We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday I’ve ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best holiday I’ve ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This has to be the best holiday I’ve ever had. At the beginning of the holiday i was a little unsure about the place but as time wore on i was as happy as pigs in mud??
The whole place just so put me in the holiday mood as for the hotel staff they where all a class and very friendly and a good balance between all of the other European holiday makers and we all felt quite at ease mixing. as the animation team was really good. Plenty to do for the younger kids although sometimes seemed as if the teenagers in the hotel looked a little bored .i would recommend the Chinese restaurant in the hotel as the food is lovely with lots of choice!!!But u must book early as it’s a busy place and well saught after too some it all up u will not go wrong with this hotel just lay back and enjoy the sites sounds of this lovely part of Greece

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    191
    173
    139
    117
See reviews for
357
429
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited this (I wouldn't call it an hotel) so lets say building.we arrived to a reception which was spacious and clean and the receptionist was nice enough (must point out that lillian and the only male receptionist were fantastic and a joy to talk to every morning) subtly stroked out all but three restaurant's on the welcome sheat as they had been closed. We enquired about this but there was nothing we could do so we accepted it and moved on.we went to our room and saw that our jacuzzi was stone cold and even after three days wouldn't heat up but on the 4th did.also the first time my son tried our jacuzzi his back was scratched and started bleeding from sand that had no been cleaned out and was in severe pain as the sand was being blasted at his back by the 2 jets(yes only 2 which is a joke for a jacuzzi.) Also on the 7th or 8th night the geusts staying next to us were terrible and just really a all round pain but the hotel was very good about this and relocated us which is something positive I can say.
Now I start on the food.
This is a complete joke and a serious health hazard. The food on the first week was not that bad but still low standard as they had a man making fresh pizza which we often had and some Chinese. Although after the first week everything went away and we were left with a disgrace of what the called a multi national buffet all they had was
Fruit which was constantly surrounded by a swarm of flys
Puddings which consisted of disgusting baklava and a lump of mouse type thing which was added to every night from the night before.
Everything else was something that could be easily whipped up in an industrial sized microwave.
I could go on about the food but I couldnt spend long enough.
As our stay went on the number of staff diminished to about 7 on our final 3 to 4 days.
Ok lets get started on entertainment (this won't take long as we gave up on them after a few visits)
We only saw the entertainment a few times as it is ridiculous and primary school children could of done better. It seemed like the so called animation teem were just there for a holiday as when they were supposed to do poolside games which my sun was looking forward to we saw them resting beside the bar. Also they were EXTREMELY unsociable and very stuck up towards guests.
So in conclusion, this hotel is an absolute joke and should be shut down for safe and healthy reasons and because they are ripping people off.
PLEASE DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL FOR YOUR OWN GOOD UNLESS YOU WANT A TERRIBLE AND SADDENING FAMILY HOLIDAY! !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Every year we come to crete,abd his year we chose minos imperial because some friends who visited it were very happy, but also for the reason that is 45m from the airport. that was good because the noice of the aeroplanes did not disturb us. ,last year we stay 20minutes from the airport and we could not sleep all night even during the day while we were
Ying at the pool area.

All people working here are very friendly in the restaurants in the bars and at the reception. I believe it is also very important to smile and be king to the staff members, too!

There are several types of accommodation...after asking we saw that there are many room types.. from the standard to the more luxurious ones (it costs around € 3000 per night with butler service and of course with private or sharing pool). But also the standard room that we had is spacious enough with bed2x2, big bathroom, seperate shower cabin, big balcony and sea view screen tv, and modern furnitures.

Even when the hotel is full we do not feel it asthere are nany pools and the advantage that for families and children there is a. Seperate pool area the annimation team and the music is also there so that the sest of the hptel is very quite.

There is a poolarea only for adults with se ating place fitness equiptement for exersice next to the pool and aalso iternet corner and jacuzi,there is also a batler service

A seperate restaurant hall next to the main buffet restaurant only for adults without noice from childen

The hotel is not isolated , you need a car anyway on crete ,sissi is 7 m far malia is 12m, and ag nikolao 20 m but there are 3 villages around. The hotel
Anice path for jogging on the seaside
We are very happy to spend our next holidays inminos imperial

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Minos Imperial. The hotel is excellent. We booked a really good last minute deal and it was all-inclusive. We stayed for 2 weeks and we could have stayed longer. There was so much choice for restaurants, be in breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes we paid a little extra for the a la carte restaurants, but this was a really nice welcome change. Some say the hotel is a little isolated. I disagree! With a car you are just 10 minutes from the resort of Hersonissos and Malia and Agios Nikolaos is only 30 minutes away. And I would recommend booking a car as the area is very beautiuful. Even Milatos village and the seafront with its traditional fish tavernas are very nice. We had a great time at the Minos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a clean, comfortable, quiet, relaxing week in the sun it is perfect.
The hotel decor is fantastic, it has everything you could want or need. Everywhere was spotless - around the pools, in the rooms, dining room and communal toilets. And the staff in reception and the dining area were all very helpful, hardworking and friendly.
The rooms were spacious with big balconies overlooking the sea (we paid extra for a sea view but more 90% of the rooms seemed to look out in that direction anyway!) The views are beautiful with panoramic views of turqoise seas and mountains.
You have everything you need in the room
If you're HB you can easily swap your evening meal for lunch if you fancy going out in the evening for dinner. And you can stock up on beers in the local supermarkets and keep in the fridge in your room if you just fancy a cold drink on the balcony at the end of each day. The food in the buffet was simple but good quality and the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel gave you peace of mind about the kitchen!

The hotel is a few miles out of town but in our minds this was a bonus as it was quieter. We were lucky enough to have a car and we went out most days for a greek salad lunch or iced coffees or beers at one of the seafront tavernas in and around Aghios Nikolaos. Ag Nik is a beautiful place with lots of good places to eat and drink and just chill out in the shade over looking the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I booked ten nights late september 2012 all inclusive. Throughout the holiday,we witness lots of complaints to staff members of the hotel, getting a drink was hard work, you had to get in the queue and wait your turn, once there your drink comes in a plastic cup, only one member of staff running bar of which he could not cope. no real entertainment to speak of, the hotel is a bit remote, I asked at reception if I could get a bus to town, she said I would need to order a taxi just to get me to bus stop. food was average, as was room, shower flooded bathroom each time you used it. This hotel is not 5 star, I would say 3 to 4 star maybe. top tip- hire a car or extra top tip don't go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed with my husband in the Minos Imperial at the beginning of October and it was very comfortable and beautiful. We did not expect such quality that you normally would only find in the very expensive luxurious hotels. The deco in the colours of gold and olive really gives it a luxury feel together with the white marbel bathroom. And especially the bed was very comfortable. I have some special requirements because of my lower back problem so I asked it is was possible to have a soft matrass, which I got. It was lovely to read a book in bed before getting to sleep (the reading light next to the bed was very useful, so that my husband would not be distrubed by too much light in the room).

We did not spend a lot of time in the room, but when we did we used the high tech equipment, which was like a home cinema - great sound, 40" TV, CD & DVD and we could connect our camera through a USB to review our snap shots - we even connected the Iphone and listened to our own music. The rooms were just top class and very clean.

The gardens of the hotel are vast, beautiful and immaculately kept and there were trees on the beach giving you natural shade during the day. Although the sea can be a bit rough at times, the last few days the sea was still and we spend a lot of time on the beach and swimming in the sea, which we really enjoyed.

We stayed at many 5* hotels before and we know that they tend to be out of town, so we rented a car to explore a bit of the island. We never expected that Crete was so beautiful - there is so much to see and do. We went to Plaka (near Agios Nikolaos) and this was stunning with a view over Spinalonga. We also went to Heraklion for some shopping and were very pleasantly surprised as it had lots of pedestrian shopping areas and lovely cafes and bars.

In the hotel, the food options were plentiful. The main buffet had so much choice that it was too much but the quality of everything was exceptional. And you dont even have to eat from the main buffet, we also went to some of the restaurants for breakfast and in the evening we had a la carte dinner (with 4 restaurants there is plenty to chose from).

I want to give special mention to the staff of the hotel. As it was the end of the season, you could tell that they were a little tired, but they were so friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome. As there were not so many people staying in the hotel, the staff spend a lot of time with us telling us where to go and what to see, which we gladly took as great advice.

As we have had some not so good experiences with all inclusive holidays, I just wanted to say that the quality of the drinks were all great - Pepsi cola and all the international alcoholic brands you would want.

We had a lovely holiday in Crete and our stay at the Minos Imperial was special. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.