We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diosmarini's Restaurant

Diosmarini's Restaurant
Xylokeratidi | Katapola-Amorgos, Katapola 84008 , Greece
+30 2285 072091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Katapola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In Diosmarini's Restaurant you can enjoy Traditional Cuisine of the Cycladic Islands , with pure and biological local products, given in a creative way with care and love, by the sea.You can visit us for Lunch and Dinner, having a nice panoramic view at the port of Katapola. Diosmarini's is found in a naturally protected place by the summer north winds (meltemi) of the Aegean Sea. Enjoy our seafood and our delicious handmade pasta fresca together with our excellent wines. Finish your meal with a pleasant surprise, our fresh homemade sweets and liqueurs!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I visit many restaurants in the island of Amorgos and this is one of the best.
The food is light and delicate but at the same time very tasty!
It's on the right side of the bay (watching the sea). I reccomand both fish and meat. Even vegetables are offered in a special way. Do not miss Diosmarini in Katapola. Here you can eat out of noise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania T, Owner at Diosmarini's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    21
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

In my three week’s travelling around the Cyclades, the best food and best service for very good prices was here. All meat and fish I had were superb. The staff are very attentive and polite. The atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed whist also professional. The position at the corner of the bay is also an excellent one, especially in the evening to enjoy the sunset. A must visit place. After visiting a few other also very good restaurants, I ended up having all my meals in Amorgos here, they were too good to miss!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rania T, Owner at Diosmarini's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Alex, thank you very much for your kind review.We hope to see you again in Amorgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed in Amorgos for a week and after reading some of the reviews below wanted to test if indeed there is substance to them. I can easily say we were not disappointed!

No contest the best food on the island with clever twists on greek classics and more dishes created from local produce. Inspired, tasty and well presented. Some of the dishes are heavenly (feta cheese with tomato marmelade!!). Menu is as long as required to offer choices but not compromise on quality. Always some new extras every day plus fresh fish.

What was more impressive was the value for money as the prices don't vary from other "traditional" greek taverns nearby, yet the food is far superior (I regret not meeting the cook). We tried other restaurants but kept coming back to Diosmarini as we felt more like guests than paying customers. The view is the icing on the cake.

All in all an experience one shouldn't miss when visiting Amorgos!
I was even compelled to write my first review on tripadvisor just to give back to the owners and their wonderful work.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Tasty food with perfect view of Katapola!! European breeze in Amorgos!! We ate there two different days. The first day a little bit slow service. The next day it was better...Both meat and seafood are very tasty!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
“best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

there is the best fisch of Amorgos perfekt meat and verry good service

i were in captain dios and its this restaurand was nothing to diosmarini

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diosmarini's Restaurant also viewed

 
Amorgos, Cyclades
Katapola, Amorgos
 

Been to Diosmarini's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diosmarini's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.