We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go There , Never , Never” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never go There , Never , Never”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Never go There , No service , Poor rooms , Poor food , Bugs in rooms , Never go there no matter what.... Hotel Internet site is very false... in reality it is much worse than it seems in pics.
was there with family for 5 nights , and wanted to leave after 2 if i could. Big Bugs were in the room and we change 3 rooms in 5 nights. all the 3 rooms were kind of old and not nice ( but they ewre big). lots of pepole in hotle, so restorant always busy and full. food is poor, and hardly refill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    181
    151
    126
    108
See reviews for
341
392
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

i came back on the 25/06/13 we had a VIP room shared pool which was beautiful, but im affraid that the food was terrible, some days nice then next day cold, fish slimey raw yuk. the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minos_Imperial_gr, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear janetjohnson235,

We are glad you were happy with your room and our staff members.

Concerning the fact that you were, in some cases, not happy with the food we cannot do something after your check out so it would have been better if you had informed us during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOUCESTER
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I also shared the views of th readers in advance of my trip last week. Consider the hotel as a sparkling new car without a engine, very nice on the outside but very little works on the inside. Accommodat, staying full diamond class in a vip shared pool room. The roon as large enough and led outside to the pool. There were no face towels, tissues, no information folder about the hotel and the wall were bare with no pictures and the telephone was brken, primarily lacked all those comforts expected at this level. Most importanly, the bed felt and looked like it came in from the local prison and a quilt cover frayed, this and unappealing. Food and beverage were in a selection of restaurants in the diamond class catagory but the forst night we have a buffet, pork, chicken and koftas, tried a different restaurantt the second nohgt, chicken, pork and koftas in the gals fiesta and the third night we went to the verhand flagship restaurant a what we thought was a fine dining restaurant but was a buffet of, YES YOU GUESSED, chicken, pork and koftas. No imagination in terms of delivering at this level, also not what it says on the hotel website. If you are Bronze class, you can only eat in the main grand blue restaurant, a cattle market busier than heathrow and food to parrallel it. The staff and mangers were generally rude and unhelpful and customers service was quite extradinarily unaxeptable. The hotel management seem to have no direction, it was disjointed, discontected with its guests and geberally appauling at his level. Having spent time in 342 5 star hotels for work, business and pleasure, this one certainly holds up the other 341 bar far. Sincere apologies for those visting in the neae future, but having now seen for myself its disorientation I can concur the previuos comments. I must add that the reception part of the business was very pleasant the only posative area of the visit. I will be writing an article on this hotel, therefor, the GM does have an opportunity to reply, although difficult to support its business after seeing what I saw. Would I return, requires a full internal audit and plenty of training. Might then rethink!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am due to travel to this hotel mid July with my wife and 16 year old Son on a bronze all inclusive package. After reading all these reviews can someone tell me what the Bronze package actually does or does not include? also how much is to upgrade to the Diamond package per person and what are the benefits in doing so .Also what speciality restaruants are available and how much do they cost to book, and do you get drinks inclusive of the extra charge or do you have to pay extra again for your drinks. A holiday is what you make of it i suppose but it does concern me about the number of recent bad reviews.There are also very mixed reviews in regards the standard of the rooms which is confusing to me .Any answers to the above questions would be very much appreciated .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just arrived back from a 10 day stay at Minos Imperial. Sorry but would not recommend this hotel. Arrived late due to a flight delay at Manchester. All amenities were shut and we had stale sandwiches left in our room.

We had booked a double waterfront room which was lovely, great views. The AI is a sham, it all depends on what colour band you are wearing - gold or blue. We had blue which was premium class, were only allowed to go in one restaurant and one bar - unless you paid extra.
Total rip off. Hotel staff very rude and not helpful at all, they understood what they wanted to understand.

Restaurant was a joke - food constantly cold, very limited choice, we ended up getting our own cutlery every day and moving dirty plates and left over food.

No entertainment at night, come 11pm on the dot, they shut the bar and left you sat in the pitch black. If you can visit Sissi, approx 30 euros return. Lovely choice of restaurants and very friendly. Milatos also has a view bars and is within walking distance, don't wear heels and take a torch.

Good points - the weather and met some lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shavington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having returned from the Minos Imperial on the 14th of June, I can only reiterate what people have said on here about the ridiculous two tier system with the dining and the accomodation.

I'll try and be constructive about it because i understand people may have already booked and can't get out of it!

Remember, 5* applies to the falicities available and not the quality of those facilities!

Yes, there's a spa there and the complex itself seems lovely but I'm afraid that's where it ends.

The food isn't good. I'm a fairly good eater and I don't expect to have a selection of everything under the sun, but even what I would call "Greek" dishes were at best, average. Anything cooked fresh was immediately devoured by swarms of Russian children.

On that subject, it's like St Petersburg Station at mealtimes. The Russians aren't that bad, they're just not as polite as Brits. It's ok, but after a while it starts to grate.

Their website looks great, but when we were shown to our room and it was nothing like the photographs online, we were told the only way to get EXACTLY what is on their website is to book it directly with the hotel.

The all inclusive that most people will have is the minimum level. It means you can only eat in one buffet restaurant. The A La Carte restaurants aren't... Out of the 3 advertised, one is closed, one is buffet and the other has a fixed starter and dessert! You have a choice of three main courses there, but they're served when the chefs feel like it.

In the bars/restaurant they seve a kind of wine cordial.It's like the wine you'll be used to, just 3 parts water. The vodka is on a par with Cillit Bang and the cocktails are fantastic for rusted on bolts.

I'd seriously recommend hiring a car. Look for deals as all the hire car companies are easy to find at Heraklion airport. Sissi is lovely and aroud 10 mins drive. 15 Euros each way is a bit steep in a taxi but I think they know you're stuck out there.

In summary, it's not awful there but it probably won't be what you expected/paid for.

Another point, read the good reviews on Trip Advisor about this place. A lot are in broken English from people supposedly from the USA. We didn't see any Americans there, plus it's not easy to get there from America. It's all a bit fishy to me. Unlike the fish pie served there.

Room Tip: Insist on the rooms shown online. Take print outs of what you feel you're entitled to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minos_Imperial_gr, Manager at Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. You had paid for a standard room and the basic program all inclusive. We offered exactly what you purchased and as we have mentioned to other reviewers there is always a difference of services offered depending on where the booking is from. We had a very special deal for a while and in order to have such a deal certain things which are included when booking with our website were not there. You could anytime upgrade if you wished to have something better. The fact that you did not and only see the glass half empty is something that we cannot control. You could anytime arrange with your agency to change and go to another hotel, but since you spend the whole time in Minos Imperial as you mention we assume that some things were good also. All the things that you mention or make up, were not communicated to us in order to resolve them so there is not much we can do from here. If it makes you feel better writing a bad review it is only a pitty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here with my friends for one week. These hotel is a disaster! First of all, the managament people was not friendly, they seemed to be annoyed and lazy for solving the problems. The rooms was not clean and we met one couple who payed for the room less than us and they got better room with a view to the see. So bacacly you dont get what you are paying for. I dont understand the system here.
The restaurant is a mess. There is only few waitresses working, they should get more employees. We had to wait for being served, they runned out from forks and wine glasses. The employees starts to scream at each other in greece language n the fight goes on and on.. C'moon don't scream in front of the custumers while we are dining!! The food is just terrible. They are using the food from the days before, its not fresh at all! And when I saw cocrouche at the restaurant my apetite was goone for good!
Drinks free until 23:00 o clock. Not a big choice in the drinks anyways. Slow service. And if you want water you have to pay extra unless you have diamond class.
No entertaiments. I've been to other beach resorts and they are making shows every evening. Here is only kids disko and after usually they put bingo. Seriously, how many times they will put bingo for entertaiment?! Just another way to get some more money. Once they made musiq quizz, the show maker seemed to be very bored and was not interesting at all. There should be at least some prise after for the winner but there is nothing. People randomly are quesing songs and thats it. The worst experience. Its not a 5 star beach hotel!! The only thing what made it enjoyable was few employees from the hotel. They suggested some nice places worth visiting. They were helpfull and they are actually too good for these kind of hotel. Another thing what made ouer stay enjoyable was bar No Name. Its in Milatos village. By walking its 15minutes from hotel. Nice atmospher, nice people!
And all those perfect reviews of these hotel, Im sorry I dont believe its from the customers. 4 perfect reviews in a row. How paffetic the hotel is that they have to write themselfs good reviews?!! Better would not waste time in making fake reviews but trying to fix the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.