We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, unique staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grand Bay Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kolymbari, Crete 73006, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kolymbari
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, unique staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and me, visited Grand Bay Resort for 3 days in June 2013.
It was actually our 5th time that we chose this hotel for our vacation in Crete!
And the reason is simple:
It is a peaceful 4 star hotel, at an excellent location with amazing staff!

The layout and the swimming pool are great but the overall view is just unique!
We always pick up the room 231 (the rooms 230 to 227 are of the same view) the view from the balcony of which is unforgettable: the infinite blue of the Aegean Sea...

The hotel is within 30 minutes drive from the famous beach of Falasarna but the beach of the hotel is pretty good.
It is a quite and relaxing hotel which is ideal both for couples and for families with young children.

The amazing asset of the hotel is the staff: they are very friendly with an authentic smile. After so many years visiting this hotel we know most of them and we really feel "at home"...

We will definitely come back!
Thank you,
Makis & Sofia

Room Tip: Pick up rooms 227 to 231
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear MakisAthens 1970

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are honored to hear that you feel our Grand Bay Beach Resort as your home.

The management and the staff, always doing their best to provide our customers a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    53
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
67
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I ended up at this hotel as an alternative following the company's mess up of our booking for the Santa Marina Plaza in Agia Marina, May 2013. Special thanks to Eleni for going out her way to sort out what could have been a disastrous situation.

The Grand Bay is a lovely hotel, I liked the layout and spread of accommodation; it gave a nice feel of space, privacy and peacefulness. All areas of the hotel were kept very clean by some very hard working staff.

It is located in the lovely village of Kolymbari; an old traditional fishing village; several lovely tavernas all keen to shower you with Cretan hospitality; ancient old working monastery with museum overlooking the bay from the hillside. A really lovely setting.

Lots of markets and lovely harbour area in Chania about 35mins away; bus, every 20-30 mins.

Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday great. Very friendly, very helpful and very hard working. Special thanks to Christos.....the cocktail king....for the little nice, personal touches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had two weeks holiday with allinclusive, in a junior suite. The view was amazing, both pool and the sea. This is a quiet place, and that is why we wanted to book just this hotel. Platanias is about 15 minutes drive. You should rent a car, and the reception is allways ready to serve you and give you good tips on what to discover on the island.We had a car for 6 days, and got some very good advice from Antonios from the reception. Food is excellent, and there´s something for everyone. We always prefer local food more than french fries and schnitzels. The service is excellent, and all the staff is ready to take care of you, Their social skills are very good ! Bar is open untill 23.00, and the drinks are nice. Cleaning is superb, 7 times a week. So if you really need some time to relax, don´t hesitate to book this nice hotel and discover the crete hospitality .Thanks again ;) Minna & Timo from Finland

Room Tip: Junior suites are big, especially if you are staying more than a week, and they have a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Manager at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear MINNA V,

Thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay to our Grand Bay Beach Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have not been to this hotel but I almost made the mistake of booking it. According to the map on tripadvisor or any other site, it is stated to be in Chania Town but it's not, it's in Kolymbari. It looks really nice and I really wanted to book 2 nights here but I'm sad it's so far. Check out their website.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a five days holiday in this real beach hotel.
The beach is bebble and the water crystal clear.
Our beach front junior Suite was a really luxurious room with huge space and a balcony with fantastic ocean view.
The restaurant was quite small but the food variety and quality are more than enough to satisfy any apetite.
The staff is very friendly and eager to help you any time.
It was a really relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is located by the sea. It has its own beach, but in most rocky. Near the beach there is a bar with a swimming pool, which is distributed along the entire hotel. It is a beautiful sight. Meals are good and there is so much choice. At the beach bar makes good drinks service. Next to the hotel there are several local restaurants, but rather there is a small selection. Rooms are nice and located in the garden and surrounded by pools. There is no free wifi internet access, possible to pay for the internet in the reception. 300 meters away there is a bus stop - very easy access to Chania.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We initially booked the Cavo Spada Hotel - a sister hotel, but was told at the last minute that it was closing early. So was moved to this hotel.
This is such a lovely hotel, it's a pity the village is so quiet, but it makes it ideal if your there for a romantic couples holiday. This is not a hotel for a family with older kids as there is NO entertainment. The food is of a reasonable standard with something for everyone no matter how fussy.
Beach towels are €5/week refunded at the end of your holiday. The staff are second to none with special thanks to Antonius ( reception) & Christos (barman), however all are excellent.
If you go here a hire car is a must and speak to Antonius who will passionately tell you about the areas of western Crete to visit :-)
Don't expect to do lots here or in the village, go here, rest, enjoy the scenery and see this beautiful part of the island by car. The shared pool beach front rooms are large and have a beautiful view.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bay Beach Resort

Address: Kolymbari, Crete 73006, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bay Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like an island within an island, this is GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT. Understated design, attention to detail, instinctive hospitality, tasteful food and a personalised approach are only a few of the ingredients which make our small "island" a very special getaway, ideal for those who seek tranquillity and calmness, excellent cuisine, and upgraded spaces and services.GRAND BAY BEACH RESORT is located directly on the 3 km long beach of the scenic fishing village of Kolymbari, amongst scenery of unparalleled beauty, and near settlements that retain their traditional Cretan character, just 23 km west of the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 35km away from its international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Bay Beach Hotel Chania Town
Grand Bay Beach Resort Crete/Kolymbari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.