We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, poor rooms, poor food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Milatos
Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
“Poor service, poor rooms, poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort is a beautiful place, with lots of swimming pools BUT this is one of the most expensive resorts in Crete, and you simply DON'T get what you paid for.
Staff members are very very rude! shauting at guests, they are not polite and don't give the service they require to.
The food is very poor, but more importent, the lights at the dinning room are being shut down 5 min before the official time, geusts can still enter, leaving the guests to eat leftovers, with no beverage machines.
The air condition in our room didn't work. When we called at 11 PM, the operator said that there is no support for this issue after 11, but she will check if he is still in the resort. I asked how will I know if he will come, and her answer was: "if he will come, he will come, if not, not". He didn't came and my husband spent the night sleeping at the porch, because it was too hot inside the room.
There is no free wi-fi (what 5* hotel doesn't have free wi-fi?!), and like many other things, you require to pay for: wi-fi, espresso, fine cocktail..
You require to deposite 10 uero for a towel, 30 uero for an electric pot and even for the safe in the room, you require to leave a deposite at the reception.
The "water park" is 3 slides with salty water, open only for 2 hours in the mornning and 2 hours at noon.
the rooms are very very simple, not "luxury" at all. The water in the shower don't drain well, which makes you "standing in a bath".The bed matresses are absolutly terrible, we couldn't sleep well for the whole vacation.
We have a family summer vacation every year, and this is the most terrible hotel we stayed at.
This is NOT a 5 * luxury all inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    175
    141
    125
    106
See reviews for
327
384
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spent 5 nights with my wife and 12 & 8 YO kids. It was fun, great view, great swimming pools; I did also open water swimming few times. The food was OK, changed every day.
We made some walking to the nearest villages that was also fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were concerned after reading reviews before we came but have been pleasantly surprised! Would say its 4* rather than 5*, large complex, friendly staff, clean. We had a 2 room bungalow in centre of resort, not a refurbished room but clean. We were premium package for 7 days then decided to upgrade to Diamond for the last 3 so have experienced both sides of the offering. Yes the food on basic can be repetitive but you can pay to use the other restaurants, lots of choice on the buffet - salads, fish bar, hot dishes, kids food, desserts included fresh pancakes! The resort was full but you could always get a sun bed and never felt crowded.
Manolis working at Laguna was lovely , very helpful and friendly, Ross was also helpful. A special mention for Kristene, customer relations manager, lovely lady always smiling and very informative!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had written a slightly less scathing review of this property but it got taken down for an implied use of a profanity whilst describing an exchange between a member of staff and a paying guest... staff member swearing at a guest whilst guest being polite and offering an apology, not visa versa. Since you are not given the opportunity to retrieve your entire original review so as to edit out the offending "implied word", I'll have to rewrite most of it; but this time being a little more frank and not so forgiving of this appalling resort.

Before proceeding however, there are a handful of employees we would separate from the following general view of service levels: Nikos, Ioannis, and many of their colleagues in the Laguna Restaurant area (apart from swearing bar man) are stars of the show worthy of note. Management should clone these guys across the hotel.

Also, since writing our original review and it being removed, Joachim D has written a similarly honest review, and we sympathise 100%!

DO NOT expect a 5 star Luxury Beach Resort and Spa. The 5 stars can only have been self appointed and not "awarded" in the globally accepted conventional manner. If the AA or RAC had a wander around, we think 2-3 stars would categorise the property more accurately. Luxury? Unless the word "luxury" is Greek for "average", we're not entirely sure they can pull this off. Beach? Well, there's a very small strip of brown looking sand running down to the Mediterranean, but be sure to wear some heavy soled diver type boots lest you want to lacerate your feet the second you stray from said sand in to the water. There is a Spa, but don't let the use of this term fool you in to believing this adds a certain quality to essentially what is a holiday village for families and kids. The website is clever, glossy packaging. Think "book" and "cover" analogy.

We arrived late and were greeted by a Night Manager who desperately needed more training on how to be polite, courteous and civil to weary travellers looking forward to a relaxing week, having committed to parting with several thousand GBP's to contribute towards his and other staff salaries. Not outright rude, but pretty close. It was at this point that we discovered that our "All Inclusive" package only survives to 11PM each day so, similar to "Luxury", the word "All" apparently has a slightly different meaning in Greek or, more specifically, in this particular part of a Greek island narrowed down to a resort just outside of Milatos, Crete. "All" actually means "partially". Beware or, at the very least, read the small print thoroughly before booking. Not something we've had to do when booking previous All Inclusive packages. All means All, typically!

The rooms are spacious and the views from some are lovely; but then you are on the coast of an island in the Med, so what would you expect to see? The bathrooms are clean, although showers VERY temperamental. TV's are nudging 20 years old, but then we weren't there to watch tele so never switched it on.

We stayed on the floor with rooms 420 through to 437 (more about this detail further down). The mattresses are the hardest and most uncomfortable we have encountered in our many, many years of travelling, both business and leisure. Awful. Apparently no one has ever complained about them before! Really??? Wasn't born yesterday guys, although if I had been, I may have got a bit more sleep! This example sums up the attitude of the vast majority of untrained, complacent, confused staff at this hotel. They have absolutely no idea what they're doing or how to serve guests at any level, let alone trying to be a 5 star. This stems from the top down.

Another perfectly reasonable complaint we had was the fact that the rooms we were in were DIRECTLY beneath the adult pool decking; said decking forming the roof of rooms 420 - 437 (roughly). Between 7.30 and 8 AM every morning, the pool bar bar man would turn up for his shift and move all the sun beds back to position under the umbrellas. What a racket! I guess, in deference to his management directed tasks, we were already awake having not been able to get to sleep because of the beds, but if we were asleep and wanted a lie in, forget it. When raised with staff, again "no one had ever complained about the noise before" and "it must be guests moving the beds and laying their towels". WRONG!! Caught the chap red handed and, when challenged, he shrugged his shoulders and carried on!

Back to the reason my original review got taken down, we were witness to an exchange between a staff member and a paying guest, where there was some water splashing / dripping on the floor of the "pool side" bar area! Not sure quite how that's going to be avoided frankly. They were in the process of mopping the floor down, and this clearly very stupid and inconsiderate guest got out of the pool and tried to order a drink; for which he was subjected to a profanity for daring to drip on the floor! 5 Star?? Any star??? This is NOT how you conduct yourselves in the hospitality business. The guest is your master! The guest is PAYING YOUR SALARIES!

About the rest of our stay: Food was OK but repetitive, albeit with variety. Definitely not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination. More of a food fight than an orderly buffet. Fairly bland, but you could liven it up with the variety so long as you were able to stand your ground against various nations who haven't yet grasped the concept of polite queuing. Exactly the same grain in the trough for breakfast every day also, and €3 additional if you wanted fresh orange juice. This is called "nickel and diming" and invariably gets a paying guests' back up! Particularly if those guests have booked their holiday on the basis of "All Inclusive". INCLUDE IT OR DROP IT!

The resort choice of white wine was passable, as jug poured "from a box" wines go. Less can be said about the, we strongly suspect, watered down red wine which, in most global jurisdictions, is illegal we believe. Having said that, we think we got a "non watered down" serving one evening and you'd typically splash this on your fish & chips with a sprinkling of salt! The a la carte wine selections aren't too bad, but these do carry a premium.

The underlying problem with this property, aside from the untrained and mostly inept staff (see exceptions above), is that it promotes itself as something it absolutely is not. If billed as a 3 star family resort, then your expectation levels would be managed and you'll love it. When you expect "5 Star Luxury" and book on that basis, you WILL be hugely disappointed.

As for the glowing reports that contradict our review, I would not take too much notice of these. They can only be from friends and family of the owners, or from management and staff under orders.

Room Tip: Avoid being allocated rooms between 420 - 437, unless you're an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from two weeks at Minos Imperial

We booked just 7 days before and without checking on Trip Advisor

Which turned out to be a blessing as once we had read the reviews on here
we were a little nervous about what to expect

We had no need to be though

Minos Imperial is a well run complex with plenty of positive attributes
which made our stay there relaxing and worthwhile

The staff are great - nothing is too much trouble - special mention goes
to Maria and all the reception staff who work tirelessly - also to Manolis
at the children's pool & Adi the chap who organises the Childrens Programme

The food was plentiful and varied - as with any all inclusive after 14 days you
are dreaming about having a curry from your local curry house by the end of it
but thats what 14 days eating at any same restaurant does to you wherever you stay

With 8 pools and a small beachfront there is plenty of choice on where to chill out

Even though the Minos was fully booked during our stay it never felt overcrowded -
there was always enough of everything to go around

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at a well run Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Minos Imperial is the place to be!!!!We had an astonishing long weekend with my fiancee earlier this summer. Entering the hotel you can distinguish the luxury and the hospitality. The staff was always eager to assist us any time and for whatever we requested with a smile. Our room was the best as we were located at the sharing pool rooms only 4 steps away from one of the private pools,with jacuzzi and a wonderful view. Our bathroom was huge with luxurious amenities,separate shower and bathtab. Our king size bed and so fresh linen unforgettable!! We used the room service for breakfast and lunch which was excellent!!We tried the Aegean grill restaurant located by the beach tasting the greek specialties, the Luna d'oro restaurant for the amazing lobster night and finally a mediterannean night in laguna restaurant. We enjoyed the live piano and saxophone nights in veranda bar after tasting the wonderful cocktails,different for every night, in tropical bar. I also had the time to try the Spa for a relaxing massage by the well trained staff. All these days were a different suprise as it took me a lot of time to discover the resort and choose my favourite place....and I still can't!!!
It was such a relaxing and enjoyable time I surely want to repeat soon!!!Thank you all for everything!!!Keep up with the good job you do transforming our holidays to unforgetable days and nights!!!Looking forward to visiting you again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very worried after reading some of the reviews but have come to the conclusion that some people are just never happy This resort has something for everyone.
There is the quiet area with the adult only pool and bar with lovely pool and Jacuzzi with fantastic views - there are also lots of pools and areas for kids as well as the beach which has the usual water sports.
We had a VIP Suite which had an upstairs bedroom and bathroom and downstairs bedroom bathroom and seating area, outside terrace and private pool and access to shared huge terrace with hammock, large day beds and very quiet bar beside the adult only pool - the barman there Thalik was wonderful and it did truly feel like "butler service"
I would recommend Diamond All Inclusive - we have access to the Veranda Bar and Diamond Private Dining Room as well as nights at the other restaurants. I think some people go for the Premium All Inclusive and then once they get there wish they had went Diamond so moan on trip advisor about waiting in line for drinks or having to pay for extras I am a firm believer in getting what you pay for and with Diamond Class you do.- we never lined up our drinks were always served to us with staff coming over and asking if we wanted another.
Food was really good with so much choice and very good quality and the Diamond Dining Room is lovely and out of the bustle of the main dining area.
I can't recommend this resort enough - its luxury and we absolutely loved it.
Only one small criticism was that when we arrived late at night the person on reception wasn't very welcoming and didn't really explain all the facilities to us but apart from that the whole holiday was fantastic.

Room Tip: Go VIP Suites - they are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.