We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kolymbari
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

It´s a rather small resort in the middle of nowhere, at least half an hour car ride from Chania (more than we expected), less to Platanias, so as a family with small kids, getting anywhere comfortably meant renting a car.
There is neither a whole lot happening at the resort, but if you´re just interested in relaxing at the resort and eating well, then this is the place.

We don´t have very extensive experience of all inclusive hotels yet we are very much into good food, and it sure was no disappointment there. The standard was VERY high, with just enough variousity, every meal, every day for 14 days. It was way better than expected of all inclusive. Only disappointment was the takeaway lunch box. Staff at the restaurants, and overall, were very friendly, never any issues with any of them. With small kids, we did not really get to try the bars/drinks though.

Kids club was not that special, small and oddly placed, not much toys and outside playground is really sad. There were not many kids at the resort anymore mid-August and it seemed to be running for half power. Minidisco in the evening was a hit for 3 year olds, although starting a bit late (9pm) considering the age group. Only English speaking staff at the kids club, despite many Scandinavian and French speaking families (according to the kids club staff). Makes me wonder what is their main group of customers... seemed to be about 50/50 families/couples in August at least. I would say that if this is a family resort, then other groups of travellers have nothing to fear, it still appears very quiet and relaxing.

We had nothing to note on the cleanliness of either room or pools. The beach is of rolling stones, deep and had rather big waves all the time, so nothing for the kids. Rather big and shallow main pool with a "poolbar island" and a small kids pool, thats it. Just enough sunbeds, although some of them a little weary. My biggest problem with the poolside was finding shadow with a 5 months old baby, as there are few trees and parasols are small and fixed, but obviously no problem for tanners. We had a family room with own pool (or shared with neighbouring room) at the ground level. The room was spacious and with sliding doors towards pool part of the room, which was smart. The baby could be sleeping in the inner room, closing the sliding doors and opening terrace doors towards the pool where older siblings were playing. The pool side had late sun, but the view was over sunburned fields/wasteland and a building site.

Overall, we had a good relaxing time here and ate VERY well, no serious complaints on anything. Nevertheless, I doubt we´ll be back because of the location and kids club.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, General Manager at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear kt77at75,
Thank you very much for review and for all of your notices. The opinion of our guests is very important to us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level.
Firstly we would like to especially thank you for all of your kind words about our staff and served dishes. We are really proud to read that you and your family had a relaxing stay at our resort.
Regarding your notices about our kids club, we would like to inform you that we are already done all the necessary changes and renovations in order to meet your needs.

It will be our honor to see you again at our resort in the future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    83
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
107
142
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We had a week break ar ca o spada.
It os a great resort in a lovely area .
Our room had a sharing pool which we enjoyed while the sea water was crystal clear.
The main restaurant had a huge choice of local and international food and the beach taverns is superb.
It a goid choice,and we go back in may.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, General Manager at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear Ttctt,
Thank you very much for review and for your excellent scoring.
We are really happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and that you enjoy our cuisine so much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again this year.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The resort is very nice, clean and the staff is friendly. The room was excellent, clean and large withe a great bathroom. The food was excellent and diversified, and the deserts were great. The pool is very nice but the sunbeds could have been cleaner, and the wifi is acceptable. The beach is probably the biggest disappointment of all as it it's made of rocks with a very small section with sand. The resort is a bit isolated and there is no entertainment nearby. The closest location with bars, restaurants and clubs is Platanias, whre you can get by bus, although the bus schedule is not great. Overall the resort is very good if you want relax but not so great for excitement.

Room Tip: if you have the money get a room with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Adrian C,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and for all of your kind words about our served food and the deserts.

As you mentioned, the location of our resort is ideal for relaxing holidays.
Finally, we would like to thank you for the wonderful sharing photos.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We chose Cavo Spada Hotel for our summer holidays in Crete, Greece. We had a wonderful stay and we thank the hotel staff for being so helpful with any information we needed. We enjoyed an excellent spa treatment and delicious food. We took advantage of the tennis court and we relaxed at the big pool. Overall we had a great time and we are planning to come back next summer .

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Danny N,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for your kind words.
We are really happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at our resort and that you are planning to visit us again.

We are looking forward to your next arrival

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This was my first time booking all inclusive and I wasn't sure what to expect. Overall it was great with one or two negatives.

On arrival, which was quite late we were show to our room and told that some food had been prepared for us as we had missed dinner. Which was a lovely touch.

We stayed in a room with a pool attached and I've got to say it was a brilliant decision. I love socialising but this break was about relaxing and spending time with my partner and having our section of semi private pool made that a brilliant success. The room was great spacious and had a great bathroom. One thing though was that the bed wasn't an actual double but two separate beds pushed together, although it was still comfortable.
The hotel itself was beautiful in a modern way with everything on hand that we wanted. The food was great with lots of options and the quality throughout was fantastic.

The hotels location is a bit secluded with not much on the doorstep, however there is a regular air conditioned bus that costs €2.60 one way that runs both ways up until midnight that goes to Chania and goes through a few towns on the way.

All in all we had a wonderful time here and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Sam D,

Thank you very much for your review and for your excellent scoring.
It is great to read that you and your partner have such a memorable stay at our resort.

The management and the staff wish you all the best and they are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a friend, and we basically wanted a total chill out in luxurious surroundings and having both visited Crete many times, we thought that the Cavo Spada looked perfect....we were wrong. We arrived at the hotel to be informed that they were overbooked and that we would have to relocate to a nearby hotel for the night, but because of this we would be upgraded to a gold all inclusive card. The strange thing was that other couples who arrived with us were checked in, no problem, and during the 30 minutes or so calling our agent and discussing how disappointed we were, all other guests checked in with ease,,,. After much arguing, we were finally asked to speak with the manager in his office and low and behold we were offered an upgrade to a junior suite, and promised a free spa treatment. Our room was nice, but I couldn't really say it was a suite. The food in the hotel was good but the main restaurant lacked ambience, and frequently got so busy that the staff were struggling to cope and were clearly overwhelmed. The Italian restaurant was nice, but we were only allowed to visit once on our basic all inclusive...again we had to pay for wine in this restaurant,,The different levels of all inclusive do not seem fair or consistent. Some basic sales and marketing skills would be useful for all employees. The reception staff particularly were keen to remind us of what we could NOT have on our basic all inclusive, but never once did they suggest an upgrade to our card, or in fact anything helpful at all. it seemed crazy to us that we could get bottled water at the pool bar free of charge with our inclusive card, but if we took water from the mini bar in our room we were charged. likewise we were allowed local wines with our card, but if we took what appeared to be local wine from our mini bar we were charged. The spa looked great but was void of life. No-one at spa reception, very little information...what a waste of such a potentially great hotel asset. The gardener also was wheeling one of our sunbeds off our patio every evening to use it to stack all the cushions off the sunbeds on the main large grassed area, then bringing it back caked in mud from the just watered grass...really you couldn't make some of this up! Can't the hotel equip the gardener with the correct tools to do his job??? We ordered a taxi into Chania via hotel reception and this cost us 30 euro one way...nice taxi but far too expensive for a 20 minute journey. In summary this hotel has lots of potential, but needs a more professional approach, better management, and a good long look at the competition,,,to understand how a true 5 star all inclusive hotel operates.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Zoe064,

Thank you very much for taking time to sharing your experience of your stay at our resort.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for the confusion of your booking. It was just a human mistake. As you already mention, we upgraded the room type of your reservation free of charge and we offered you a free spa therapy in order to express our regret about this confusion. The all inclusive program is clear and we are always giving a copy of that to all of our guests upon their arrival, and as anyone can read that the mini bar is not included. For that reason you had to pay for the bottle of water and the wine of the mini bar. Furthermore, we are really sorry about the empty reception at the spa at the moment you visit. Maybe the spa manager was out for a couple of minutes.

Finally, we would like to inform you that all the members of our staff are equipped with all necessary tools in order to do their job in the best way.

We hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Architecturally a very nice hotel with excellent bedrooms and pool area.
Staff in reception, bar and Italian restaurants were very good and attentive.
Sadly the furnishings of the lounge/bar area are very dated, more like a 2-star English standard .
It felt very much like the end of the season and it seemed that the hotel was trying to last out with the minimum amount of expenditure and effort. Tea and coffee pots had no lids so saucers used; not enough salts and peppers for every table in the restaurant; some wines out of stock ; not always linen napkins at dinner ; tables not cleared quickly ; not much prepared fresh fruit at breakfast; food quality generally quite poor and never hot ; erratic 'rules' invented as to where you could sit to eat and what drinks were available ; coffee often stewed and water for tea not hot. Maintenance could be better - cracked light fitting in lift dripping oil all week . Main bar closed in day so if you wanted to drink on terrace you had to go to pool bar (70 metres?) and bring back drinks in plastic glasses? Need I go on?
The animation team comprised two Italian girls who worked hard but struggled to provide evening entertainment; however, there were a couple of very good professional acts during the week (duo band and Greek dance troupe).
Overall a disappointing stay and certainly not a 5 star experience.
Perhaps it would be different early in the season when everyone is fresh.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a large balcony sea view but it turned out that it was north facing so got no sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear GeoffTorquay,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us.
Firstly we would like to notice that our resort operates since 2008, so the furnishings of the lounge/bar area cannot be more than 6 years old.

Furthermore, our resort operates with the same rules and facilities from the beginning until the end of the season every year regardless of the expenditures.

The drinks at the pool bar are being served in plastic cups according to the law’s safety regulations.

Regarding the rest of complains, we would like to notice that we had never had any complain reported from you during your stay.
We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.