We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for all kind of vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kolymbari
Komotini, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for all kind of vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We traveled in kolimpari Cavo Spada late Augaust and we left at the 6th of September.
We went for family vacation my wife, my son 12years old, and me. We had the best time in the resort, the breakfast was very very nice 6stars for the breakfast, the staf was very friendly, and always there to help or advise, the rooms was big for the three of us with plenty off light and very a big bathroom. Very clean and near the best locations in Crete.
It was fantastic to wake up in the morning after a good sleep and jump into the pool....
The resort had everything to make us happy from games to good and plenty wide range food.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are beside the huge pool but there are many rooms with private pools It is bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Athanasios L

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your excellent score on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed all of the facilities of our Resort.

Finally, we want to thank you for the sharing photos. They are amazing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    83
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
107
142
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went with my girlfriend in late august, 2013. We're really satisfied with our trip and this hotel fullfilled all of our expectations! The food could sometimes be better, but there are always a wide range of different courses on the menu. I recommend you to choose All Inclusive. There is a stone beach so bring shoes for bathing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with poolaccess or with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Wangiz,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

It is great to hear that you and your girlfriend had a pleasant stay in our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranby, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have never been South of Germany and now was the time. We originally booked the Grand Bay resort 1,5 km away from Cavo Spada. Was contacted by Our travelagent which told us that Grand Bay was overbooked. Danm... But,.. we have upgrated you to a better hotel just nearby. We thought thats fine and what didd we get?? The 5* Cavo Spada Luxury Resort and Spa. I have never in my life had a more Perfect hotel. We got a groundfloor room just by the big pool. With all inclusive you can almost leave Your wallet at home. A great buffet at all meals, exellent service from the staff, clean an tidy at all times. One week at this resort is not enough. I miss it already. and i got home yesterday. I hope we will go there Next year:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mortenk1977,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Firstly, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you this reallocation.
However, it is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all the amenities of our Resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa next year.
Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

As we leave this beatiful hotel,second visit ,i really feel i had a wonderful holiday experience.
The resort is spread in a large piece of land on a prime seafront lacation.
The room we had,a superior beach front,with direct acess to a lagoon style pool was perfect,spacious and the housekeeping was great.
Breakfast and dinner were of very good quality and there was a large variety of local and international dishes daily.
For lunch we chose Sealine tavern,with excellent seafood and pastas and the same friendly service as the main restaurant.
It is a very good choice for couples and families as the hotel offers full service for kids at the mini club it provides,under proffessional sutervision.
100% reccomended.

Room Tip: superior beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's our second time to Cavo Spada Hotel and as the first time, we are having an amazing stay. Besides the beauty of Crete in general, the hotel its self offers a great holiday. Our room is really comfortable and the hotel staff very polite and friendly, always there to help us and answer any questions we might have. What we really loved both times is the delicious food at all restaurants of the hotel. We are still in Crete and we will leave in a few days but we will for sure come back for another guaranteed amazing time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mario C,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

Regarding your comment of the food which served at our restaurants we would like to inform that it is based on Greek, Italian and International cuisine to satisfy the needs of all our guests.

We would like to thank you once again for taking time to comment and for your preference at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Resort on you next visit in Crete.

Best regards,

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Cavo Spada is a first class luxury hotel, and could well deserve its 5 stars if only stronger controls were in place. It is important that I qualify my comments to readers, by advising them that my wife and I are in our mid sixties, and this may well have influenced our thoughts.
This is truly a magnificent building with a first class 'leisure' pool, the grounds are well kept, and the staff do their utmost to look after their guests. Cleanliness is to a high standard, and the staff are all very conscientious and professional. So much so that I intend to name some of them later in this review, for it is 'them' that make this place special.
Our arrival at the hotel was a disaster....'We have some very bad news for you, we are overbooked but can send you to another hotel nearby which is just as nice'. I will not go into all the issues that this involved, the so-called hotel nearby (Selina Suites) was really poor in comparison, and my wife and I went back to the Cavo Spada early the following morning to 'sit it out' in reception until we could be accommodated. The staff at the Cavo Spada on reception, especially Sophia, who is really part of the hotel management, was excellent, but she was not responsible for the 'overbooking', in my opinion this is far higher up the management tree ! So once we were able to actually go to our room, which was as booked with a 'shared pool' I can only say that it was delightful.
So, for guidance of others, what was wrong? I suppose we made the first mistake in assuming that as English children were at school on the dates we visited, then there would only be a few children at the hotel; how wrong we were ! We all have varying standards, but the English guests were a real minority,(about 6 or 8) and the main guests appear to come from Russia which is fine, but many children were simply allowed to run about the hotel with little or no supervision, and the 'delightful' dining room was often just full of noise and 'crying' as the children were overtired. Very young children were also helping themselves (messily) from the 'buffet' and simply filling their plates with food that was never eaten. A previous reviewer has commented at length on the 'Dining Room' situation, and they are absolutely right. The Dining Room manager 'Antonious' is a delightful man, He has full control of the staff and works and works. He did try to point out to guests that they should be correctly dressed in the Dining Room, but he was just rudely ignored. Perhaps a large sign at the restaurant entrance my have helped.
The delightful leisure pool, is just that, do not assume that it is really deep enough for proper swimming, but it is beautifully kept and a wonderful pool for children. One Russian family considered that it was in order to play with a remote controlled high speed boat in the pool when it was full of other children...but what can one say !!
The staff at the 'Pool Bar' Stella superbly in control, with Andrew and Kostas assisting were a delight. They certainly had their hands full with Guests being on several different 'all inclusive' tariffs, but they managed much better than some of the ill-tempered guests.
The Hotel Bar in the evening was very professionally run by 'Nikos' who really can mix anything you could desire, and the waiting staff were also very hard working. The decking outside the main bar is delightful for evening drinks and lovely views, but certainly needs much more shade available for early evening, and several guests had to move inside.
The Manager of the hotel 'Ioannis Karakasis' has a constant 'worried' look, but in fact is very easy to talk to, and really wants everything to be 'excellent' for his guests. He controls the staff well enough, it really is some of the 'guests' that are the problem. We shall always remember the 5 or 6 year old urinating into the flower bed as his parents looked on, and several children of a similar age swimming with no costumes on. Ioannis is always walking about the hotel and his watchful eye is really trying to keep everything up to scratch...I certainly do not envy him his job !
The food in the Restaurants is fine, but do not expect greek traditional food, it is 'International' and often quite bland, but plenty of it, and of good quality in the main.
The 'Spa' is strange. There are delightful Juccuzi type beds which could be wonderful to relax on if the water was not colder than the pool outside....cannot understand this !! We did mention it, but nothing happened.
If you have bothered to reach the end of this review, then I again repeat that this is a fabulous hotel, in perhaps a rather 'poorly area', but that should not affect anyone's enjoyment. If you have children, and can afford it, then this really could be for you.
We are aware that the 'overbooking' does happen, as we have spoken with others, so beware !

The star of the Hotel, is 'Sophia'. Her management skills and care of clients is the best I have ever seen. Congratulations to her, and I sincerely hope that she rapidly moves up the 'management' chain.

Room Tip: Rooms 132 or 133 are exceptional with a shared pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had made a reservation for two rooms through an online travel agency (Olympic Holidays) on July 12th for the second week of August. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and that we were transfered to another 5 star hotel at a different location without any previous notification from the hotel or the travel agency. Responding to our complains, the manager claimed that 2 days before(!!!) the hotel informed the travel agency about the problem... We did not receive any notification prior to our arrival, but even if we were informed just 48 hours before our arrival it would not make any difference. We are still trying to find out what happened ... Until now the only thing that we have discovered is the lack of respect and the complete indifference of Cavo Spada Hotel and Olympic Holidays agency...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Crete/Kolymbari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.