We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peaceful villa with breathtaking view & priv.

Enjoy the privacy!
Enjoy the amazing colors of the sky!
Spend your evenings by the pool drinking cold beer!
Atsipopoulo
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tsm99
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The villa and location were just perfect for us and our 3 year old. I spent many hours by the pool and on the roof terrace just soaking up the beautiful view over the forest down to the mediterannean. The villa is a short distance from a town with a couple of supermarkets, small bars/tavernas and things to cater for daily needs, but just a 10 min drive from the centre of the lively and picturesque main town with its many bars, restaurants and shops, plus huge beach. The balance between staying somewhere so peaceful and beautiful with no noise other than local wildlife, but having such easy access to everything is ideal for a family holiday in my view. The villa sleeps more people than us, and space would certainly not be a problem for 2 or even 3 couples, or a bigger family than mine.

The villa is about 10 years old, and the quality of the construction and attention to detail is excellent and very evident throughout. Spacious and comfortably furnished (great beds!), good sized swimming pool and terrace, plus a large roof terrace, and plenty of mod cons. Spotlessly clean when we arrived, and cleaned twice when we were there too. Then there are the owners who were so friendly and helpful to us - we were given a large moussaka on arrival to save us having to cook, plus olive oil and honey (both delicious) made by the family. We were also lucky enough to be invited round one afternoon for a big meal with the owners' family and friends and could not have been made to feel more welcome. Other good aspects were very quick replies to my queries and questions before booking, no charge for cleaning (should ALWAYS be included if you ask me).

I always prefer a villa to a hotel and have stayed in many, and this villa exceeded my expectations in nearly every way. We plan to return to the same place (something we have never done before) in the future and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Merc9SLK
Scarborough, yorkshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“"Pure Heaven!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 4th consecutive year at Villa Rodamanthys, staying 2 weeks which for me............were not long enough!

I love this villa, a holiday in Crete simply would not be the same experience and I felt immediately like I had " returned home". Infact tears were shed on the day of departure. (couple travelling aged 40 & 49).

You really feel a part of the community in the village of Atsipopoulo, everyone very welcoming, helpful. No need to go to Rethmyno although we did just to add contrast!

Go to cafe Versus in the village, so welcoming we stayedto the "wee small hours" to watch all important football! (well for my husband that is!) you get nibbles with your drinks, nice seating area outside with lemon trees and ...........no tourists! Excellent!
Next to the cafe, the supermarket sells the most creamy feta cheese cut to your sizing! Yummy! The creta farm sausages are amazing - only saw them in this shop though!

A nice touch adding free wifi at the villa although at its strongest if seated in the lounge area.

Arrived to lovely fresh fruit and a bottle of red wine in the fridge, the "gift fairy" visited almost daily! We woke to fresh farm eggs, cucumbers, peppers, melon and on our return one day a home made mousaka! Superb hospitality.

Shame didn't meet Pandora (horse) close up or see the farm.......next time! I missed the goats, this was a huge element missing from the holiday. Assured moved to a different pasture - I used to love their daily walk around the fence of the villa where you could get up close and feed them! However, plenty of free roaming goats if you get out and about!

You must visit Chania for the day, approx 1 hour drive. We parked for free just past the Carrefour supermarket on the left.

The drive to Hora Stakion worthwhile, tiny cove but worthwhile just to drive past Imbros Gorge and stop for lunch at Sigaria restaurant. Yummy food!

You must also drive to Gramvossa up the hair raising dirt track - picture postcard view at the top! We stopped for lunch at a tiny harbour just after Kissamos for superbly fresh calamari!

I could live in this villa, give up my career and life in England, there are 2 others in near but a pleasing distance so privacy is not enfringed, which are just as nice but Rodamanthys has my "heart". So, check out the Asterion and Eloitia.

Fresh sheets and towels every 3 days, would be a bonus if pool towels could be provided as these take up a lot of your baggage allowance for the flight!


We WILL be back next year and text the owner on 7th July on route to the airport to request our booking. I promise after a visit to this retreat, you would do the same!

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paula K
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
“The right place for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

My husband and I (57, 56) were looking for a place to unwind and read and that's why we found villa Ellotia, where we lived for a week in August 2011. Although the villa is big enough for six, we enjoyed being there with just the two of us. De identical neighbour villa Rodamanthys is located on a distance of 40 meters, and the third on the estate, villa Asterion, somewhat further, approximately 60 meters away. Villa Ellotia is build in 2002 on the highest level of the property with spectacular views on the sea (5 km) and the beautiful nature. One sees only some roofs and houses in the distance, but the overall impression is one of a peaceful environment. The quietness was deafening with crickets nearby, dogs barking in the distance and the friendly bells of the none obtrusive goats in the oak forest nearby.

But be aware of the neighbours! Most of the peaceful quietness depends on their behaviour. On day two of our stay we were brutally shocked by the arrival of an Russian family of six, of which the young people dived screaming and shouting in their pool. Just because of the quiet surroundings a noise like that is very disturbing. But after this encounter they left the house every day in the morning and returned long after dark, so although we didn't understand this behaviour (Who wants leave a lovely spot like this?) we enjoyed their absence.

The isolated place makes a car necessary. Groceries can be done in Atsipopoulo, and of course in Rethymnon.

For Greek standards as we know them the villa is very well equipped. Even so we found that the beds are not easy for tall people as my husband (1.90 m). There was only one bed without a foot, so that's the one we had to use. Also a small microwave would be welcome and although we did not expect a fully equipped kitchen, we would prefer some basic stuff like salt, pepper, a peace of soap and a toilet roll in both bathrooms. On the other hand the communication and service were fine: the owners were easy to reach by phone, a broken coffee machine was replaced the same day and we got some fruits and ice cream as a friendly gesture.

In short: we do recommend this lovely villa in this beautiful setting for people like us, who are looking for a quiet and peaceful place to unwind in the middle of nature. Ideal would be if the neighbour villa would be rented by people with a similar attitude. We will surely return!

Paula Klaver,
The Netherlands.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Merc9SLK
Scarborough, yorkshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“ssshhh! ........Luxurious Cretian Retreat .........."best kept secret"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

This is the 3rd consecutive year we have had the pleasure of staying at Villa Rodamanthys, which we consider to be our "second home" , leaving each time with with sadness and a tear in our eyes.

Situated approximately 10 minutes drive from the beautiful Rethymyno with it's venetian harbour and quaint narrow streets packed with restaurants, bars and boutiques. You won't be disappointed to spend an evening in Rethymyno soaking up the atmosphere and people watching. However, don't be too hasty to leave this beautiful villa during the day or evening as this holiday is about the location of the villa and what it has to offer. You will experience a relaxing retreat with the bonus of local wildlife which you will not find in your usual package holiday to a purpose built resort.

The villa is situated up the hillside (car is necessary) from the village of Astipopoulo which has everything you could need for your stay - supermarket, beautiful bakery, ATM machine, couple of restaurants, trendy bar Ima. This viilage is very traditional and the locals will make you feel incredibly welcome, offering advice and assistance where necessary. You can even hear the congregation of the local Church each Sunday singing in the distance from Villa Rodamanthys which is superb. The church bells chime upon the hour daily so you don't lose track of time. There is also a large Lidl supermarket at the crossroads of the main highway in which you can stock up on basics.

The villa is situated near to Villa Eloita but far enough to feel very private, with access to both by an electronic gate. Excellent size private swimming pool and sufficient sunbeds for maximum occupancy (3 beds with day bed in living room). Well equiped kitchen with electric cooker, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, washing machine, built in exterior BBQ, DVD player, full table tennis table outside, air con etc.

I love this villa's architecture, stone built with a roof terrace in which you can watch the sun setting in the distance, exposed beamed ceilings, ....want to go back!

Part of the attraction for me is the wildlife, a herd of mountain goats occupy the surrounding area outside the boundary fence. They have a daily routine stolling past, calling to one another with their bells ringing, each with their own personality! Take a moment to watch for the swallows and swifts swooping down each evening/late afternoon to the pool - they even fly alongside you if you are swimming - very special! As the evening draws in tiny bats swoop towards the pool and it is a lovely location to sit with candles and enjoy a meal.

Each time we have visited there has been a birds nest under the villa's canopy and if you watch carefully you get a good view of the fledglings!

The villa is a superb place to unwind, quite central to visit other areas on the island , a truly memorable place you just want to return again and again.........so much we have left a deposit with the owners for next year!

The hospitality from the owners is superb! greeted by Vangelis who brought us fresh fruit and a box of sumptuous biscuits on arrival. We also met Sofia, his sister who spoilt us with cakes and homemade mousaka!

I can't speak highly enough about this beautiful place - whilst I partly feel I want to keep it a huge secret, I also want to tell everyone I meet what a wonderful experience we have had!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jeanpierr...
grenoble
1 review
“"We' ve been coming here for 4 years''”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

The quiet location is ideal for relaxing by the pool with a drink in hand on a warm afternoon... We were amazed by the brilliant sea view and the green nature around the Villa Asterion. Less than 10 minutes drive to Rethymno town. The cleaning service is excellent and family Kanakakis is welcoming and very friendly. Definitely recommend this to everyone!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$148
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Sophia K
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2013
Response Rate: 15 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing