We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Milatos
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what we paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

25/4/15-05/5/15
We paid for 5 star all inclusive but !!!!!! On arrival we found that the double room suite that we booked was not available as they were still being refurbished and the whole area was cordoned off, so we were given two rooms with an adjoining door which was at best only 3 star.
There were only 40 people when we arrived so we were allowed to use the veranda bar ( which if the hotel were full we would not have been allowed to use as we had the wrong all inc as there was different levels of all inc????
All 5 a la carte were closed which we were told that we would have had to pay for if they were open as we had the wrong all inc again.
The pools were very cold, the only warm pool was the quiet pool which had the heating turned off so was very cold by the end of the week. We asked for the pools to be heated but were told that it was to expensive to heat for so few people, so the quiet pool was anything but with the children using it.( having said that I would have used it with my kids when they were young as it was the only warm pool)
We had a JCB on the beach for two days,no railings above the beach,footpaths still under construction.
After complaint to the management we were told that the tour company's new that the resort would not be fully operational until the 13th of May ( a complaint has gone to Thomas Cook)
Having said that the staff were very good,friendly. Francisco and his wife and Leonard
Were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble.
A holiday is what u make it so we had a nice time regardless.
But not what we paid for

Room Tip: On a hill so not good for any one with walking issues, sis I is 50 min walk away over rough ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    195
    180
    142
    121
See reviews for
363
445
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Best view, best food, best room !!!!
The best pool ever!!!!!!
Restaurant very good
Best location
Clean room!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best view, best food, best room !!!!
The best pool ever!!!!!!
Restaurant very good
Best location
Clean room!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we have just returned from the minos imperial, I find it hard to see how some of the previous reviews are so negative ! we found the accommodation excellent, the room we had was a sea front diamond class one and apart from some noise from the lorries nearby we were more than happy. the whole complex was lovely, what a change to have the choice of so many lovely seating areas, and no towels on beds! the negative side of things were ,as others have stated, we paid for "diamond class" which, in effect, didn't exist ! we booked on the assumption that we would have a choice of fine dining restaurants, I am not very keen on buffets every night ! but they were all closed, I took this up with the manager,and was informed that it was the fault of the travel agents as they knew the restaurants would not be open until june. considering we paid upwards of £100 this is far from acceptable. I am still waiting for a reply from broadway travel!! another point was that on talking to other guests, who were premium class, they were given an automatic upgrade (free) on arrival to a suite, which was far superior to our room. also the only "fine dining" we experienced was available to everyone. I must say the management were more than helpful for our complaint but its a shame they don't get together with the agents to prevent the disappointment we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned after one week special offer from Broadway Travel. Told by them it would be suitable for walking stick user. It is not! Many steps without handrails. Room was nice, shower room/toilet/washbasin. also 2nd room with bath and washbasin. Large balcony with view over whole site and the sea. Food ok but similar each day, most meat and fish dishes overcooked. Waiters pounce on you plate the moment you have finished.
Many of the advertised restaurants not open (told too early in season) Pools areas very pleasant,most staff helpful and polite, especially Thilak at the "Quiet" pool (adults only and no music) Site is isolated set between Milatos and Sissi. No local bus, so its hire car or taxis if you want to get out and about. Management staff are aware or poor reviews and seem to be working hard to make things better. This site is beautifully laid out and could be excellent, but many plants half dead and one little bridge dangerously worn. Organisation seems very muddled. We enjoyed the rest as the weather was perfect.

Room Tip: Many different room packages available. Some are a long way from the main restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just back from here. This hotel is a wonderful place to relax and soak up the sun. Nicely laid out with quiet pools for those who do not want kids around. Rooms clean and spacious. Cleaned regularly. The food is plentiful and varied,so something for even the fussiest eater. Cant praise the staff enough. Helpful, courteous, informative and always smiling. Recommend it. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are more then adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this hotel and it was lovely. Accomodation, food, service all very good. Of course one can always find fault but some of the comments below are ridiculous. It is a perfectly nice hotel, spacious, clean, in a beautiful setting and it appears the staff work hard to make it so. For what it costs go and enjoy a week in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There is no way this is a five star hotel at best a three star.There isn't even signage to the front of the hotel we had to rely on the coach driver to announce that we had arrived. We stayed for a week of five star luxury, how wrong could we be. There was supposed to be a shuttle bus, no shuttle bus. Free WiFi in certain areas, had to pay for Wifi with very very poor strength. No waiter service, help yourself. Poor food being either luke warm or under cooked, poor choice. There were no a la carte restaurants open, Greek nite meal was forced on all guests having to sit out doors and it was freezing but no alternative given. There was no entertainment at the very least there should have been use of piano bar. The beach, what beach? Very very poor under development and there were no water sports available. The hotel stopped providing drinks until 11pm after such you had to pay for them and the bars then emptied. Most of the staff were poor and kept clearing tables very quickly to the extent that a couple left the table to get some more food and when they came back to the table it had been cleared. If you wish to go to 'authentic' village which does not exist you need to walk on dirt track one way approx 1k or the other way 2.5k. over the week guests were just complaining which you do not expect to hear. Question: would I stay here again ? No way - would I recommend this hotel ? No way - would you return to Crete? Based on this experience , not likely.

Room Tip: Must ask for Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.