We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved 4 star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kolymbari, Crete 73006, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kolymbari
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A well deserved 4 star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We fell in love with Crete and the Grand Bay Beach resort many years ago in the days when the lovely Eleni was on reception (she is now reservations executive, a job at which she excels) and we have been returning ever since, our last stay was in June. They have always made us feel very special here and we are now enjoying the many benefits of joining the Hotel's loyalty club as returning guests. It is an ideal destination if you are looking for peace and relaxation, good for young/ older couples or anyone seeking quiet memorable holidays together. We always feel at home when we return here and because the Hotel is small (70 rooms) it allows you to get to know the Hotels most excellent staff very well, they are all incredibly helpful, kind and hardworking. The Hotel itself is a modern, well maintained and cleverly designed building which is located around the corner from a quiet little fishing village in Kolymbari. The village has a couple of gift shops and some very nice beach and harbour front tavernas and restaurants. I notice in other reviews that no one has mentioned that this is a disabled friendly Hotel, our daughter has special needs and is a wheelchair user, accessibility in all areas of the hotel for people with limited mobility is very good. There is a room available that is modified and equipped to accommodate disabled guests. We have never booked this room because the rooms we use are adequate for our needs. We always book a junior suite on the ground floor with direct pool access, perfect for our daughter. It is worth paying extra for these rooms. They have their own patio leading to poolside with two sun-loungers, parasol and amazing sea views (our own little paradise!). The room is spacious and always kept spotlessly clean and refreshed every day by Maria ( a credit to the housekeeping team). We always request and receive extra pillows and find the beds quite comfortable although there is the option to swap for a softer mattress if needed. The food in the Hotel is plentiful, a good mix of Greek and International cuisine, buffet style. My husband always looks forward to his cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs! whilst my daughter and I prefer the continental provided. There is a never ending supply of coffee top ups during breakfast but tea is self service. Never one to let the British side down, I always take my own travel kettle with me and PG tips so I can enjoy my first cup of tea in the morning in my room!. We can also recommend the a la carte dining experience, we had a fantastic candle lit evening overlooking the Aegean Sea during our last stay and the service was exceptional (thank you to Georgios). In all the years we have stayed at this Hotel we have only ever had one problem concerning our room, this was resolved immediately. Any problems reported to reception are speedily dealt with.
Most of our day here is spent relaxing by the pool. My husband enjoys fishing in a quiet spot near the monastery and also enjoys swapping stories and fishing tips with Antonis on reception who it deserves to be mentioned, is exceptional in his customer care. We also like to hire a car to visit friends and take trips out up into the mountains and enjoy and explore the beautiful breathtaking scenery and beaches that western Crete has to offer. There is also the option of taking the bus (which stops outside hotel) reception staff Antonis, Amalia and Alex always happy and willing to help and advise on bus timetables and are very knowledgeable about the area and recommending things to do and places to see. It is also worth mentioning that there is a 'little train' that runs excursions up into the mountains and villages which we think is well worth considering as it gives you a little taste of the Cretan life and countryside. Evenings in the Hotel are quiet (perfect for us) with a couple of nights where the Hotel organises entertainment, a Greek night with dancing on Thursdays and Tuesdays you can sit and listen or dance to a singing duo, both nights very enjoyable and Christos on the bar will always look after you very well. If you prefer something livelier then you are only a short bus or taxi ride to the nightlife in places like Platanias and Chania. I really would like to take this opportunity on behalf of my family to say a big thank you to all at the Grand Bay, to Mr Spyros Krasadakis, Eleni, Antonis, Georgios, Amalia, Christos, Sarantos, Nikki, Johanna, Alex, Rafael and Maria (hope you all read this) for looking after us so well, we appreciate everything you have done for us over the years. Giannoulis Hotels should feel very proud of you all. We hope that everyone will enjoy their stay as much as we do in this most well deserved 4 star Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Helen J,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for all of your kind words.
It was our honor to welcome you again at our resort, and we are always being very proud to provide our best of services to all of our guests.
We have nothing more to say after this wonderful description of our hotel, of our staff and of your memorable stay, but a big THANK YOU!
The manager and all the members of our staff have read your wonderful review and they wish you all the best!
We are already looking forward to your next arrival.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    47
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Wonderful holiday in a first class resort, We got married at Christmas and postponed our honeymoon to the summer. This is a fantastic resort, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, rooms are spotlessly clean. We were upgraded from a room to a suite as we were on honeymoon, a bottle of champagne on ice was waiting for us. When we arrived, our flight had been delayed, it was close to 1.00a.m. and I had been panicking on the bus there would be nowhere open and we were starving! We were told on arrival that there was a cold buffet we could have and apologies for it not being a hot dinner, what a relief!

We had read the reviews before we left and it just far exceeded our expectations. There is a private beach attached to the hotel, the pool bar is just it, a pool bar where you can order from the pool. The beach is a pebbled beach and we would recommend buying a pair of aqua shoes as it is hard on your feet but once we got them, we were happy.

The bar staff come to you on the beach with tasters of cocktails, fruit juice, ice tea and beer. We upgraded from half board to all inclusive for 20.00 each per day which was well worth it. Food was fabulous, we had waited to upgrade until we saw that we were happy but it was an excellent choice each day. I am vegetarian and found a good selection, there was no meal where I had to "make do". Would definitely say my favourite meal of the day was lunch, they did a barley pasta with vegetables which was to die for. My husband enjoyed octopus and said that it was the best that he had tasted.

From the staff at reception, the pool bar to the restaurant, they were so kind and so helpful, the bar man even brought me extra ice for my cocktail when my husband forgot!

This is the first time I have gone on holiday and the resort is exactly as it says on the brochure, I've fallen in love with Crete and the Grand Bay in particular and have started my nagfest to go back next year.

Thank you so much, for the upgrade, the wonderful welcome, the attention to detail, we are missing you already! Briony and Arnaud.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear BrionyTey,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for your excellent scoring.
We are really honored for choosing our resort for your honeymoon trip.
As you have already mentioned, the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority of the management and the staff of our resort.
Finally, we wish you and your husband all the best for your marriage, and we are looking forward to celebrate your first anniversary next year.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

For the second time (two years in a row) we visit this gem on the Cretan coast.
The hotel is just the right size, friendly staff, clean, the location on the beach and the many (smaller) pools make this the ideal holiday choice.

We were welcomed with a room with pool access, a bottle of wine in the room and a fruit bowl.

The beach has many fine, smooth, small pebbles. Perfect if you do not want to have sandy feet. The water is crystal clear. The hotel, if you have All inclusive Ultra, free sunbeds at the beach if you would rather want to be there instead of lying at next the the pools.

The family room we had this time (room 205) has pool access. Although it is not a private pool and sharing it with room 206. Here it is delightfully shady in the morning and boiling sunshine the rest of the day.

The food at the hotel is good. It's served at least eight dishes each time. Always a little pasta, a little roast, a little fish and a lovely salad and dessert buffet.

Do not forget to try the a la carte lunch and then choose the wonderful grilled swordfish!

Restaurant staff at breakfast, lunch and dinner are a little understaffed, miss some orders, they are nice and they work really hard for you to get a good table, get your drink and you enjoy your stay.

Kolymbari, a stone's throw from the hotel, has nice small picturesque restaurants if you want a little change of pace from the very calm and pleasant atmosphere of Grand Bay Beach.

Come here if you can!

Room Tip: Room 205 and 206 (family rooms) has the best location with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Richard B,

Firstly, we would like to inform you that it was really pleasant for us to welcome you at our resort for second time, and that we are very proud to have repeating guests like you.
We also like to thank you for your suggestions and for taking time to review us on tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year for third time.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent two weeks here in May 2014 and had a lovely relaxing holiday. Due to difficulties at one of their other hotels we didn't quite get the room we had booked but the alternative at room 203 was very nice with a king size bed and partial sea view and we were upgraded to ultra all inclusive. This meant we had a free mini bar, massages , more meal choices and free wifi in our room which was very acceptable. The location is lovely and the limited evening entertainment was fine for us.
What makes this hotel is the quality of the staff in all areas who were all friendly and accommodating and willing to help.The food had good variety and was better than other all inclusives we have stayed at and the cleanliness in general of a high standard. If I could improve anything it might be to replace some of the sun beds which have seen better days and have properly boiling water for tea but these are minor issues. The views and design are lovely.
So many thanks to Antonios, Alex, Georgios, Nicki etc and we hope to come back to the hotel and Western Crete again. The massages were great too!

Room Tip: Sea view lovely but all quiet so you get a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear maldonian11,

Thank you very much for your very nice review and for your excellent scoring.

We are really happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and that you have enjoyed all of our facilities.
Antonis and all the members of our staff have already bben informed about your kind words and they would like to thank you too.
Finally, thank you very much for your suggestions, and we would like to inform you that we will do our best.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort in the near future as you are already planning.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had most relaxing week in Kolymbari, Grand Bay Beach Resort. This was our second time in same hotel, we stayed in Junior suite with sea scenery and balcony.
Breathtaking sunrises in the mornings. Really nice staff(Antonis fantastic+others too), good food, peaceful place with pool and ocean just next to. So relaxing time, warm and sun.
Recommend Junior suite (all inclusive ultra) with pool access, hire a car to see nice beaches(you can ask Antonis good tips) --> Most relaxing package!! :))))

Room Tip: Junior suite with pool access is the top choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sabrina L,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for you wonderful review.
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at our resort for the second time. Antonis and all the members of our staff have been informed for your kind words and they would like to thank you too.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bricett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent a perfect week here and have absolutely no complaints. The hotel location is perfect, right on the beach. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the cleaners were excellant. This is quite a small hotel but that is a plus as the staff soon get to know you and the drinks order! The food was excellant with plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend for families and couples alike.

Room Tip: Small hotel so I think they all have good views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Hayley H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for all of your kind words.
We are really proud to read that you are completely satisfied from your stay at our Resort.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We're a couple on our fifties and were looking to find a peaceful and quiet corner from Crete to stay and enjoy on our one week winter holidays and also avoid the busy and noisy "water-park-family-resorts".
This hotel is located away from on a tiny village with good services (pharmacy, super market, foot spa aso) and nice beach side restaurants also.

I requested on advance to get a really nice room (we had a sea view-suite with a private pool and all inclusive), when arriving our room wasn't ready because of "an old lady who got sick and couldn't leave the room that day" and we needed to stay on the other end of the hotel for the first day (the room was still a suite). Even though the staff was extremely polite and helpful we had the feeling that we were fooled a little with that. The hotel manager spoke with us on the second day cause I was a little "demanding" maybe and not happy about the arrangement.

Breakfast was great every morning with lot's to offer (you can press fresh orange juice for yourself), the coffee is not too good and I can't say the the buffet lunch or dinner is great but more OK. They have lot's of space outside and it's really lovely to sit there and enjoy the food and scenery at the same time.

They take good care of the property and it's really neat & tidy all over- also the rooms are really well taken care of. Wifi only works on the public areas and outside- not inside of the room and you don't need to pay any extra charge of that.

The staff overall is super-friendly and has great attitude to full fill the customers needs. Especially Giorgos (I'm not sure of the spelling) in the restaurant was a great guy! Also the reception staff is really helpful and willing to give their advise with everything if needed.

We had a rental car for the whole week and it was easy to move around and take trips to the beautiful mountines and beaches only a short drive away.

I would return to this hotel and could recommend this resort with pleasure.

Room Tip: Suites with private pool are nice and you get a direct view to the sea. Second floor rooms have only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Holidaytraveller2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on tripadvisor
The opinion of our guests is very important to us.

As you already mention, the location of our resort is the ideal for relaxing holidays.
We are really proud to read that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and that you wish to visit us again in the future.
Finally, we would like to thank you for the recommendation of our resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bay Beach Resort

Address: Kolymbari, Crete 73006, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bay Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like an island within an island, this is GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT. Understated design, attention to detail, instinctive hospitality, tasteful food and a personalised approach are only a few of the ingredients which make our small "island" a very special getaway, ideal for those who seek tranquillity and calmness, excellent cuisine, and upgraded spaces and services.GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT is located directly on the 3 km long beach of the scenic fishing village of Kolymbari, amongst scenery of unparalleled beauty, and near settlements that retain their traditional Cretan character, just 23 km west of the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 35km away from its international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Bay Beach Hotel Chania Town
Grand Bay Beach Resort Crete/Kolymbari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.