conditioning then it's almost unbearable to try and sleep. It we could have opened the windows to let in some air then it might have been survivable, however as soon as you open the window mosquitoes come into the room. We tried a number of different mosquito sprays, both anti-bite and after bit creams. All with limited effect. They bite and you will itch. As I write this 3 days after coming home I still have 11 red bite marks on one arm alone. In short this meant that we were all lacking a decent nights sleep and were left tired. Towards the end of our stay it became an ordeal rather than a holiday. Its a mistake on our part not to have booked accommodation with AC.
Room cleaning: Although the cleaner came in every three days, it could have been cleaned more often and the sheets were not changed that often at all. Not enough towels for the number of guests. Second week no hand towels. She basically only seemed to mop the room. You didn't have to look very far to find areas that had not been cleaned for months such as under the bed or on top of lampshades.

On balance, I'm sad in some respects to say I would not go there again. I feel that it needs a couple of things to turn it around; this is mainly a revamp of the kitchen area and a proper shower. Air conditioning is also needed. If they could make a few changes and invest some cash in the place then it might be worthwhile returning. Like most people we work hard for our cash and two weeks at this place for us as a family of two adults and 3 teenage children cost thousands. In the end it didn't deliver. There should be a minimum standard in any accommodation such as a decent shower and regrettably this fell below it. My opinion of Olympic holidays with whom we booked this has also gone down.
Lastly, best holiday moment; whilst talking to one of the staff at the hotel, the hotel cat walked past in the background with a giant rat in its mouth. In the best faulty towers timing didn't have time to explain what I'd seen. Although personally I was pleased that it was there doing a good job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Varvara in August 2011 in a two bedroom apartment. This was very spacious indeed, with plenty of room to spread out. Our room had two balconies, offering a fantastic view over the excellent swimming pool and bar area.

Facilities at the apartment offered everything we needed. A small bar offering hot and cold drinks and a range of good quality and reasonably priced snacks. The swimming pool was superb, well maintained and very clean. There were plenty of sun loungers even at peak season when we traveled.

As others have said, the kitchen equipment was basic but adequate for breakfast and light snacks. Not a huge range of utensils, but a handy two ring counter-top oven and grill. And a full size fridge for keeping food, water and beer cool.

The bedroom furniture, as others have said, was fairly rustic, but solid and in good order. Plenty of hangers for storing clothes etc. Some of the sheets and towels looked like they'd seen better days, but were clean and changed during the week. At this price level, I don't think this is unexpected, and not a major gripe.

The bathroom was basic, but clean. Bins etc. were emptied pretty much daily.

Location for us was one of the positives. A 20-25 minute walk out of the resort up a fairly gentle hill (great for burning off the beer calories!). This meant a quiet and relaxing environment away from the bustle of the main resort, but the beach and nightlife were only a short walk away.

A couple of minor details we would mention.

Firstly, there was no air conditioning. However, with high, wood paneled ceilings, the rooms never felt unduly hot, even when the daytime temperature was in the mid 30s. In fact, by morning, we actually felt a little chilly; this may be something to do with Corfu's climate, which is not as dry as other Greek islands. So, what initially seemed like an omission actually saved us money - many tourists (us included) tend to pay for air con on arrival, whether needed or not. At the Varvara, this would not have been necessary; however, if required, fans can be hired for a modest price.

Secondly, there was no safety deposit box. This I don't really understand, as I'm sure the outlay for these would easily be recovered in only a very few weeks. However, it says a great deal for the apartments, their location, and the people who own and run them that it never felt like our possessions were remotely at risk. Some sensible precautions, such as locking money etc in suitcases, is all that's required. The lack of any negative reviews on here supports this viewpoint, I feel. For the more paranoid, safety deposit boxes are available in the resort centre, and you'll be down there most days anyway!

As indicated, neither of the above would remotely put me off returning. The family who run the apartments are nice, helpful people (who helped us enormously with a booked trip which went wrong and even offered us a lift into the resort to try to resolve this with the travel company). The maid (Sophie?) was equally friendly, helpful and had an excellent command of English.

In summary, if you are looking for good value, self catering accommodation, the Varvara Apartments should be near the top of your list. We would not hesitate to go back if we visit Sidari again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

cant wait to go back to the varvara apartment and neither can the children! apartment very spacious, cleaned every couple of days. The owners (Jasmin and Takis) live on site and couldnt do enough for you. pool area great, i sat out on balcony every morning and watched Takis meticulously clean the pool, water flowers etc ! The maid (cant remember her name) was great and am looking forward to a big hug and a drink at the bar, her english was fantastic!
Yes apartments are basic but this is greece !
They are a little out of the way but this was nice because it meant peaceful surroundings and a good nights sleep, the walk into town was fine (about 20 minutes) and theres a supermarket about 10 minutes away.
We fell in love with Corfu and the greek people are so friendly!
Its a good idea to hire a car we did for 3 days drove and found gorgeous little traditional villages, views across the whole island were breathtaking!
Trip to aqualand was amazing, book through the shop opposite sea breeze restaurant its much cheaper than reps!
Also booked a glass bottom boat trip to paradise beach (WOW AMAZING) a must!
Paleokastritsa, what can i say out of this world! hired a pedalo 2 adults 3 kids for 10 euro an hour the water is so blue you have to see it to be believed, loved jumping off the rocks and the snorkling!
i could go on and on lol !!!!!!
Great holiday roll on june 27 !!

YAMAS !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varvara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varvara Apartments

Address: Peroulades, Peroulades 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Peroulades
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peroulades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VarVara Studios & Apartments are family run and offer a warm welcome to everyone. Located on the outskirts of Sidari, amongst the olive groves and mountainous scenery of Peroulades offers peace and quiet, yet not far from the centre of Sidari. Studios, apartments and maisonettes are cool, bright very spacious and very well maintained all with kitchen with eating area, single or double beds ensuite bathrooms, private balcony with pool views. On site swimming pool with children's pool, free sun beds and umbrellas, pool bar with large sun terrace to enjoy drinks and food from the snack bar offering an excellent choice of menu including traditional English breakfast. A pool table is also on site for those wishing to take a break for the sun. Shower room and luggage storage is also available on departure. Resort of Sidari has a golden sandy beach with shallow waters for beach lovers, and offers a huge range of shops, bars, restaurants, ice - cream parlors, souvenir shops and plenty of entertainment for all ages. For those wanting to explore Corfu and the surrounding Islands excursion offices are dotted throughout the resort all at excellent prices. If you prefer to be more independent and would like to hire a car or moped to explore the beautiful sights and scenery again plenty of offices are around the resort. Corfu town is approximately 2 hours away by bus but very well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Varvara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varvara Apartments Corfu/Peroulades, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varvara Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.