We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatballs with ouzo sauce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palio Arhontiko

Palio Arhontiko
P. Polihronidi, Kolymbari, Crete 73006, Greece
2824022124
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Kolymbari
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meatballs with ouzo sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We have passed this place many times over the last ten years of coming to crete and have said we will go in and try the meatballs as I've not had them in ouzo before.this week we did and what have we been missing, the place the service and the food were great, the portions are huge , so go hungry, we are visiting again tonight so we might see you there.


Jayne n sean patros x

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    55
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood next to the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent visit to this restaurant next to the sea with the sound of the waves on the rocks only a few yards away. Compared to most restaurants in Crete this is a class apart, with food and service moving towards the excellent bracket. The local wine is good, a long way above most of the local potions in Crete, and they also had a good range of more expensive wines which we didn't try. I love the local tradition in Crete of serving free Raki and dessert at the end of the meal, but in this case we were also served free Raki at the beginning as. If you have not been to Crete before be aware that the Raki is normally like fire water, but in this case it was much smoother and dare I say it, enjoyable. Well done Palio Arhontiko!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meals, fine atmosphere, good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We returned several times to this restaurant during our stay at Kolymbari. Each time we were surprised by the tastfull dishes.
The Raki was fine and always we've got a dessert of the house.
Each meal was accompagned by homemade bread.
We took the housewine (red and white) and that was verry fine!

My son wanted a pasticcio but it wasn't on the menu. The owner made it for us without problem. It was delicious!

Bravo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

High quality food, fast and kind service... Generally, only good things to remember.. Visit it without any concerns...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so tasty!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Delicious sea food right next to the beach!! Nice atmosphere! Complimentary Raki and a tasty cake!
Service was more than friendly! Its a matter of a fact that we are going back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio Arhontiko also viewed

Kolymbari, Chania Prefecture
Kolymbari, Chania Prefecture
 
Kolymbari, Chania Prefecture
Kolymbari, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Palio Arhontiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio Arhontiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.