We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kolymbari
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just 5 days at this fabulus hotel were more than enough to get energy and strenth.
Thet personnel is very concious and polite while they are always close to serve you.
The food at the main restauranr Arsenali is excellent,well cooked,great variety and many greek dishes every night apart from the international ones.
I really feel we could not ask for more as we had a spacious room,calm,excellent weather and great service.

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    80
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
105
141
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you look for a clean, elegant place in rather calm part of Crete - this is it. Hotel made me feel better than home - becauase at home there is always stress of everyday life, and in Cavo Spada I could have rest a lot. Staff is very caring and helpful, always smiling - and it does not seem artifical ;) . Rooms are cleaned everyday , towells changed everyday as well. Food is splendid - I always waited so much for the meals! Equipe really takes care to make the food offered fresh and diverse: I stayed there for two weeks and I cannot recal an evening with dinner of the same menu.I also ate there best mussels and prawns of all eaten in taverns in Crete:) Location is quite good: near Kolymbari (by foot, by bus), port-village where you can eat fresh fish and sea food (Argentina restaurant recommended). Good location to get to beautiful beaches: Falasarna, Elafonissi and to get to Balos (by city bus and then boat). Easy to get to Chania by city bus. Nearby car rental with good prices. I simply ADORED this place! One thing that might be distracting is a beach with small stones - not cosy at all, hard to get to water.But it motivates to move out of this wonderful hotel and search for sandy beaches. And in hotel there is a nice garden with beach beds. Though hotel is quite big you do not feel crowd.
Many hugs to the "Maitre" of the waiters' - so helpful and charming:)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms: risk of a dog or a cat to enter the room when door is open but feels like with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Karolina333,

Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor and for sharing these beautiful photos. They are amazing.
According to your coment for the location of our Resort, we would like just to inform here that the hotel is located very close to most of the best beaches in West Crete, as long as it is only 20 minutes from Chania city.
The management and the staff our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa always keep in touch with the needs of our guests, in order to be able to offer a high level of services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very nice hotel with the modt friendly people you can imagine. They make you feel like home!
It was our Honeymoon and we enjoyes every second of it. The accomodation next to the beach is super, as was our view on the city of Kolymbari. The food was good and there was more then enough. The spa was very nice as well. Shortly spoken, a fantastic stay for us!!!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a nightview on the mountains and the city of Kolymbari. It is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JimmyP,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We are really proud that you choose our Resort for your Honeymoon trip.
The best reward for the management and the staff of our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the satisfaction of our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

It was our second stay in Cavo Spada. Great place, beautiful beach (I don't mind pebbles but beach shoes recommended). Next year will definitely come back. Delicious food, very nice and helpful staff. Perfect stay, our family loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear zuzanna90,
Thank you very much for your excellent scoring at your review.
The best reward for the management and the staff of our Resort is your satisfaction as a guest.
We are already waiting to welcome you again next year in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cavo Spada Spa Hotel on an HALF BORD BASIS. Generally the hotel is very good. The rooms are large and clean. We booked a room with a sea view which was a little disappointing. Most of the view was grassy areas with the sea in the back ground on the second floor. We were lucky enough to be able to upgrade to a pool side room, same type of room but with a patio are with sun beds, so much better and certainly worth the extra cost.

The staff were great and very helpful from reception, porters, restaurant staff, etc.

The food is very good but it is always buffet. Lots of choice and well presented.

My advise would be to stay at this hotel ALL INCLUSIVE. It does not pay to stay half board. If you want to have wine with your meal it is very expensive. If you are all inc. wine and water is included. If you want to upgrade to the recommended wine of the day, All Inc. receive 25% discount if you are Half Board only 10%. Buying drinks from the pool bar is difficult as they expect everyone to be All Inc. and the staff have to find a way of charging to your room?

Be warned the beach is all big pebbles.

The pool is lovely although a little chilly mid September.

We ate out most lunch times at various places. The Botantical Gardens is certainly worth a visit (you need good walking shoes) and at the end of the walk you arrive at a Restaurant which is excellent. All the food is produced from the garden and cooked to order. The wine is good too.

On several evening we ate at the Taverner's within walking distance to the hotel. The food was excellent and if you drank the local wine the whole meal did not cost a lot more than a bottle of hotel wine. A must is to visit the local fishing village about 5 minute drive from the hotel. The restaurants are excellent, good value for money and the geese that patrol the water front are very entertaining.

Overall we feel our stay was very good.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side room. The on es on the left have morning sun and the ones on the right have afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Marie C,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food and all of the provided services of our Resort.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent last week at the Cavo Spada - unfortunately they didnt have room for us for the first night (even though we had booked) and put us up at their sister hotel (Santa Marina Plaza) for the first night. This was a bit of a disappointing as we couldnt settle straight in, but we got a good room in a great little hotel on a lovely sandy beach.

When we arrived at the Cavo Spada we'd been upgraded to Ultra All inclusive (lots of extras, including 30 min free spa treatment, most drinks, 2 a la carte meals (in the pool cafe and Italian restaurant) and were very pleased to find we'd been allocated a room next to the pool. It definitely made up for the small inconvenience of the change after the first night.

We found the staff to be really helpful, there was plenty of choice in the main restaurant and it was ok considering the scale and variety of tastes that were covered - what you'd expect really. We managed to find something we liked most days and it was great that there were snacks available throughout the day at the pool bar so you didnt feel it necessary to go up to the main restaurant during the day.

I took advantage of the free massage which was lovely, and we enjoyed our la carte in the pool cafe (yes it was a limited menu - but very good). We also ate in the Italian on our last evening, all very well presented but a little disappointing, my husband made the wrong choices (squid - chewy, and beef - chewy) but mine were ok (risotto and chicken) - and the puddings were the highlight of the night.

The beach.... was a little disappointing after the lovely sandy beach further along the coast, it was very stony, but the bonus was that as you were off the beaten track you werent bothered by the hawkers offering massages and watches etc as we were on our first day. You still get the lovely views, no sand in your shoes and plenty of sunbeds. Getting into the sea is a challenge, you definitely need beach shoes, the ones which you can wear into the sea.

The weather unfortunately changed towards the end of the week but it didnt spoil the holiday - there is a regular (and cheap) bus service from just up the road from the hotel into Chania which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear MandarinaM,
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor.
Firstly, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you from this one night reallocation.
Secondly, it is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all the facilities of our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent a week in early September with the Ultra All Inclusive accomodation. This arrangement includes basically everything on site, apart from top shelf booze.

The hotel location is quite isolated, but we planned on spending a week poolside so we didn't care. The pool is indeed lovely (a little cold, to be picky) and the bar in the middle of it is just great. We did not get a room by the pool, but those who did were lucky indeed!

The staff at the hotel speaks good english, and most are helpful and will help you quickly and with care. Other members of staff, unfortunately, seem a little bothered by the presence of guests, especially when asking questions or using the spa facilities.

We have 3 main complaints with the hotel:
- In general the structure has seen better days, and it is in need of overhaul. The pool is slippery because of some dirt, we had some mold in the shower, the furniture in the room was stained, the poolside loungers and umbrellas were mostly broken and dirty... it's mostly first-world problems, but the sort of issues that should not be there at a real 5* hotel
- The food at the buffet (main restaurant) was extremely inconsistent, but mostly poor. Some dishes were OK, other were just plain terrible. Personal taste, I suppose, but again from a 5* hotel one expects better than soggy fries and chicken nuggets.
- The food at the a la carte restaurants was also very inconsistent.
We ate at the pool restaurant only once, and honestly were not happy that there were two menus available, one for the All-Inclusive guests, and one for paying guests. More importantly, the All-Inclusive menu wasn't a subset of the other, but a list of cafeteria food (spaghetti, pizza...); whereby the paying menu had interesting and appetizing dishes. Why this was not clearly advertised is beyond me.
The evening restaurant had 2 alternating menus with some dishes which were indeed very nice (the risotto, the gnocchi, the chicken with beans and the grouper spring to mind); while others were just flavourless or badly executed. This is especially true for the pasta dishes, overcooked and bland - they should be the pride of any self-respecting italian restaurant: why it was chosen to have the star restaurant as an italian and not a greek also is not really clear.
We had the opportunity to meet the head chef at the facility and found him to be knowledgeable and skilled, so maybe the taste is adapted (a little too much) for the guests, which were mostly northern European.

All in all, the place is lovely and there are much worse ways of spending a week, but the experience just isn't 5*. I hope the management will be able to make this place the paradise it deserves to be!

Room Tip: Definitely get a poolside room (but not one with the private pool, that seems a touch gimmicky).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear j_m98,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.

The opinion of our guests is always very important for us.

According to your notice about the food, we would like to inform you that the cuisine of our Hotel is mainly based on Mediterranean and International tastes, in order to be able to meet the needs of most of our guests.
We are very sorry that the dishes that you mention did not meet your needs.
The management and the staff have already been informed about your notices and we promise that we will put our best efforts in order to improve even more and finally meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.