We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This our first time in crete
The weather was great in october
The people in crete are nice people and very helpfull

The hotel itself very beutifull with multiple gardens and pools
The room which we took at first was very gloomy because there was not enough light
So we upgraded our room which was in front of the sea , great view
The woman in the reception called Irma is vey good and very helpfull
The food was just average

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    192
    172
    138
    117
See reviews for
355
424
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel 15th oct, agree totally with review from msist01. 3 star resort 2 star food & drinks, hot food cold, chinese buffet food cold, ushered out of this area by manager. one & only night allowed to eat at pool bar(wow) RUDE scruffy man with beard kicked table when we asked to move table to our group, again Russians dominate this hotel, STOP the banding and have one level, will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked the jacuzzi suite which is classed as Diamond (red wrist band) At first we didn't know what this ment however we so got the hang of it because if you had a BLUE wrist band and strayed into a RED area boy o boy the waiters would bounce on you a tell you to GO.. Staff at pool bar and main area where friendly however beside the pool bar in the restaurant watch out for the DEL BOY look alike and his mate a scruffy old bearded man that looks like a janitor they are BLOODY ..RUDE and if your a BLUE approach with caution... Food very much the same every day but a fairly good chioce the "Themed" night €25 at Del Boys don't bother .. Summary very relaxing ... Weather top class

Room Tip: Would advise jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

5 star or not 5 star that is the question? Unfortunately not a 5 star but it’s a stunning resort that could make it to a 5 star status

If you are interested in going to the Minos imperial beech resort spa please read this report about the resort I will try and outline the good and bad points. For myself this resort was a disappointment

The first and most important aspect of this resort is there are 3 or more all-inclusive types Bronze to Diamond and this banding effects your stay as most people we spoke to had no idea of this when booking there holiday. When I booked I purchased a premium deluxe sea view, which sounds great in fact this is one of the lowest Standard of rooms available it also come with the bronze all inclusive package

It was fortunate for us that on arrival to the resort our rooms were not available so we were offered a one-night stay in a hotel in Agios Nikolaos with a Diamond upgrade.
So we had the diamond all-inclusive but the same room. Other couples we met that incurred the same fate as us had the reveres Diamond room bronze all inclusive

If you have made a booking already at Minos Imperial it will state on you resort voucher Board basis AI (Bronze)

With AI bronze you have to pay extra to use the special restaurants ( food is no different than the main restaurant and most of them are still buffet food ) you cant use the veranda bar some nights and on the nights you can all drinks are charged

Second and important to myself is that there is no entertainment in the evening and little or nothing in day. I cant say I have ever been to a holiday resort which actually provides nothing to entertain the guest unless you pay to go to a theme night (you have to pay extra for the theme nights if you are diamond all inclusive) We stayed at a 2 star hotel last year and the activities and entertainment were great. If you like to do absolutely nothing then this is the place for you

Food : The food is ok nothing special but I was a bit worried as the buffet food temperatures were not good most cooked food warm or cold in the main restaurant
The people who pay extra for the diamonds AI eat the same food and we found had worse service from the waiting staff not at all a 5 star experience. The reservation only restaurants don’t waste your money if you have to pay extra same food less to choose from totally disorganised except from the Laguna Restaurant food served to your table good service good food but the menu is set and you only have a choice of main coarse beef or fish

Drink: The veranda bar and Laguna poolside bar are advertised in the leaflet of bar and restaurant opening times and drinks/food available as glass on table service so I couldn’t understand why people were cueing at the bar. The veranda bar staffs were very friendly and nice. The Laguna poolside bar a different story ask for fresh orange juice which was available there according to the leaflet was told no after 22:30 you could only get 1 drink per a visit as we were informed people get lots of drink just before the cut off time of 23:00 people were even told to bring their glass back before another drink would be served

The resort : great location fantastic views nice gardens very clean in appearances worthy of a 5 star rating rooms not bad but not 5 star bed very hard 2 English TV channels we had a fridge which was stocked with pepsi orange drink beer and water re filled every other day for the first week then that stopped and we only received water ( the AI bronze and the in-between band had no water and were charged 90 cent for 75 ml of water in a bottle go to milatos you can get 6 x 1 litre bottle for 1 euro 50 cents) Rooms cleaned and sheets changed every day

All in all the stay at this resort was disappointing and I feel very poor value for money

Room Tip: Diamond class some rooms have private pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Διευθυντής at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest
In Minos Imperial our aim is to satisfy our guests and therefore during the low season of 2013, the period from 27 of September until the end of October, and because of 10 years anniversary celebration we offer lower prices to all our guests.
We give the opportunity even to guests who opted for 3 or 4 stars Hotels to choose Minos Imperial Hotel for their holidays.
We have notice that guests like you are not accustomed to stay in a 5 star hotel that’s why you do not know how to enjoy it.
In 2 & 3 star all inclusive hotels everything is set in an all inclusive concept.
If guests wish to have
• a champagne
• a nice meal
• a romantic meal for 2 persons
and so many other things that make the holidays special and beautiful it is not possible to find it.
In a 5 star hotel besides the package of All inclusive concept there is also a variety of ideas that can make your holidays special, in extra charge of course.
A guest who chooses a 5 star Hotel for vacation knows the difference.
Keep it in mind for your next holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Got back last Thursday after a wonderful stay in this hotel. The location is beautiful, the accommodation was first class. The food is certainly plentiful, the drinks a bit watered down, but that's no bad thing bearing in mind you can get through a lot of it. The staff work very hard and are friendly but put to the test by the incredibly rude and unappreciative Russians that stay at this hotel in large numbers. Its amazing just how they pile their plates with huge quantities of good food from the buffet and then just leave most of it to be thrown away. So much waste, you can see the look of disgust on the waiters faces. Other than the oversubscribed Russian occupancy, I would recommend the hotel as an excellent value for money destination. All the facilities are as described.I had read many of the reviews prior to leaving and had some concerns. I can see how, if you want to be really picky, that some people might want to complain about really minor matters. The staff do all they can to help you and I would definitely go back again( but check when the Russians may not be on holiday at the same time)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Paulmrr,


On our effort to constantly improve our services it gives us great pleasure as a team to know that we managed to offer you a great experience in Minos Imperial.

It is always very nice to read a feedback from a happy guest and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our resort, any time soon.

Thank you for the support and motivation to become better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked deluxe double Waterfront room, but given 3rd floor VIP junior suite! Really spacious accommodation, shower/toilet, another bathroom with jacuzzi and vanity sink. Two 4ft twin beds together, fridge, tea/coffee, corner sofa unit/3rd bed. 2 t.v.'s but no English speaking channels except news. Balcony view fantastic. Hotel is very clean. Would not go again because the food is more 3 star buffet, repetitive but you get used to it. This hotel is at least 80% Russian guests who have no manners, talk to the staff very arrogantly, the atmosphere is very unfriendly. Restaurant staff on grill counters are rude, impatient and must be peed-off with the Russians attitude and arrogance. Absolutely no evening entertainment. Every bar, night or day has only one Barman, the other one collecting glasses and washing up. Tropical bar: you have to Queue like school kids to get a drink, expect to wait at least 10-15 minutes,arrogant bar staff, we left straightaway, never went back. Verandar Bar, same thing but barmen very friendly, best get 2/3 drinks at once. This hotel's bars are seriously understaffed, but apparently this is hotel policy. We were upgraded for free to diamond class all inclusive, but a waste of time, as the other restaurants have the SAME food. Do not pay to eat in the additional restaurants if you are premium class. The beach is not too bad, lots of stones in the sea, but lovely view. If you do go, walk to Milatos fishing village 15 mins away, fish restaurants fantastic, had fresh lobster. Do go to 'TAVERNA KOHILI' and have the fresh sardines lightly deep fried, wonderful! Also the Swordfish steak, unbelievable. The walk to Sissi harbour is 50 mins but nice along the mountain road, typical Greek holiday resort, small but lovely. If you like a hotel where you can have a chat to other holidaymakers and socialise, then don't go here. We took our teenage son and there was not one single teenager there who spoke English. The beds are really hard, so ask for a foam topper, great improvement. Shame really, I was so looking forward to this holiday.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view or waterfront, suites are a little more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Διευθυντής at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest
We would like once again to inform you that writing a review is a serious matter and not a joke.
Most of the times guests jugging with an inexperience eye and sometimes write untruths that can have a negative consequences to many people that may lose their jobs because of that.
Please note that in an all-inclusive bar all guests are entitled to have a drink at any time. On the other hand in an al a carte bar there are no so many people enjoying their drink. It is a completely different way of operation and so natural to meet queues in an all inclusive bar.
Secondly we check our files and you have not been to our a la carte restaurants. Not even to any entertainment a la carte evenings.
For your information we have the following evenings and events that you didn’t mentioned in purpose:
• Grand Fiesta with Greek live music, grand buffet and international dancing
• Oriental Night with belly dancers, shisha and oriental flavors.
• 60’s Night with a lot of dance
• 70’s Night with a lot of dance
• Great Fish & Seafood BBQ on the beach
• Lobster Night with 7 course menu and live piano music at Veranda Restaurant
• 4 Night with live piano music at Veranda Restaurant
• Free Beer Festival
• Beach animation with dancing on fire
Concerning our staff we would like to say that we are proud of them because they are friendly, smiling and speak fluently English language.
We would like to add that in Minos Imperial we offer to our guest’s the choice between hard and soft mattress and pillow.
Minos imperial is a 5 star hotel and we are proud to say that we have the most rich all inclusive concept in Crete. As a 5 star hotel we provide to our guests a lot of facilities like a la carte departments in order to reach the demand of all our guests who knows why they choose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almada, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On the day we checked our bags were in the reception, I had to call 4 times to reception and only after 1.20 h is that the bags appeared in the room.


Missed 3 towels, we had to call the front desk more than 4 times, came after 1.30pm.


Several sites by the pool and bar (laguna) have bad smell.

The food is horrible........

Ordered 2 pizzas, one came past 10 minutes the other past 1 ½ hours, the employee came to say that the meal was over, and tells me to come to him the next day that offered two pizzas, only my hunger does not expect unfortunately I asked what alternative?
   He said he had to drive me to another restaurant in the hotel and ask for something else. I think after waiting time of an hour and a half was they who had to go and get something to please the customer.


When entering a hotel party was stopped. Invitation to come and had said so entered who had paid, they not asked for the invitation. It felt like an outsider in the party.


The various two faults of this hotel will not tolerate.
First lack of hygiene in the bathrooms.
According lack hygiene where cooking and food inedible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINOS_IMPERIAL_GR12, Διευθυντής at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to inform you that writing a review is a very serious matter and not a joke. It is not right to allow our children to play with these serious matters and write some times untruths. A negative review has negative consequences to many people who can lose their job because of that.
We feel sure that readers will trust their own judgment about Minos Imperial Hotel experience and we welcome any queries that may arise from the above review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.