We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very disappointed. On the first night we were served wine at dinner in plastic cups! Improved following nights to glass tumblers and sometimes wine glasses. Some staff- cleaners and waitress - worked hard. Pools were lovely and clean and pool bar-staff excellent. Complimentary meal in other restaurant was great and service there was excellent. In the main bar one bar-man was rude and unhelpful. He was reluctant to give water to drink alongside alcohol. He said rudely "How many drinks do you want?" He was overheard saying to other guests that we were "ladies who drink". Entertainment was non-existant. We turned up for aqua-aerobics and were Informed that the Animation Team had "gone home". We needed some entertainment as the weather later in week was abysmal. We spent hours playing cards because there was nothing else to do. We couldn't go out in the storm and had to ask for the main bar to be opened so we could get a coffee. Finally they opened the bar and lit the fire. However, on last night 2 guys turned up with music and we had brilliant hour dancing. It should have been like that every night.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    182
    156
    129
    109
See reviews for
344
399
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We just came back from our one week holiday in this resort where we went with our 2 year old little man. The sea was nice and warm, the food was delicious and the staff speaks many languages so you can always find someone who can help you kindly. Also, the staff loves kids so our son was spoilt by all the waiters/waitresses and the whole resort is very family friendly which helped us to totally relax on our week off.
We arrived during the night and the room was all sorted, with the cot bed being available, too. The wifi is a bit pricey and your own network doesn't really work on the top of the resort but hey, not much internet is needed when you are on holiday. The wave breakers helped for us to enjoy the sea even when it was a bit rough. The pools are clean and nicely laid out. The restaurant has a wide variety of food, personally, I loved the Greek food corner. The room is regularly cleared, the aircon is perfectly working, the bed is massive. :) I actually loved the hotel for its location despite all the negative comments I read prior. It was the best choice we could make and can't wait to be back soonest.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a great week at this lovely hotel. Accommodation excellent room service great food ok with good variety and different restaurants ....All inclusive good check the drinks menu there are other drinks you can get but they don't tell you at the bar .... Most staff lovely and friendly but they work long hours so did look tied and fed up.... Some staff totally rude and unhelpful..... But manager listened to feed back and apologised with some complimentary meals and drinks ... hotel need of some customer service training for some staff but overall excellent

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Prior to going to this resort we had read a lot of negative reviews. Upon arrival the hotel was excellent, best room we have had in Greece, Super king size bed, semi circular bath with bubbles. Staff friendly and helpful, room cleaned everyday. Variety of food at different restaurants. We did not need to upgrade to diamond class. We met people from other countries (apart from our own) and had a wonderful time. Only complaint is that there is no cashpoint at the hotel and you have to go into Sissi, approximately one hour each way over rocky terrain, or cab 15 euros each way.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel, helpful staff, excellent food, spotless at all times and had a fab time. Do not read negative reviews and don't listen to the constant moaners. I am a frequent traveller and so our the friends who travelled with me and this hotel is amazing. Special thanks to Paola our little waitress, barmaid and glass collector. Always smiling and willing to help.

Special thanks to restaurant managers in all the restaurant's, as all worth a visit and all excellently managed. Main restaurant was great too and plenty of variety. The lady chef here does a mean omelet! Thank you :)

We paid diamond VIP and glad we did, as had more variety and ample choice. We also had our own shared pool - definite plus! We had excellent room service, clean towels daily, sheets too, excellent cleaner and fresh water daily. Bar above our room with excellent bar staff.

Fab hotel to unwind, relax, have fun (if you have a personality that is) some people are not so friendly, but that is customers for you! Staff were great with our party of 6, which became 8 and always willing to listen and ensure you have a good time.

Many thanks to all staff, some I have forgotten their names and I apologise, but i blame the drinks and sun! You know who you are!! Would defiantly rate as 5, especially when you see other hotels on Island. This way you can compare, if you don't compare how can you review. Loved it and would return.

Many thanks again and lots of love to all our friendly bar staff. From Barbara & Michelle - Liverpool. Also John and Jason big thumbs up from us.

Room Tip: Diamond glass and room 415 was amazing. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On returning from here for a break it has some good sides but some bad . All it needs is a good management team in and sort it out . The place is a lovely hotel as many say I The middle of no where but great if you just need to chill. On arrival we was told don't unpack your room is not ready till the morning , we landed at 1.30 am and was put in a room with no windows etc for the night , the next morning off down to reception to be told come back after 12o'clock . Went for breakfast and went back to the room for our sun creams etc to find a note to contact reception as they were moving us @ 11am off back to reception to get our new key and room to be told we would get free wifi and free safe and a free room upgrade to sea view for our inconvenience (we had already paid for this type of room ??? ) when we went back to the room to get our luggage it had gone !!!! So off back to reception who said it was in the new room . I was not happy as my hand bag had been moved etc . To be fair everything was in place but still should have been informed instead of going up and down 3 times on our 1st morning . The reception staff were friendly but the rest of them omg !! Day 1 went to the bar asked for a drink the reply was what !!! I asked again for a coffee to my horror the coffee was put on the bar and spilt with his anger . Just thought he was having a bad day . The meals you had to pre book for the one next to the pool ok with that the main restraunt was ok but same each day . The thing that did put me off was when you went for a drink and wasps came out of the taps . I have travelled to lots of places and never seen this even in Thailand you did not get that . Then on the evening off up to the piano bar lovely setting 2 waiters on great had to wait a while to get served so when I did I asked for 2 drinks which I got and also asked for 2 coffees the reply I got was WHAT so I repeated myself I was then questioned how many people are you with I was gob smacked at the attitude , this went on throughout our stay . My suggestion is get some staff that are happy in there work and then everybody will get better service . It was the staff that let this place down . A tip also at the beach bars all the Bacardi etc is in the cupboard if you ask you get otherwise you get the local stuff . Rooms were cleaned everyday and as lts of people say no entertainment . All inclusive is finished at 11pm on drinks . I think with a little tender loving care this place could be great but they must be loosing thousands. I sat in reception one night awaiting for a drink and heard 6 people complaining ref rooms and being changed and free stuff being given everybody got different . The last thing I will say is that if you go for your meal around 8.30 pm you are told to go outside as they are setting the tables up for the morning and they start moving the food before you have even filled your plate . Thought that should happen after 9pm not before . Get a grip and you will have a gold mine of a place it's not rocket science .

Room Tip: Does not matter what room you pay for complain then you will get one free. Even if you did pay for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ive just got back from minos imperial yesterday! Ok good points are its a big hotel lots of different pools,water features bridges and bars etc.loads of sunbeds n big beds even tho yes people leave there towels on.the all inclusive food buffet for premium was good but we stayed here 2 weeks so after a bit u get sick of eating it but loads of pudding choice!All of the staff are lovely n try there best to help u.
BAD POINTS.. room was nice but was full of ants coming out of the bathroom door, and bath didnt work but we had a shower aswell, the cleaner was the friendliest ive ever met n was always talking to us but i think thats so she could do half a job on cleaning because all she did was empty bins replace bathroom facilities etc and everywhere else was filthy like the balcony! Under the bed , the shelves the bathroom sink etc.
The bars are a joke! If u go the one near reception at night for a drink u literally wait 1 hour to get served because theres 1 lad on who is trying hes best but cant cope alone! All the customers are arguing over whos first and by time uve waited each time for a drink 11pm comes and its finished or u after pay extra.the best bar is one near pool indoors tho, its quicker but not much entertainment.we got ripped off quad bikes on the dirt track at bottom of hotel they charged us 150 euros for two day hire, but if u go right to bottom of dirt track theres a hire place called newline and for two days hire it was 90 euros. Without this quad we felt like we was imprisoned its in the middle of nowhere and with quad bike we went malia,sissi,heraklion, hersonissos n more was really fun! They play bingo in hotel which is 5 euro each but u win champagne and theres animation team for kids but that is the onli bit if entertainment n a piano player! I had a good holiday but was expensive hiring quad bikes 3 times so we could do things and eating out twice was good for a change! I found overall that for the money we paid it wasnt worth it and people let the hotel down by lazyness and service! It took me three times to ring reception n ask for towels the cleaner forgot to give! In the end i found the towels myself on a trolley outside!my boyfriend and i was bitten to death by something in that room n dint enjoy sleeping in there for two weeks! But it was still a nice holiday visiting places and the pools were nice and it was really hot so i hope this helps the people thinking of going. I read the reviews before i went but i guess u can onli really find out yourself because everyone is different.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.