We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do one thing well !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do one thing well !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have travelled well and booked the higher end of the budget for this trip - please listen to your customers Minos Imperial ...."a two tier system does not work", you need to either go all out for 5* or settle for 4*, trying to do both leaves it feeling 3* . . concentrate your customer satisfaction on one of these and you'll be fine!
Employ more staff - seeing the same faces throughout the day working at different venues and in different capacities slowly questions the level of care and expertise offered to the customer, as i said earlier ...."do one thing well !"
I am often told that my food tastes are bland - Minos did nothing to help - food was ok but i don't remember anything being labelled so i had no idea what was its content, it wouldn't be hard to do as its pretty much the same every day no matter which establishment you decided to tackle.
On this note i will also remind you of your dress code, I phoned reception regards this for the evening dining to which i was informed "no shorts in the dining area !" . . .really??... so why not enforce it ? Come on Minos put your foot down - "do one thing well !" - seeing a pattern emerge yet?
We received an "invitation " for the managers evening meal - well we didn't receive it but told about it then had to queue for 20 mins to be seated - crazy!!
How about some shows for the adults?,and before you answer that i don't mean a guy on a piano and two dancers - nothing after 11pm - i don't even go to bed that eary at home !!
Question to you at Minos Imperial - do you actually block the 3G signal so you can sell Wi-Fi ?
200 yards either side full 3G ? Please answer.......
Fellow travellers it is in the middle of nowhere but you know that if you did your research - so hire a car for a day.
On the plus side now - what a room! We called it the "turret suite" ground floor think it was 614 - it was access all areas and a huge surprise at 1.30am when we arrived and had no issues with the room or laundry throughout our stay, see... easy!
Remember Minos Imperial . . ."do one thing well!" and go for 5* as it feels like 3* and for heavens sake get an electric golf cart for transport !!
Would we return or recommend you ? Drop the system you have - you may think it does but it doesn't work, you can throw all the money you want at the place but nothing will change,lose the deadwood staff - some seem to enjoy working there some don't and that can only undermine the good ones, tell me when you done this and we will be back .....with family and friends!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    181
    149
    126
    107
See reviews for
340
391
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just got back 12th Sep after 2 weeks on the diamond room and board. We only booked this as diamond stated they have waiter service I thought this meant food but it was mostly only drinks, although most restaurants are buffet service all but the main dinning room the food was very good.
We only ventured it the blue restaurant once 'never again' for the whole holiday, Christina who worked for the hotel managed to change our booking she was always very cheerful and helpful, the veranda bar is situated above the only night entertainment and is for the kids and goes on for what seems all night, 'I'm still trying to get those tunes out of my head'. The only other entertainment seems to be trying to get served at the bar, you have to try too keep cheerful and just play a game watching all the miserable faces waiting to get served and the Russians shouting above everyone else to get served. I had the feeling the owners of the hotel were exploiting its customers charging 5 star prices on a shoe string with very few staff all of whom were very over worked. This experience has put me of 'all inclusive' for live as it made you feel cheap. I would rather get what I paid for.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was very average nothing special and not 5 Star class, lose towel rails , pealing paint in the pools and they did not change the sheets every day until I stripped the bed myself!
We booked all inclusive thinking it would be but it wasn't. No fresh orange juice at breakfast, just cordial pop unless we paid 3 euros for it each time or upgraded at an extra 40 euros a day.
We could only eat in certain restaurants and couldnt even get a bottle of water or a coffee from the bar unless we upgraded.
The bar staff were friendly but the restaurant staff were not and I saw them shout at many customers on occasions.
The entertainment was none existent for adults just for kids.
The all-inclusive at the bar covered local spirits and beers but tasted horrible and finished at 11pm although they were happy to take your money after that as the bar didnt actually close until 1am. A drink after 11pm will cost you 8 euros for a JD and coke.
I would be so bothered if this hotel was cheap but it wasnt.
This hotel has put me off all inclusive for live.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Si R,

We wish to thank you for your feedback on your stay in our resort.

In Minos Imperial we provide our guests with two All Inclusive options. The Premium Class, which is the basic all inclusive and the Diamond Class, where much more services are offered.

Guests therefore have the option to chose between the two according to their budget and expectations. Fresh orange juice is included in the Diamond Class All Inclusive, as well as various dinning options, refill of mini fridge in the room, a large selection of speciality coffees, beverages and cocktails as well. We believe that you must have been informed of what is included and what is not before staying in our resort.

In any case if we were informed about the points that you mention we would have been given the opportunity to take action while you were here, so allow us to say that we can make your travel experience better together.


We would be very interested to receive some ideas of what kind of entertainment you would wish to receive since we constantly try to impove our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinsheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were guests there in August. It was, overall, an enjoyable stay. But do keep in mind, this is not an european 5* standard. The hotel complex is big, nice, has many pools and nice bars. Seems like some rooms were renovated, some not. We had a not so new renovated apartment and was still ok (the crt tv set was kind of misplaced there though). There's not much amenities.
The pluses: i think all rooms have at least side sea view. The apartments are big and each room with own bathroom, which makes it very convenient when traveling with kids. And this is a complex obviously full of families traveling with kids. As diamond-AI it was almost everything included and what was not, we didn't miss it. The grill at the family pool was quite very good and fresh. Cocktails in the Veranda bar are not bad, but keep in mind it's an AI club, not a cocktail club. We felt the personell was trying their best to keep the guests happy, but they were also at almost the end of the season, so sometimes tired :) The miniclub seems to have been a lot of fun for our 5yo daughter, she only wanted to be there the whole day (they were also taking the kids to the octopus pool). Dinner and buffet were nice as well, mediterranean and fresh vegetables. Lots of options at breakfast as well, but bring patience to get your omelet.
The small negative aspects: well, like in most big complexes (and it's big!), the maids are not going the extra mile to clean. But if you request it once more, they will come again and fix it. The location is far..far..far away from anything. Without a car, you are locked there, no bus, no transfer, taxi to the next lived place is like 25eur one way, rental is 60 a day, so better book it for the whole week for 250. For adults there is zero entertainment (well, the special evenings but that's not a highlight). The beach is also tiny, but we did not feel squeezed in by other guests. However, a quick view in google earth helps.
You can also book apartments with own little pool (however, i don't think they are good for families, as the rooms are only optically separated, but no door or walls in between). Or you can book the presidential suites, which have a decent sized pool and rooms are separated.
All in one, it was relaxing and kid was happy. So 4* from us.

Room Tip: The presidential suites are a good choice for privacy when traveling with family. The apartments nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All my family and I feel like the design of the rooms is from 2020, newly renovated suites and family suites !!!! This a destination of its own, on the beach. So many options and services!! The beach side promenade makes you feel like you are in a Greek island both during the day and night! Excellent facilities for my child but also for me and my wife.. We will definitely come back, this time with another friendly couple of ours.

Room Tip: Reserve their newly design rooms if you are a couple or family with one child
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We deliberated a lot, and read a lot of TripAdvisor reviews, before deciding to join our friends at the Minos Imperial. I have to say before I write that this is my first time at an all included club (except for Club Med - and I think Club Med is in a category in itself) so its quite possible that, as all included goes, this one is even considered good. Also it was August, probably the busiest season.
There were pluses and minuses. I'll start with the pluses:
Beautiful location, great pools, a variety of pools, very nice ground.
The room was fine with a beautiful view of the sea (though we didn't have the diamond deal or any such upgrades).
There was an ice cream stand near all the pools and the kids could go whenever they wanted to get ice cream cones all day.
The pools didn't feel crowded even though it was the busiest season. Though it wasn't easy to find empty lounge chairs by the pools if you arrived late in the morning.
There were water slides that were fun for the kids.
There was a barBQ lunch near one of the pools with really tasty cookout food.
Also some of the staff were helpful - we celebrated a birthday one evening, I ordered a cake, which was ready in time and was lovely. We celebrated at the lounge by the beach at sunset and it was wonderful. The restaurant manager was very helpful, as was the reception staff.
There's a nice beach area (though stone sand) and the staff at the beach sports was very friendly (we rode a banana and the kids had a blast).
All in all, the kids had a wonderful time and were immune to the thing that bothered us the adults.

Now for the problems (there were lots):
The service - some of the staff were nice, some were not, and many were clearly fed up with the guests (who were almost all Israelis and Russians). Our room was far from the restaurant but they were reluctant to send us a carriage. We had to ask a few times for some things. Once we slept and missed the room cleaning, I called twice to ask for cleaning, was assured it would be done in the evening, but we returned at 11pm to a room that wasn't cleaned.
Upkeep - the grounds are beautiful but the maintenance so-so. The pools were missing tiles, stuff like that.
Restaurants: the main restaurant food was quite good, but in this week at least there was a problem with too many people. If you arrived at 6:30 for dinner it was fine. If you arrived at 7:30 you would find yourself in a long line outside waiting to get in (sometimes a half-hour line). Often it was not easy to find a table. In general the experience in the restaurant was of a "survival" mode running around in the crowd trying to scavenge your meal. There were other restaurants where you had to pay extra. They were very pleasant to sit at, but the food was mediocre, and there was a lot less selection for kids (at one ours ate only bread) so I wouldn't recommend them for families.
Entertainment - we were once at Club Med in Turkey where there were great shows and an amazing kids disco. Here there was one CD of songs they replayed every night and the staff was so-so, it was sometimes fun but not nearly at the level of Club Med.
All in all, I can't really recommend the Minos, especially since its not cheap and claims to be 5 stars....And one last request to the management, please do NOT reply with one of your emails "please don't make jokes, people could lose their jobs" etc. This is an honest review, which I hope will help visitors make the right decision for them!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mickey C,

We wish to first of all thank you for your kind words written and your feedback about Minos Imperial.

We have taken your points under consideration, which would make our services better and we are in the process of introducing certain kids specialities in other restaurants as well, apart from the kids buffet in the Grand Blue restaurant.

Last but not least we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel grounds, your room, various swimming pool options and facilities for children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

המלון מעולה למשפחות עם ילדים קטנים 3-10.
5 בריכות גדולות , ובריכת מגלשות מים(בבריכת המגלשות המים מלוחים וגם באחת הבריכות האחרות...) האוכל ברמה סבירה מגוון אך בכל יום מוגש אותו האוכל...
חבילת ההכל כלול מוגבלת עד השעה 23:00 לא שמים מים בחדרים כל יום והכספת בתשלום ואין וואיפי חינם במלון.בערב המלון מציעה הופעות שונות גם למבוגרים וגם לילדים.אך בסה"כ המלון טוב מאוד ולא גרוע כמו בתגובות באתר.. המלון נקי ומסודר חדרים נוחים שירות וצוות מעולה!

Very big and well maintained hotel, beautiful pools with both fresh and salt water. The location is a bit far if you intend to leave the hotel. Taxi ride to the nearest bus station (in Sissi) costs 15 euros. The rooms are large and clean. The food is a bit too repetitive and every day is nearly the same menu. Deserts and fruits are very tasty.
As for negatives: there is no free internet , you have to pay for the safe in the room and No drinks in the room are charged extra which is ridiculous for an all inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.