We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Socrates Restaurant

Socrates Restaurant
Milatos Beach | Milatos Lasithiou Crete, Milatos, Crete, Greece
+30 698 748 5868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Milatos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We would like to welcome you to the historic village of Milatos and to Socrates apartments. We are a family business with a lot of passion and love for our job. The 19 years that we run our business make us proud and grateful for the love we receive from our guests for our services. It would be a real pleasure to welcome you to our village and to Socrates restaurant & apartments.
Como, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived in Milatos without a target so we decided to try this restaurant, the food was great we had a Greek salad fried calamari, grilled octopus we had a beautiful view, we were right in front of the sea and the food was fresh and tasty

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Decided to visit the Socrates after seeing the reviews on Trip advisor. Moussaka, Veal stew, and Omelette all delicious along with great hospitality from the owners. We travelled to Milatos by the Happy Train, from Sissi, which was a great way of getting to the resort. Would definitely recommend stopping at the Socrates, should you visit Milatos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the nicest surprises of my holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am spending my summer holidays in Crete, traveling around discovering new places ( culture, history etc.) A nice surprise was discovering Socrates Restaurant in Milatos ( near Sisi) . Road is a little bit dificult ( up and downs, narrow road, hilly) but is compensated a lot by the remote vilage of Milatos, excellent view of the sea ( wide in the front of Socrates restaurant) . Mousaka and all other traditional Greek dishes ( home made) very tasty, sea food the same. Very clean and quite honest concerning prices. I felt relaxed , a sort of romance ( dining at sunset ) I should say more but is better for you to go and check on your own.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“socrates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Excellent traditional food ,very good service , great variety of plates ,great portions of food at very affordable prices!!!!!!!! The most important is that the socrates restaurant has a wood oven and every sunday the menu has a special plate roast lamb or pork chicken cooked in the wood oven by socrates himself

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place & tasty seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was a little bit difficult to find this place with our navigation system but at the end we were happy visited this taverna. Reasonable price. Wonderful view from taverna to the sea side. Hospitable owners prepared beautiful seafood on grill. If u a staying for a holiday in this region and want enjoy local Greek food - go there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socrates Restaurant also viewed

Milatos, Lassithi Prefecture
Milatos, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Milatos, Lassithi Prefecture
Milatos, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Socrates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socrates Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.