We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Minos Imperial Hotel from the 26th of June to the 3rd of July.

Having read many mixed reviews on this site we was a little apprehensive as to what exactly we was going to get when we arrived but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Hotel - the hotel itself is nicely decorated, a typical Greek hotel in my opinion, maybe not a 5* in terms of decoration but we have stayed in a 5* hotel in Rhodes and that was exactly the same. The reception area is very grand and also very clean. The rooms are more like a 3*, very basic with the typical magnolia walls, maghaney cabinets etc. However, they are cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. So it's perfect just to be used for sleeping and getting changed!

Pools - All the pools were absolutely stunning! There are many hotels located around the hotel. The Cascade pool which is located by Bar Cascade ( this is the family pool with the hotel's animation team! ) The pool by the sea side and tropical bar is lovely, very clean, overlooking the sea. Perfect! Also, there's an adult and couple's pool located near the main restaurant with open air gym facilities. If you're travelling with young children, there's a children's pool with an octopus slide which looked very fun and Enjoyable for children! All the pools are cleaned regularly and you don't really need to reserve a sun lounger but we wanted to use the pool overlooking the sea and they do get filled up quickly!

Food - The food was nice in my opinion, plenty of choice, live cooking stations including fresh pizza and pasta, live grill stations with various meats such as liver, chicken, beef, kebab. Also, a pancake and waffle station. The trays were always filled up during our stay. Breakfast was nice also. A good selection including hot american style breakfast, spicy sausage (not english sausages), fried eggs, potatoe slices, omlette, boiled eggs. The choice of continental is also available with croissants, bread, cheese, cold meats. Lunch was also very appetising and again, plenty of choice. But expect to get bored during the last couple of days, it's an all inclusive hotel.. What do you expect?

Drink - if you're premium class (blue band) the only drinks you can have free are both red and white wine, water, soft drinks and beer and the cocktail of the day. If you want any other cocktail or spirits you will have to pay for them. Don't expect to drink free in the veranda bar, you need to pay for everything unless you're diamond class. I don't agree with the two tier band. You go to an all inclusive hotel, expecting to have all inclusive facilities. But we didn't let this get us down!

If you want to upgrade to diamond class you will have to pay 20 euros each per day, but that doesn't include a room upgrade!

If you want a private pool expect to pay 350 euros per day!!!

You can receive a fresh towel every day for the sun loungers by paying a 10 euro deposit at reception but you will get this back as long you return the towels back to the kiosk!

The staff are really friendly, always willing to help and welcoming. Especially chrissi - one of the receptionists!

The hotel is located in a remote location. If you want a relaxing holiday without going to towns then this is perfect for you as it is situated in a beautiful area and the views and surroundings are unbelievable! If you want to visit towns then expect to pay at least 25/30 euros each way. For a week we spent 200 euros on taxis! 120 for a return from the airport. 50 return to Malia and 30 return to Sissi. I would recommend venturing out because the towns are so traditional and the people are so friendly! Would recommend visiting neropolis restaurant in Sissi and Totto Lotto in the old village of Malia! Amazing food and a great atmosphere!

The taxis are very reliable!

I would recommend going on the 'happy train' around all the small traditional villages including Milatos and Sissi. It's 15euros each and you're out for 4 hours.

Therefore, we enjoyed this holiday so much and we are definitely going back to crete next year but maybe not to this hotel due to the location as we like to visit different towns at an affordable price! I don't agree with the all inclusive but expect it and be open minded. That is the attitude we arrived with after reading some reviews but we didn't let the very strange all inclusive policy effect our holiday. We still had a great time!

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minos_Imperial_gr, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear J1234564

On our effort to constantly improve our services it gives us great pleasure as a team to know that we managed to offer you a great experience in Minos Imperial.

We are very glad you enjoyed our various pool options and restaurants!

It is always very nice to read a feedback from a happy guest and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our resort, any time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    187
    167
    137
    112
See reviews for
352
414
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Never go There , No service , Poor rooms , Poor food , Bugs in rooms , Never go there no matter what.... Hotel Internet site is very false... in reality it is much worse than it seems in pics.
was there with family for 5 nights , and wanted to leave after 2 if i could. Big Bugs were in the room and we change 3 rooms in 5 nights. all the 3 rooms were kind of old and not nice ( but they ewre big). lots of pepole in hotle, so restorant always busy and full. food is poor, and hardly refill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

i came back on the 25/06/13 we had a VIP room shared pool which was beautiful, but im affraid that the food was terrible, some days nice then next day cold, fish slimey raw yuk. the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minos_Imperial_gr, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear janetjohnson235,

We are glad you were happy with your room and our staff members.

Concerning the fact that you were, in some cases, not happy with the food we cannot do something after your check out so it would have been better if you had informed us during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOUCESTER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I also shared the views of th readers in advance of my trip last week. Consider the hotel as a sparkling new car without a engine, very nice on the outside but very little works on the inside. Accommodat, staying full diamond class in a vip shared pool room. The roon as large enough and led outside to the pool. There were no face towels, tissues, no information folder about the hotel and the wall were bare with no pictures and the telephone was brken, primarily lacked all those comforts expected at this level. Most importanly, the bed felt and looked like it came in from the local prison and a quilt cover frayed, this and unappealing. Food and beverage were in a selection of restaurants in the diamond class catagory but the forst night we have a buffet, pork, chicken and koftas, tried a different restaurantt the second nohgt, chicken, pork and koftas in the gals fiesta and the third night we went to the verhand flagship restaurant a what we thought was a fine dining restaurant but was a buffet of, YES YOU GUESSED, chicken, pork and koftas. No imagination in terms of delivering at this level, also not what it says on the hotel website. If you are Bronze class, you can only eat in the main grand blue restaurant, a cattle market busier than heathrow and food to parrallel it. The staff and mangers were generally rude and unhelpful and customers service was quite extradinarily unaxeptable. The hotel management seem to have no direction, it was disjointed, discontected with its guests and geberally appauling at his level. Having spent time in 342 5 star hotels for work, business and pleasure, this one certainly holds up the other 341 bar far. Sincere apologies for those visting in the neae future, but having now seen for myself its disorientation I can concur the previuos comments. I must add that the reception part of the business was very pleasant the only posative area of the visit. I will be writing an article on this hotel, therefor, the GM does have an opportunity to reply, although difficult to support its business after seeing what I saw. Would I return, requires a full internal audit and plenty of training. Might then rethink!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am due to travel to this hotel mid July with my wife and 16 year old Son on a bronze all inclusive package. After reading all these reviews can someone tell me what the Bronze package actually does or does not include? also how much is to upgrade to the Diamond package per person and what are the benefits in doing so .Also what speciality restaruants are available and how much do they cost to book, and do you get drinks inclusive of the extra charge or do you have to pay extra again for your drinks. A holiday is what you make of it i suppose but it does concern me about the number of recent bad reviews.There are also very mixed reviews in regards the standard of the rooms which is confusing to me .Any answers to the above questions would be very much appreciated .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just arrived back from a 10 day stay at Minos Imperial. Sorry but would not recommend this hotel. Arrived late due to a flight delay at Manchester. All amenities were shut and we had stale sandwiches left in our room.

We had booked a double waterfront room which was lovely, great views. The AI is a sham, it all depends on what colour band you are wearing - gold or blue. We had blue which was premium class, were only allowed to go in one restaurant and one bar - unless you paid extra.
Total rip off. Hotel staff very rude and not helpful at all, they understood what they wanted to understand.

Restaurant was a joke - food constantly cold, very limited choice, we ended up getting our own cutlery every day and moving dirty plates and left over food.

No entertainment at night, come 11pm on the dot, they shut the bar and left you sat in the pitch black. If you can visit Sissi, approx 30 euros return. Lovely choice of restaurants and very friendly. Milatos also has a view bars and is within walking distance, don't wear heels and take a torch.

Good points - the weather and met some lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having returned from the Minos Imperial on the 14th of June, I can only reiterate what people have said on here about the ridiculous two tier system with the dining and the accomodation.

I'll try and be constructive about it because i understand people may have already booked and can't get out of it!

Remember, 5* applies to the falicities available and not the quality of those facilities!

Yes, there's a spa there and the complex itself seems lovely but I'm afraid that's where it ends.

The food isn't good. I'm a fairly good eater and I don't expect to have a selection of everything under the sun, but even what I would call "Greek" dishes were at best, average. Anything cooked fresh was immediately devoured by swarms of Russian children.

On that subject, it's like St Petersburg Station at mealtimes. The Russians aren't that bad, they're just not as polite as Brits. It's ok, but after a while it starts to grate.

Their website looks great, but when we were shown to our room and it was nothing like the photographs online, we were told the only way to get EXACTLY what is on their website is to book it directly with the hotel.

The all inclusive that most people will have is the minimum level. It means you can only eat in one buffet restaurant. The A La Carte restaurants aren't... Out of the 3 advertised, one is closed, one is buffet and the other has a fixed starter and dessert! You have a choice of three main courses there, but they're served when the chefs feel like it.

In the bars/restaurant they seve a kind of wine cordial.It's like the wine you'll be used to, just 3 parts water. The vodka is on a par with Cillit Bang and the cocktails are fantastic for rusted on bolts.

I'd seriously recommend hiring a car. Look for deals as all the hire car companies are easy to find at Heraklion airport. Sissi is lovely and aroud 10 mins drive. 15 Euros each way is a bit steep in a taxi but I think they know you're stuck out there.

In summary, it's not awful there but it probably won't be what you expected/paid for.

Another point, read the good reviews on Trip Advisor about this place. A lot are in broken English from people supposedly from the USA. We didn't see any Americans there, plus it's not easy to get there from America. It's all a bit fishy to me. Unlike the fish pie served there.

Room Tip: Insist on the rooms shown online. Take print outs of what you feel you're entitled to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minos_Imperial_gr, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. You had paid for a standard room and the basic program all inclusive. We offered exactly what you purchased and as we have mentioned to other reviewers there is always a difference of services offered depending on where the booking is from. We had a very special deal for a while and in order to have such a deal certain things which are included when booking with our website were not there. You could anytime upgrade if you wished to have something better. The fact that you did not and only see the glass half empty is something that we cannot control. You could anytime arrange with your agency to change and go to another hotel, but since you spend the whole time in Minos Imperial as you mention we assume that some things were good also. All the things that you mention or make up, were not communicated to us in order to resolve them so there is not much we can do from here. If it makes you feel better writing a bad review it is only a pitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.