We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Milatos
Sacramento, California
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredible..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a clean, comfortable, quiet, relaxing week in the sun it is perfect.
The hotel decor is fantastic, it has everything you could want or need. Everywhere was spotless - around the pools, in the rooms, dining room and communal toilets. And the staff in reception and the dining area were all very helpful, hardworking and friendly.
The rooms were spacious with big balconies overlooking the sea (we paid extra for a sea view but more 90% of the rooms seemed to look out in that direction anyway!) The views are beautiful with panoramic views of turqoise seas and mountains.
You have everything you need in the room
If you're HB you can easily swap your evening meal for lunch if you fancy going out in the evening for dinner. And you can stock up on beers in the local supermarkets and keep in the fridge in your room if you just fancy a cold drink on the balcony at the end of each day. The food in the buffet was simple but good quality and the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel gave you peace of mind about the kitchen!

The hotel is a few miles out of town but in our minds this was a bonus as it was quieter. We were lucky enough to have a car and we went out most days for a greek salad lunch or iced coffees or beers at one of the seafront tavernas in and around Aghios Nikolaos. Ag Nik is a beautiful place with lots of good places to eat and drink and just chill out in the shade over looking the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    179
    140
    125
    105
See reviews for
322
391
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I booked ten nights late september 2012 all inclusive. Throughout the holiday,we witness lots of complaints to staff members of the hotel, getting a drink was hard work, you had to get in the queue and wait your turn, once there your drink comes in a plastic cup, only one member of staff running bar of which he could not cope. no real entertainment to speak of, the hotel is a bit remote, I asked at reception if I could get a bus to town, she said I would need to order a taxi just to get me to bus stop. food was average, as was room, shower flooded bathroom each time you used it. This hotel is not 5 star, I would say 3 to 4 star maybe. top tip- hire a car or extra top tip don't go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed with my husband in the Minos Imperial at the beginning of October and it was very comfortable and beautiful. We did not expect such quality that you normally would only find in the very expensive luxurious hotels. The deco in the colours of gold and olive really gives it a luxury feel together with the white marbel bathroom. And especially the bed was very comfortable. I have some special requirements because of my lower back problem so I asked it is was possible to have a soft matrass, which I got. It was lovely to read a book in bed before getting to sleep (the reading light next to the bed was very useful, so that my husband would not be distrubed by too much light in the room).

We did not spend a lot of time in the room, but when we did we used the high tech equipment, which was like a home cinema - great sound, 40" TV, CD & DVD and we could connect our camera through a USB to review our snap shots - we even connected the Iphone and listened to our own music. The rooms were just top class and very clean.

The gardens of the hotel are vast, beautiful and immaculately kept and there were trees on the beach giving you natural shade during the day. Although the sea can be a bit rough at times, the last few days the sea was still and we spend a lot of time on the beach and swimming in the sea, which we really enjoyed.

We stayed at many 5* hotels before and we know that they tend to be out of town, so we rented a car to explore a bit of the island. We never expected that Crete was so beautiful - there is so much to see and do. We went to Plaka (near Agios Nikolaos) and this was stunning with a view over Spinalonga. We also went to Heraklion for some shopping and were very pleasantly surprised as it had lots of pedestrian shopping areas and lovely cafes and bars.

In the hotel, the food options were plentiful. The main buffet had so much choice that it was too much but the quality of everything was exceptional. And you dont even have to eat from the main buffet, we also went to some of the restaurants for breakfast and in the evening we had a la carte dinner (with 4 restaurants there is plenty to chose from).

I want to give special mention to the staff of the hotel. As it was the end of the season, you could tell that they were a little tired, but they were so friendly and helpful making us feel very welcome. As there were not so many people staying in the hotel, the staff spend a lot of time with us telling us where to go and what to see, which we gladly took as great advice.

As we have had some not so good experiences with all inclusive holidays, I just wanted to say that the quality of the drinks were all great - Pepsi cola and all the international alcoholic brands you would want.

We had a lovely holiday in Crete and our stay at the Minos Imperial was special. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a last minute break away from the terrible British summer we had again this year and for a week's chilling out in very nice surroundings the Minos Imperial really hit the spot.

Rooms - I'd describe these as elegant, comfortable and well equipped. The view from the room was spectacular. We booked a deluxe room waterfront.

Dining - Whilst neither of us are big fans of buffet dining, the choice and quality of the food was very good and we ate there most evenings with the exception of the Lobster night which we really enjoyed. Had we been there longer than a week we would have certainly ate in the other a la carte restaurants.

Pools - there was no need to be up at the crack of down to get a sun-lounger. Plenty of space, quite areas where you could relax and read, something we both like doing on holiday. And it was kept spotlessly clean - the staff here are constantly on the go.

Location - if you want to be in the centre of a busy resort, then this hotel isn't for you, since it's out on its own. You really need a car if you want to get out about. We didn't move from the hotel as we just wanted to relax. Had we been here longer we most certainly would have hired a car for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had been looking forward to our holiday in Crete and our stay at the Minos Imperial as it was our special anniversary. And we have not been disappointed. From start to finish, the hotel have been absolutely fantastic. The staff really went out of their way to give us a truly memorable time. We have travelled to many similar hotels before, but our Diamond class room with a lovely sea view was exceptional. The bed was very comfortable and we had so much space. We did go outside for some food a couple of times, just for the variety, but the restaurants were amazing. It is just everything you want from a 5 star hotel. The Italian restaurant was particularly good and safe to say we ate there more than once. All in all we had a brilliant time and would recommend Minos Imperial to anyone looking for a top class holiday. Thank you for making our anniversary that extra special and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After searching for some time for a holiday, we booked diamond class at the Minos Imperial, as it had everything we needed to celebrate our silver wedding. Or so we thought. Well what a disapointment, the food was cold and substandard to say the least, the a la carte restaraunts were all closed, some of the bars and pools were also closed, the out door lift was out of order, which was unfortunate for some people with health problems, as the grounds of the hotel were very hilly, therfore it was difficult to get to the only bar that was open through the day for refreshments. We booked a VIP junior suite which offered a turn down service each night,it never happened, during our stay our room was not kept to the standard of cleanliness I would expect, on occations our cups were not washed, floors not swept and toilet not washed. Our tea and coffee etc were never replenished, we brought the above to attention of the management, and got the impression they could not care less. It was abviouse the hotel was closing for the season and the guests were just an inconvenience, which in my oppinion is totally unacceptable.
when we complained to the restaraunt manager about the dress code in the evening not being adheared to, ie guests wearing shorts and flip flops, he said he did not want to approach those guests in case there was trouble, we were totally shocked at this attitude.
I can honestly say our stay at the Minos Imperial was memorable, and not for all the right reasons. If it had not been for the fact we hired a car our holiday would have been a disaster.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful! Rooms are good size and bathroom looks new. Maid service was excellent. View was great! Pools are good size and great facilities nearby. Pool bar was great!! staff were very friendly, and range of A.I drinks were fab! Once checked in you are given a towel card and can get fresh beach towels any time. the food was good and a range of options to suit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Milatos, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Milatos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Milatos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Imperial is set in the Emerald Bay of the traditional fishing village of Milatos which is 45 km from Heraklion Airport. Minos Imperial is the perfect choice for a memorable luxury hotel experience offering genuine hospitality and a truly unforgettable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Hotel Milatos
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort And Spa
Minos Imperial Crete
Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Milatos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Imperial Luxury Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.