We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall in love with Umbria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antica Vetreria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piegaro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Antica Vetreria
Save
You added L'Antica Vetreria to your Saves list
Via Cavour 24A, 06066 Piegaro, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fall in love with Umbria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family loves to travel to other countries and try to get a feel for life there which means getting out of the big cities and seeing something other than the big tourist destinations (although we enjoy those as well). Piegaro and L'Antica Vetreria was the perfect solution. We had four people traveling together and we stayed in La Cantina. It was spacious and had all the items to make our trip perfect. Piegaro is great for day-tripping in Umbria and Tuscany but then offers a very homey place to spend your evenings. We enjoyed buying our meat from the local butcher and his wife and cooking our meals at night as the sun set while sipping a glass of the local wine.
The owners, Tom and Colleen, made us feel right at home and introduced us to the other guests as well as the town. The welcome reception at the local hotel restaurant was perfect after a day of traveling. We enjoyed the history of the building and the care they had taken in restoring the it.
We almost always stay in owner-owned properties when traveling and this was one of the best ever. We will definitely be back to L'Antica Vetreria in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Jill, We have corresponded many times since this great review, but I also want to thank you again and again for being such amazing guests. Being able to experience our village's Corpus Domini flower festival with you and family is emblazoned in our memories! We do hope you keep your promise to return to us and to Piegaro.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Accommodation at L’Antica Vetreria in Piegaro, Umbria is available in different configurations for from 2 to 10 people. We had a group of 10 to share the Villa for 2 weeks. It certainly lived up to our expectations, with 5 double ensuite bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, and comfortable, spacious communal living areas on two levels. Outside there is a terrace and barbecue, and a pool. The location is within a village but it is very peaceful and has gorgeous country views across the valley.

Colleen and Tom were very welcoming and attended to our occasional problems very quickly. They introduced us to the shopkeepers in the little village and the people who live there, who are very friendly. Piegaro makes a good base to explore the many delights of Umbria and Tuscany, and Colleen and Tom have many suggestions to help their guests.

Highly recommended. This was a holiday that will live in the memories of our group for ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Guests like you make our life so rewarding! We loved having you for a glorious two weeks and were happy to help out with itineraries, where to eat and explore. Thank you for taking the time to share with others what a great experience you had in the Villa and in our sweet village of Piegaro.
Kind regards, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This will be short. I have been to l'antica several times. I know the owners well and the owners of the rest. across the street (osteria juni). If you want to experience Italy, this is the place to gol. Close to everything, and when you get home at night you have all the fun and enjoyment of a small village with good food and people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
So happy to welcome you each year and sometimes twice a year! See you soon when you return for another stay and to hang out with all your new-found Italian friends in Piegaro and practice your Italian!
Best, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent the middle two weeks of September, 2011 in the apartment "La Cantina" and have booked the villa and three of the four apartments for the first week of July, 2012 for a party of 20-25. We can't wait to get back. We loved the town, Colleen, her friends, the special places she took us (and on occasion we took her, like carrying her off the the hill above San Damiano, St Francis' church in Assisi, when she fell and broke her ankle as she was leading us on a tour. Get well soon Colleen.) L'Antica is a wonderful use of adapting a very old building to a new life. The 750 year old glass factory has all new wiring, plumbing, kitchen appliances and cabinetry, etc in the villa and all the apartments. The pool is wonderful and you meet the nicest people staying in the other units.

One of the greatest things about what Colleen and Tom have done however, is build a wonderful place to stay where there are few, if any, other tourists other than her guests. The town ahas all the amenities for shopping, as mentioned in the other reviews, but the charm of Piegaro is real and right at your fingertips. I see it everyday in my wife's watercolors that she painted of the countryside looking out our unit's window, I see it in her photos of the children playing ball in the central town piazza and of the women of the town sitting in the square at night next to Juni's Osteria (you have to try the lemon risotto) weaving the fancy chianti flask baskets like they did 50 years ago before they invented a machine to do that too. The town and the villa compliment each other.

Trying not to duplicate other's reviews, we used Piegaro as a base to visit Volterra, Siena, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montacino and listened to the monks of Sant Antimo sing their afternoon prayers in Gregorian Chant in a 1200 year old abby. All this and Cortona in Southern Tuscany. In Umbria we visited Assisi, Orvieto, Todi, Deruta (and its' beautiful ceramics) Perugia, Panicale, Chiusi, Citta della Pieve, Tavernelle and its weekly Monday Market, Lake Transimeno and Castiglione del Lago, as well as a ton of really small Umbrian hill towns off the tourist map. Being from the Pacific Northwest, we get to see Colleen and Tom when they are back here, but I have a feeling we will need to make regular trips to visit them AND Piegaro.

Room Tip: I really think for a single couple, with maybe one child, La Cantina has the best view of the countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Mike and Ann, Your annual visits to stay with us in all different seasons are the highlight of our chosen life in Piegaro! Cannot wait to welcome you and all your friends and the Olympia String Quartet in June, 2014, who will be giving wonderful free concerts in Piegaro, Panicale and at the winery of Castello Monte Vibiano Vecchio as your incredible "thank you" to the place that you have such an enduring passion for! You are an eloquent reviewer and we have had so many guests come to us because of your excellent advice on Trip Advisor forum. Grazie mille!!
Fondly, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

A group of 8 friends rented the Villa at L'Antica Vetreria in early September, 2011. I will say my first night was not ideal, as I am quite a bug-phobe, and was dismayed that there were no screens on the windows, but once I got some sleep (I had been awake for about 36 hours), things settled in nicely. Each bedroom had a mosquito net for the bed, and, frankly, when you're in an ancient stone building, it seems foolish to be freaking out over every little creature, so I sucked it up.
The villa is lovely, very well represented by pictures on the web site. We were thrilled to have the pool, since it was blazing hot and humid when we arrived. We used all 5 bedrooms, since we weren't all couples, and it was great that there were ensuites in every room. As I was the organizer, we took the tower bedroom, which is in the oldest part of the structure, apparently dating from 840! Now, that's old!
We took many day trips to lovely towns in Umbria and Tuscany. Arezzo, Cortona, Pienza, and Montepulciano being favourites, but I'd like to see more of Umbria next time.
The drive in to the villa is complicated- follow Colleen's directions exactly, and you'll be fine. It gets much easier once you've done it, however.
Piegaro is just so charming. We met many local people, ate at their restaurants, shopped at the butcher and baker, and by the end of our week, we were sitting with the old ladies in the town square after dinner! About 15 seconds out of the villa front door, in the village, is a cute little bar where you can get a great espresso in the morning, and a cheap Prosecco at night. They also had wonderful chocolate croissants each morning. Thank God for all the hills in Italy, I was able to walk it off.
All in all, there was plenty of space, plenty of charm, and we had a holiday that we all agree was probably the best ever. Thank you Colleen for your knowledge, stories, and pasta-making lesson!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Villa. There is very little problem with bugs here and as you discovered there was no need for screens. I certainly know that upon arrival contending with long journey plus jet lag that there are concerns that seem to disappear with rest. The large floor to ceiling windows are impossible to screen and offer a panoramic view. I remember that you all took many days to explore our region and had a great time. We welcome your return for there are many more things to see and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at L'Antica Vetreria in il Forno Uno last year and it was a fabulous experience. We go to Italy about once a year and have usually stayed in Tuscany but last year decided to branch out and ended up in Umbria. We loved it so much we have booked for June of 2012 in the same apartment. Colleen was a spectacular hostess, took us around the community, was a great tour guide and brought us to places we would never have found on our own. We spent many fun hours by the pool in the late afternoon prior to making our evening stroll greeting folks and winding up at the restaurant across the street. We can hardly wait to return and are staying longer this time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Flo and Galen, Although I have thanked you many times for this wonderful review, I just wanted to share with our readers about our friendship that has developed and deepened each year as you have returned to stay with us for now five years in different seasons. From creating the beautiful flower tapestries of June's Corpus Domini festival to the sunflowers of July and August and this year in 2014, the wine harvest in September, it has been our joy to share beautiful Umbria and your favorite il Forno apartment beside the pool! From the first year you arrived and shared your hospitality with all of our other guests, you earn a platinum star! Nice to have your very own herb garden that Galen planted, the sweet espresso maker that Tom gets to use when you are not in residence and now Galen's bicycle sitting quietly in our garage (sorry Tom does not go up the mountain each morning like Galen does!) See you in September, 2014!
Fondly, Colleen and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at L'Antica Vetreria in Sept 2010.
I had searched for months on the internet to find the perfect vacation rental and fell in love with L'Antica Vetreria. The only apartment available was La Terrazza but I was glad to book it. This area of Italy is beautiful and Piegaro is in a good location to visit interesting areas within a short distance. Upon our arrival I was a little disappointed with La terrazza because it was alittle tired looking but I was prepaired to overlook this since the town was quite cute and the pool quite nice. However as time went on the apartment lost ALL it limited appeal.
Two nights in a row we were sickened by the smell of sewage in the apartment which lasted for about 3 hours each night. There was also a lot of dust and tiny stones all over the surfaces of everything. The owner claimed that it was just because it was an old building! After 3 nights of our complaints the owner offered to relocate us which was nice of her but we (foolishly) decided to stay. The overall experience in this area of Italy was great and the owner did try to be helpful but don't rent La Terrazza

Room Tip: Other apts looked nice in L'Antica Vetreria Stay away from la Terrazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
While I can certainly agree that this was an unusual experience for these guests, I do wish to state that I immediately offered an alternative arrangement when we could not find the source of the unpleasant smell. The guests declined and later the smell disappeared. I later discovered because of the number of guests not using the bidets,that methane gas comes. It was a simple fix by running water periodically and there has been no smell ever again.
We completed an additional restoration of the ceilings which were very ancient and I assure any guests that there is no dust problem either.
Many guests have stayed in La Terrazza and been very happy. I can offer referrals if anyone wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Antica Vetreria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Vetreria

Address: Via Cavour 24A, 06066 Piegaro, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Piegaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Piegaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique historic property within the medieval walls of a perched hilltop village in Umbria on the border of Tuscany. Huge Villa and four separate apartments, each with terraces & pool overlooking stunning view of pastoral countryside. From your apartment with fully equipped kitchen, living, dining room & spacious bedrooms with modern baths, it is just steps to main piazza of village with cafe, restaurants & shops. All village amenities to make your stay comfortable and to enjoy typical Italian village life with all its rhythms: restaurants, bar/cafes, butcher, groceries, bakery, pharmacy, gift shops. Within an hour guests visit all the historic sites within Umbria and Tuscany. Enjoy a free tour of local winery with tour through ancient olive groves & right through the vines; free tasting of wines and olive oil on panoramic terrace. Owner on site & will help you with all itineraries to show you the hidden jewels of Umbria. Cooking classes available as well as catering. We strive to make our guests dreams come true by paying attention to all the details, from provisioning the kitchen with all condiments like olive oil, balsamic vinegar, spices, paper products to helping daily with special suggestions. Piegaro is a very special little village and we are blessed to be part of a rich history by preserving one of its most historic places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Antica Vetreria Hotel Piegaro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antica Vetreria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.