We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all inclusive vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Milatos
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great all inclusive vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the last week before the hotel closed for the season. We did not expect much having booked late and it was the first all inclusive holiday we had booked. We were presently surprised with the quality and variety of food and the staff went out of their way to look after us. The hotel laid on entertainment for us on various evenings including a terrific barbecue and Cretan evening (photo attached of some of the buffet). The hotel is a little remote and a hire car is needed to get around and the wifi is not free.
I would suggest the following to the hotel to improve the enjoyment of guests:
a ) perhaps consider arranging a minibus so guests can travel to main towns. (a taxi to one of the main towns cost 43 euro one way which is a little expensive).
b) An induction for new guests to show them around the hotel and explain what they can and cannot use as we wandered into the Diamond Class breakfast buffet on the first morning by mistake (there did not appear to be much difference in the food in any event ).
c) include free wifi as a large number of guests now download books to read on Kindles etc.
I would recommend the hotel to friends and overall a great vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    193
    173
    139
    118
See reviews for
359
432
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 3 October until 16 October 2013. We had a beautiful family room which had a shower and toilet together in one room, a separate room with a large corner bath and sink etc, bedroom with portable tv, a separate living room with two sofas and a tv, a beautiful balcony and sea view. We were delighted with our room and found it to be clean. There was a bottle of mineral water in the fridge upon arrival which we appreciated. We also had a kettle and hair dryer. Our beds were very hard but we asked if they could swap the mattresses which they did and they were more comfortable to sleep on. Air con worked fine. The layout is amazing and well taken care of.

We really enjoyed the food and the selection. It was of good quality every night and always fresh. Special thanks to the pasta chef and the team who make those yummy cakes!! We had a blue band (premium class). We found the restaurant staff (especially the restaurant manager) extremely rude. Each morning during our first week, we had breakfast on the balcony which was lovely, until one waiter told us to move half way through our breakfast because they had changed their policy that morning. We had to take our plates and glasses into the canteen and there were no available tables for us. This happened to us three times during our stay. It was chaotic. We had breakfast every morning after that in the stuffy canteen, with closed doors and windows with net curtains hiding the beautiful view. I just could not understand why they wouldn't open the curtains or balcony door to make their guests stay more enjoyable. I would agree with the other reviews about the unfriendliness of the staff, especially at the seaside bar and the grill area (asked for a slice of melon and she said NO although the waitress was standing next to the melon on a chopping board with a knife)!! Thankfully, we found Thilak, the bar man at the quiet heated pool, to be very friendly and he couldn't do enough for the guests. He really is an example and some managers could learn manners from Thilak. He saved our holiday and we ended up spending time at his pool because he made it special. He worked very long hours and not once was he rude or did he complain. During our last week, the hotel was very quiet and they opened the veranda bar to everybody. We really enjoyed our evenings there, the food was amazing. This made up for the chaos of seating arrangements the first week.

Unfortunately, the outside lighting wasn't always on and we found ourselves trying to manoeuvre the stairs and other areas in the dark. I fell and badly bruised my leg and arm which was painful. I complained about the lighting and the did fix the lighting on the stairs but for the rest of our stay the lighting between two pools remained off.

The complex is very big with a good variety of swimming pools to chose from. It was very quiet and the hotel was closing down so there was no animation available unless we paid for the theme nights (30€ pp for the oriental evening). We had met some friends during our stay so we made our own entertainment.

We enjoyed the hotels location, remote but amazing scenery! Milatos is about a 10 min walk (dirt track road with lights) and the tavernas are fabulous. We recommend Kohlis, Helen is very friendly and the fish is straight out of the water!! A friendly fisherman, Vasilis, sat right in front of us one evening and caught a sea bass !!! We had a car for our stay which is necessary as the hotel doesn't have a shuttle service to Sissi, a beautiful village about 5km away or a 60 min walk (15€ one way taxi). The hotel doesn't have washing machines but there is a laundrette in Sissi which costs 10€ for a wash and dry. We loved the little handmade beach in front of the hotel, great for snorkeling!! Lots of fish around and safe. Loads of sun beds too, perfect for the hot, sunny weather we had during our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This our first time in crete
The weather was great in october
The people in crete are nice people and very helpfull

The hotel itself very beutifull with multiple gardens and pools
The room which we took at first was very gloomy because there was not enough light
So we upgraded our room which was in front of the sea , great view
The woman in the reception called Irma is vey good and very helpfull
The food was just average

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel 15th oct, agree totally with review from msist01. 3 star resort 2 star food & drinks, hot food cold, chinese buffet food cold, ushered out of this area by manager. one & only night allowed to eat at pool bar(wow) RUDE scruffy man with beard kicked table when we asked to move table to our group, again Russians dominate this hotel, STOP the banding and have one level, will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked the jacuzzi suite which is classed as Diamond (red wrist band) At first we didn't know what this ment however we so got the hang of it because if you had a BLUE wrist band and strayed into a RED area boy o boy the waiters would bounce on you a tell you to GO.. Staff at pool bar and main area where friendly however beside the pool bar in the restaurant watch out for the DEL BOY look alike and his mate a scruffy old bearded man that looks like a janitor they are BLOODY ..RUDE and if your a BLUE approach with caution... Food very much the same every day but a fairly good chioce the "Themed" night €25 at Del Boys don't bother .. Summary very relaxing ... Weather top class

Room Tip: Would advise jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

5 star or not 5 star that is the question? Unfortunately not a 5 star but it’s a stunning resort that could make it to a 5 star status

If you are interested in going to the Minos imperial beech resort spa please read this report about the resort I will try and outline the good and bad points. For myself this resort was a disappointment

The first and most important aspect of this resort is there are 3 or more all-inclusive types Bronze to Diamond and this banding effects your stay as most people we spoke to had no idea of this when booking there holiday. When I booked I purchased a premium deluxe sea view, which sounds great in fact this is one of the lowest Standard of rooms available it also come with the bronze all inclusive package

It was fortunate for us that on arrival to the resort our rooms were not available so we were offered a one-night stay in a hotel in Agios Nikolaos with a Diamond upgrade.
So we had the diamond all-inclusive but the same room. Other couples we met that incurred the same fate as us had the reveres Diamond room bronze all inclusive

If you have made a booking already at Minos Imperial it will state on you resort voucher Board basis AI (Bronze)

With AI bronze you have to pay extra to use the special restaurants ( food is no different than the main restaurant and most of them are still buffet food ) you cant use the veranda bar some nights and on the nights you can all drinks are charged

Second and important to myself is that there is no entertainment in the evening and little or nothing in day. I cant say I have ever been to a holiday resort which actually provides nothing to entertain the guest unless you pay to go to a theme night (you have to pay extra for the theme nights if you are diamond all inclusive) We stayed at a 2 star hotel last year and the activities and entertainment were great. If you like to do absolutely nothing then this is the place for you

Food : The food is ok nothing special but I was a bit worried as the buffet food temperatures were not good most cooked food warm or cold in the main restaurant
The people who pay extra for the diamonds AI eat the same food and we found had worse service from the waiting staff not at all a 5 star experience. The reservation only restaurants don’t waste your money if you have to pay extra same food less to choose from totally disorganised except from the Laguna Restaurant food served to your table good service good food but the menu is set and you only have a choice of main coarse beef or fish

Drink: The veranda bar and Laguna poolside bar are advertised in the leaflet of bar and restaurant opening times and drinks/food available as glass on table service so I couldn’t understand why people were cueing at the bar. The veranda bar staffs were very friendly and nice. The Laguna poolside bar a different story ask for fresh orange juice which was available there according to the leaflet was told no after 22:30 you could only get 1 drink per a visit as we were informed people get lots of drink just before the cut off time of 23:00 people were even told to bring their glass back before another drink would be served

The resort : great location fantastic views nice gardens very clean in appearances worthy of a 5 star rating rooms not bad but not 5 star bed very hard 2 English TV channels we had a fridge which was stocked with pepsi orange drink beer and water re filled every other day for the first week then that stopped and we only received water ( the AI bronze and the in-between band had no water and were charged 90 cent for 75 ml of water in a bottle go to milatos you can get 6 x 1 litre bottle for 1 euro 50 cents) Rooms cleaned and sheets changed every day

All in all the stay at this resort was disappointing and I feel very poor value for money

Room Tip: Diamond class some rooms have private pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Διευθυντής at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest
In Minos Imperial our aim is to satisfy our guests and therefore during the low season of 2013, the period from 27 of September until the end of October, and because of 10 years anniversary celebration we offer lower prices to all our guests.
We give the opportunity even to guests who opted for 3 or 4 stars Hotels to choose Minos Imperial Hotel for their holidays.
We have notice that guests like you are not accustomed to stay in a 5 star hotel that’s why you do not know how to enjoy it.
In 2 & 3 star all inclusive hotels everything is set in an all inclusive concept.
If guests wish to have
• a champagne
• a nice meal
• a romantic meal for 2 persons
and so many other things that make the holidays special and beautiful it is not possible to find it.
In a 5 star hotel besides the package of All inclusive concept there is also a variety of ideas that can make your holidays special, in extra charge of course.
A guest who chooses a 5 star Hotel for vacation knows the difference.
Keep it in mind for your next holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Got back last Thursday after a wonderful stay in this hotel. The location is beautiful, the accommodation was first class. The food is certainly plentiful, the drinks a bit watered down, but that's no bad thing bearing in mind you can get through a lot of it. The staff work very hard and are friendly but put to the test by the incredibly rude and unappreciative Russians that stay at this hotel in large numbers. Its amazing just how they pile their plates with huge quantities of good food from the buffet and then just leave most of it to be thrown away. So much waste, you can see the look of disgust on the waiters faces. Other than the oversubscribed Russian occupancy, I would recommend the hotel as an excellent value for money destination. All the facilities are as described.I had read many of the reviews prior to leaving and had some concerns. I can see how, if you want to be really picky, that some people might want to complain about really minor matters. The staff do all they can to help you and I would definitely go back again( but check when the Russians may not be on holiday at the same time)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Paulmrr,


On our effort to constantly improve our services it gives us great pleasure as a team to know that we managed to offer you a great experience in Minos Imperial.

It is always very nice to read a feedback from a happy guest and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our resort, any time soon.

Thank you for the support and motivation to become better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.