We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a 5*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was the first holiday myself and my partner had been on in 2 years, whilst we enjoyed the break even with the bad weather at the time, this hotel was very disappointing. We stayed in early October 2013 and upon arrival found the lady at reception very helpful and friendly and the surroundings aesthetically pleasing. We booked all inclusive with our travel operator without realising there are different types of all inclusive at this hotel, this is something I have never experienced before. The fridge in the hotel room came with a complementary bottle of water however we had to purchase our own after this, not something I would class as all inclusive. The room itself was clean and modern however the mattress was like sleeping on a rock, little did we know until reading other reviews that you could request something softer, we were not made aware of this. Most of the staff were rude and unhelpful, especially a well built gentleman working behind the bar of an evening, at one stage he would not serve us another drink until we had completely finished the ones we had and returned the glasses to the bar. Additionally he would only serve one drink per person, again something I've never come across in another 5* all inclusive resort I stayed at in Turkey. The large salt water pool was rather smelly however the heated pool on the upper floor was lovely. I would certainly recommend taking a walk along the coast line to Sisi, it's a beautiful village with some lovely restaurants who's staff are wonderful and really look after you. This hotel could be wonderful if the staff underwent some proper training regarding customer care, maybe they could visit Isil Clun in Bodrum, Turkey to see how it's done. I will certainly not waste any more of my precious pennies on this average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We would like to underline the fact that a precise description of the All Inclusive formula you were booked with(according the terms of your Tour Operator ) ,was explained from the beginning-upon your Arrival in Resort : a basic AI concept at attractive rate for a period of stay during October/end of season !
The possibility for an Upgrade to our "Diamond Class"All Inclusive at extra charge -was also mentioned upon Arrival by our Hotel Reception staff , but it seems that you were actually happy with the concept provided to you by your booking agent .
We consider there is no rude personnel involved in Hospitality business ,but a friendly guest can also motivate the personnel to a happy & joyful attidude .
It is advisable that you track very carefully the description given by your travel agent for your next vacation .
A bottle of water in your room or a better accommodation unit provided , attending to a more comfortable vacation of yours should have been just welcoming !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    192
    172
    138
    117
See reviews for
355
425
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rossendale, lancs
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'm planning a very special extended family group trip, so I have lots of picky requirements. I have emailed this hotel to sort out arrangements and check numerous things - they have always responded promptly, politely and very helpfully, with a number of great suggestions and ideas I hadn't even thought of too! If our visit in May is half as good as the customer service I've had in arranging it, it will be a superb holiday - thanks to the kind and helpful admin staff at Minos Imperial! I arrange a lot of trips and hotels are very rarely as helpful as this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Sharah,

Thank you very much for the kind words written.

It is always very nice to read a feedback from a happy guest, who appreciates our efforts to offer genuine hospitality as a team, even prior to their arrival.

We wish to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing our resort for your very special extended family group trip and also mention from our side that it was more than a pleasure serving you!!

We are also very happy to read that we managed to meet your expectations after creating a personalised experience for your family. It is very important to mention at this point that you were very helpful and clear with what you were looking for.

You took the initiative to avoid the standard packages which are offered in order to create your own with our team and thus, gave us the opportunity to serve you in a more personalised way and you know that this is what always happens since you have arranged a lot of trips in the past.

The fact that we received your requests before your arrival and your feedback during your stay gave us the opportunity to do our outmost in order to serve your particular requirements to the best extend.

We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays and we are all looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in, do not believe the good reviews! I have stayed in better travel lodges in England.

The food was horrendous, the VIP suite was shabby and dirty, the staff were rude and the place is generally a 1 star hotel.

Please take my advice and go somewhere else if you don't want to waste your money and want to have a half decent time!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We do realize the above review has been loaded by a competitor ,which does not bother us that much !
We only revert with a reply aiming to a remind that loading a review is a serious matter itself t & it may have as an unpleasant result personnel to be sent away !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is placed in a very remote area. It might have been good 10-15 years ago, but now it is just old and worn down.
The restaurant is total chaos! We moved after just one night! Only positive thing is the view!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We do consider the review is compiled by competitors , which does not surprises us that much !

We just revert t because we feel the obligation to underline the fact that loading a review is a critical issue itself with occasionally unpleasant results for personnel : unfairly can be sent away from job position !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed at this resort in September. After reading reviews on here after I booked and paid already I was a bit skeptical but after arriving in the early hours of the morning, I was quite surprised that it looked better than I thought it would. The room was immaculate and cleaned very well each day during our stay. The general grounds of the resort is kept neat and tidy as well and its covering quite a vast area which is great for walking around. The food is definitely not top notch I'm afraid to say and quite repetitive although it was not the worst I have ever had. In terms of the staff, well, that is something else altogether. The restaurant teams are absolutely horrendous if you happen to be in their way. They are rude, never smile, don't respond to you when you ask them a question and laugh and make fun of guests behind their work stations. Even though the resort is quite clearly not a a 5 star property I will definitely say the unhelpful and disgusting behaviour of some staff (not everyone!) really brings down the quality of the overall feeling of this resort. Having said that, the 10 days we spent there was good and relaxing. We loved the room, the food was edible and the swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds were great for what we were after: days in the sun, relaxing and winding down. The few things that really let the place down was their rude staff and their absolutely atrocious internet connection - the two things I hoped would be good. In general, I think the resort does deserve a little bit more credit than its given on here although there is plenty of room for improvement, just like at any other resort across the globe five star or not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the last week before the hotel closed for the season. We did not expect much having booked late and it was the first all inclusive holiday we had booked. We were presently surprised with the quality and variety of food and the staff went out of their way to look after us. The hotel laid on entertainment for us on various evenings including a terrific barbecue and Cretan evening (photo attached of some of the buffet). The hotel is a little remote and a hire car is needed to get around and the wifi is not free.
I would suggest the following to the hotel to improve the enjoyment of guests:
a ) perhaps consider arranging a minibus so guests can travel to main towns. (a taxi to one of the main towns cost 43 euro one way which is a little expensive).
b) An induction for new guests to show them around the hotel and explain what they can and cannot use as we wandered into the Diamond Class breakfast buffet on the first morning by mistake (there did not appear to be much difference in the food in any event ).
c) include free wifi as a large number of guests now download books to read on Kindles etc.
I would recommend the hotel to friends and overall a great vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 3 October until 16 October 2013. We had a beautiful family room which had a shower and toilet together in one room, a separate room with a large corner bath and sink etc, bedroom with portable tv, a separate living room with two sofas and a tv, a beautiful balcony and sea view. We were delighted with our room and found it to be clean. There was a bottle of mineral water in the fridge upon arrival which we appreciated. We also had a kettle and hair dryer. Our beds were very hard but we asked if they could swap the mattresses which they did and they were more comfortable to sleep on. Air con worked fine. The layout is amazing and well taken care of.

We really enjoyed the food and the selection. It was of good quality every night and always fresh. Special thanks to the pasta chef and the team who make those yummy cakes!! We had a blue band (premium class). We found the restaurant staff (especially the restaurant manager) extremely rude. Each morning during our first week, we had breakfast on the balcony which was lovely, until one waiter told us to move half way through our breakfast because they had changed their policy that morning. We had to take our plates and glasses into the canteen and there were no available tables for us. This happened to us three times during our stay. It was chaotic. We had breakfast every morning after that in the stuffy canteen, with closed doors and windows with net curtains hiding the beautiful view. I just could not understand why they wouldn't open the curtains or balcony door to make their guests stay more enjoyable. I would agree with the other reviews about the unfriendliness of the staff, especially at the seaside bar and the grill area (asked for a slice of melon and she said NO although the waitress was standing next to the melon on a chopping board with a knife)!! Thankfully, we found Thilak, the bar man at the quiet heated pool, to be very friendly and he couldn't do enough for the guests. He really is an example and some managers could learn manners from Thilak. He saved our holiday and we ended up spending time at his pool because he made it special. He worked very long hours and not once was he rude or did he complain. During our last week, the hotel was very quiet and they opened the veranda bar to everybody. We really enjoyed our evenings there, the food was amazing. This made up for the chaos of seating arrangements the first week.

Unfortunately, the outside lighting wasn't always on and we found ourselves trying to manoeuvre the stairs and other areas in the dark. I fell and badly bruised my leg and arm which was painful. I complained about the lighting and the did fix the lighting on the stairs but for the rest of our stay the lighting between two pools remained off.

The complex is very big with a good variety of swimming pools to chose from. It was very quiet and the hotel was closing down so there was no animation available unless we paid for the theme nights (30€ pp for the oriental evening). We had met some friends during our stay so we made our own entertainment.

We enjoyed the hotels location, remote but amazing scenery! Milatos is about a 10 min walk (dirt track road with lights) and the tavernas are fabulous. We recommend Kohlis, Helen is very friendly and the fish is straight out of the water!! A friendly fisherman, Vasilis, sat right in front of us one evening and caught a sea bass !!! We had a car for our stay which is necessary as the hotel doesn't have a shuttle service to Sissi, a beautiful village about 5km away or a 60 min walk (15€ one way taxi). The hotel doesn't have washing machines but there is a laundrette in Sissi which costs 10€ for a wash and dry. We loved the little handmade beach in front of the hotel, great for snorkeling!! Lots of fish around and safe. Loads of sun beds too, perfect for the hot, sunny weather we had during our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.