We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Minoa to your Saves list
Hotel Minoa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Katapola Amorgos | Cyclades, Katapola 84008, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katapola
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel to stay. It is in the centre of the port, should you are interested in something like that, which people may find a bit noisy.
Regarding room, it was very clean, with fresh towels and sheets on a daily basis. free wifi provided too.
Owners are really polite and willing to help you or guide you.
Katapola, the port is really nice place, much better that Aigiali, the second port, but i wouldnt stay there next time i visited Amorgos. Instead i would recomend renting a room in Chora of Amorgos'.

Finally, i found it really expensive, as i paid 85€ per night during 15 of August (greek holiday-high season).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fabulous welcome and well thought out information chat on the island greeted our arrival at this gorgeous little hotel. Our room was spacious with the kind of balcony you can only dream of when you have booked a room over looking a harbour. The staff could not do enough for us, including retrieving various items of washing that blew off our balcony. Following the advice of the welcome chat we found some total gems on the island that the usual tourist trail would have missed. If I had one criticism it would be that the shower was a bit of a challenge since it was tiny and the shower head had to be hand held since not attached to the wall. Not a big drama except for girlies on summer holiday, it made the whole leg shaving etc a bit of a challenge! This did not however detract from a stunning room, an ideally located hotel and hosts who made you feel like family! We were very sad to leave!

Husband writes....if you go to Greek Island make it Amorgos!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Due to poor planning on our side, we only managed to find a room for one night in Katapoula, at the Minoa. Located right on the ferry landing, it is very conveniently situated. The room was very nice, with a balcony (no view to speak of, though) and a fridge. The price was perhaps a bit stiff (85 € for a double), although that might be expected in august. The service, however, is what made us want to review favourably. The hostess was extremely helpful in helping us locate our next stay, and made calls to all nearby hotels until she found an availability. The next morning, she sat down with us and gave us excellent information on the island over complimentary coffee. Stay at the Minoa, but book ahead!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos Town, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights, enjoying a view over the Port. Our ferry docked about 60 metres from the Hotel. Choice of supermarkets, shops and restaurants within 2 minutes and the bus stop is 5 minutes away. Good island for walking. Fresh fish is not cheap, but good quality.
Owner ever present and staff excellent.
There is no swimming pool, but plenty of beaches.

Room Tip: One with a port/ sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel, with great staff. Excellent breakfast for 7 euros ! Rooms are simple but very clean and spacious, with view on the port or on gardens. Very good value for money. Wi fi connection. Excellent location to explore Amorgos.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a very long detour to get to Amorgos and I had emailed Stamatis at Hotel Minoa that we would be arriving in the wee hours of the morning. He very kindly organized a taxi for us.
After travelling from Santorini via Naxos then taking the 11 pm ferry, we finally arrived at 2.45 am. at Aegeli but our Hotel was a 20 minute taxi ride to the Katapola port as I had thought we were taking the fast ferry that landed at Katapola....but it was cancelled from Santorini. It had been windy so the ferry was slower and took ages. Poppy was there at the Hotel to greet us. What a breath of fresh air. After apologizing for keeping her up so late, we finally settled into to our room which was up one level and to the front of the Hotel with a lovely balcony overlooking the front cafe and it had sea views.

The room was very spacious and had another single bed in it as well. It was lovely to sit on the balcony for drinkies in the afternoon, however it was even nicer to go down stairs to the sweet shop and sit in the cafe and try to decide which lovely greek and other type of sweet you wanted to try. We met some other lovely guests here as well. This is the area where they served a lovely home style breakfast in the mornings.
This family run Hotel was very convenient to everthing in Katapola especially if you are taking the ferry as we did at 6 am as the Hotel is right there. The Hotel was very quiet and we did not hear any noise from the port at all...as it is a few metres away.
All the staff were so friendly and very helpful with hints and tips about exploring the Island. They made us feel at home and treated us as part of the family. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Many good hotels are around but Stamatis , the young owner of Minoa give the pace for the meaning of excellent service. Even if you dont ask anything , he is coming to offer you something. Very generous rooms -some with sea view -and all the amenities you expect from a small smart hotel of 10 rooms . It is an experience . Dont miss it!

Room Tip: Pay the dufference for sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Address: Katapola Amorgos | Cyclades, Katapola 84008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Amorgos > Katapola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katapola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Minoa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minoa is a small family business. Located at the heart of Katapola square, a few meters from the sea, is the ideal choice for someone who wants to explore the beauties of Amorgos and live unforgettable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minoa Amorgos/Katapola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.